We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Giant Place of Mystery and Grace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alhambra

The Alhambra
Book In Advance
$85*
and up
Guided Night Alhambra Tour with Nazrid Palaces
Ranked #1 of 198 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The second most visited site in Europe: this breathtaking palace-city is a sophisticated blend of medieval Islamic, Renaissance Christian and modern architectural styles..
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Giant Place of Mystery and Grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip but take really good walking shoes!. It is HUGE. Did I say it was HUGE? The palaces are like nothing I have ever seen. The gardens are beautiful with the reflecting pools and fountains. If you see nothing else make sure that you do go here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,416
    2,998
    796
    202
    227
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Holly, VT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Temporary Exhibit at the Alhambra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The life and influence of restoration specialist Leopoldo Torres Balbás are featured in the outstanding exhibit that opened last week in the Palace of Charles V in the Alhambra. Beautifully and creatively displayed are original drawings and designs by this famous architect, also videos depicting his life and times. This man's contribution to the restorations at the Alhambra and other places in Spain are so important; this exhibit should not be missed. Open from March 7-early June 2013.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank emilyclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you are touring in Spain do not miss the Alhambra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We did a morning visit, so many interesting things to see, and as the weather was hot and sunny there are fantastic views over Granada from the top of the hill where the Alhambra is located. I would recommend a visit during the morning if the weather is hot, and not to be missed is a night visit. At night the carvings, rooms and courtyards take on a completely different look to during the day, one is not better than the other but I suggest try to do day and night visits if possible.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spanish history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved every min,had a ball and learnt loads.The place is quite a walk and do wear flat shoes as the paths are cobbled ect.Feet hurt but i have very happy memories and wonderful pictures of the wonderful views ect.Very evocative

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annabelweldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smells history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I couldn`t realized that how many hours i spent inside, it was totally amazing, inspiring, makes you think that you can live there forever. Gardens should not be missed!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank plutonaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alhambra also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to The Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing