We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Poetic!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alhambra

The Alhambra
Book In Advance
and up
Guided Night Alhambra Tour with Nazrid Palaces
Ranked #1 of 205 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The second most visited site in Europe: this breathtaking palace-city is a sophisticated blend of medieval Islamic, Renaissance Christian and modern architectural styles..
Santiago de Chile
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The place was incredible. Lots of people... And it's low season and it was cold and raining. I can not imagine the chaos in the summer. We have a very good tour guide, Inmaculada!!! She was almost poetic, with a vast knowledge of Moorish culture. Our guide made a difference. Beautiful scenic views, wonderful carvings and the patio with the lions it's amazing. Be prepared: it's a very long walk, cobbler stones, stairs, hills, be in shape. In doubt bring an umbrella (the ones that sell outside cost €5 and they brake after 10 minutes!). Clean bathrooms, and cats. Bring anti allergic medicine.

Visited March 2013
Thank HiperSantiaguina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the second time we have been, and its just as impressive on the second look. Allow 3 to 4 hours for the 3 separate palaces and just soaking up the atmosphere and views. We caught the bus from the centre of Granada which was both easy and good value

Visited December 2012
Thank Austraveller1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

An absolute jewel ! We were lucky to have advice to pre-purchase tickets, which we picked up the day before our visit. There are many areas which you can see without the tickets, so you can rest for / from the walking and a little stair climbing.
The uphill climb throuhg the park is nice if you aren't in a hurry.
Even on a chilly, windy and rainy "off-season" day, the crowds grew as the day progressed. They are VERY serious about the entry time for the ticketed areas.
Also good advice was the 'view' from the opposite hillside. Photo attached.

Visited February 2013
Thank JandRLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Go there off season!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

To really enjoy the spectacular views and appreciate the architecture go there off season, in January or February. We had absolutely no problems getting the tickets for the same day and got some awesome photos. A word of warning , there are unofficial parking guides who are willing to find a parking spot and then guide you to the gates and ask for money as they are guarding the car for the day, what?!? Don' t buy that they are criminals! All Alhambra staff have uniforms and name tags and the parking is paid elsewhere. We didn't like the audiotour for some reason, maybe it was too "acted" for our taste, we bought a guide book from the little gift shop next to the square and we happy with that. Don' t tempt to go through the palaces without some kind of guide- written or audio, since nothing makes sense without them. In my opinion you need two days to fully cover the grounds, and that is in wintertime. We had only a pale idea how wonderful the gardens must be in summer' s bloom. There aren't any decent restaurants to have lunch so don't come hungry- like we did. Also, if you are allergic to cats like my poor husband, take extra allergy medicine, there are cats everywhere, a lot of them and they reallly really make the wonderful monument stink. Other than that we think everyone should visit Alhambra.

Visited February 2013
4 Thank NoSnow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A little unimpressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Historial place with some beautiful moorish architecture. The only thing is a bit over-whelming. Each piece was brilliant individually, as a whole, a little unimpressive. The layout doesn't give you an amazing view of the whole building.
We joined the granada-alhambra guide tour in Feb. 35 euro per one without transportation (10:00 to 13:00). Meet up at car park 1 at 9:45. However, the tour started at 10:30 and finished at 12:50. No idea what's the arrangement. Their web site is: www.granada-alhambra.com

Visited February 2013
Thank Italy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alhambra also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada

Been to The Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing