We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alhambra

The Alhambra
Book In Advance
$85*
and up
Guided Night Alhambra Tour with Nazrid Palaces
Ranked #1 of 198 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The second most visited site in Europe: this breathtaking palace-city is a sophisticated blend of medieval Islamic, Renaissance Christian and modern architectural styles..
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It's not my thing not to mention I didn't know the history behind it all. It may have been more enjoyable with a guide.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Peri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,373
    2,993
    792
    202
    226
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

if you are ever in Granada Alhambra is a must see. I highly recommend you buy your ticket for the day tour and the night tour. The day tour is aprox 16 Euros and ask for the 2:30 admission for the Palace as this gives you enough time to walk from the main entrance to the Palace.
If you do not buy the guided tours, please buy the audio tours, the magic and significance of the place will make a lot more sense if you are guided.
Rate this place a must see. Come visit during the spring, when all the Generalife gardens are blooming, and the sky is clear.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeciP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place was amazing. It's an old fort and palace, but it's huge and has one interesting place after another. The Islamic design is just gorgeous and the layout and views are fantastic. A few tips: (1) buy tickets in advance, including the Nasrid palace-they sell tickets for specific half hour increments and we were glad we did it online ahead of time. You can pick up the tickets via ATM using the credit card you used to pay at a Caixa ATM (all over Granada). (2) Count on at least half a day if not more. We walked up the hill, which was a trek. We enjoyed it but were pretty exhausted because once you get there, there's a lot of walking, and going up/down stairs in the fort part (which you will not want ot miss). There is very convenient public transportation that will take you there and also taxis--we would probably opt to take the public shuttle up from the Cathedral if we did it again). (3) The audioguide is very good. It covers all the exteriors and interiors and is just the right amount of information. You can rent them there. All in all, a fantastic experience and different than anything we have seen before.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie3158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Chile
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poetic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The place was incredible. Lots of people... And it's low season and it was cold and raining. I can not imagine the chaos in the summer. We have a very good tour guide, Inmaculada!!! She was almost poetic, with a vast knowledge of Moorish culture. Our guide made a difference. Beautiful scenic views, wonderful carvings and the patio with the lions it's amazing. Be prepared: it's a very long walk, cobbler stones, stairs, hills, be in shape. In doubt bring an umbrella (the ones that sell outside cost €5 and they brake after 10 minutes!). Clean bathrooms, and cats. Bring anti allergic medicine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HiperSantiaguina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the second time we have been, and its just as impressive on the second look. Allow 3 to 4 hours for the 3 separate palaces and just soaking up the atmosphere and views. We caught the bus from the centre of Granada which was both easy and good value

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Austraveller1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alhambra also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to The Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing