We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Shine Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shine Albayzin
Ranked #33 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had a magnificent stay at this hotel. It was just the best possible location, in the old city, on the most picturesque street and overlooking the Alhambra. Brilliant rooms, very comfortable, everything you need. Note some trip advisor comments that it was hard to get access and not staffed 24 hours. We had no problems like this and in fact one of the staff...Carmen could not have been more helpful. She was charming, knowledgeable and efficient, provided us with directions, information, translations, sorted out some complicated train challenges - Carmen helped make our stay even more pleasant.

Room Tip: we had the room at the top - it was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 389 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two-night stay at the Hotel Shine Albayzin. This hotel was perfect in every way. It is in the heart of the Moorish Albayzin district, right by the river (so no steps to climb) and one can hear the pleasant sound of the rushing river from your room. The Deluxe room I booked was a suite with two large balconies and a fantastic view of the Alhambra Palace. At night, this view was utter magic. It is an extremely stylish boutique hotel with lovely parquet floors, exquisite beamed ceilings and trendy furnishings. Our room was huge, very quiet and immaculately clean. The reception staff were extremely helpful/ friendly and the breakfast (buffet) was very good. I adored the sprinkling of authentic antiques with the modern design, and the central courtyard and running loggias gave it the moorish feel of an old riad. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and I will surely stay here again when in Granada.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe Room with balconies and a view of the Alhambra Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

What everyone says is true - its a lovely spot and you will say ahhh all the way up to your room as the house is charming and has been lovingly restored. Only trouble we had was in trying to get anything more that rudimentary help from the desk. No one was unpleasant but the folks running the 'desk' were more like clerks and watchmen. They could check you in, handle your luggage and talk about a few restaurants but they did not offer much help other than that. One of the men spoke very little Spanish and very little English even! It was more like an apartment property with someone to buzz you in and out, but not really a "hotel'. Breakfast was fine, nothing exciting. Internet was squirrely, found only in the lobby and required some voodoo to work on a Mac (which no one seemed to know)
Location is tremendous. Quiet and totally delightful part of town. I would recommend this place- just not for people who might be going abroad the first time.

Room Tip: Third floor had a stairway up to it after the elevator but was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great location on the Paseo de los Tristes facing the Alhambra, and right behind the Albayzin. Modern design and very clean rooms. The perfect base from which to wander around Granada. We had a room that faces the courtyard, so it was very quiet.

The only problem to watch out for is that the hot water tank is the room is small, so my friend and I couldn't take showers back-to-back in the morning and had to wait for >20 min for the water to heat up again.

The flamenco show in sacromente that the hotel recommended to us was excellent. Before the show, the guide took us on a night walking tour of the Albayzin, including an amazing view of the Alhambra from the viewpoint at St. Nicolas. Well worth it. Just bring walking shoes for the climbs and pebble stone streets!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The Shine Albayzin is in an excellent location, close to the Alahambra, shops and restaurants. We took a taxi from the bus station which was excellent value for €10. The hotel has been renovated beautifully. You enter through a heavy wooden door and step into an internal courtyard. There was a warm welcome and a fuss free check-in. The service is discrete and I agree with the other traveller who said that the staff almost blend into the background but are there if you need anything. Our room was on the second floor and faced into the courtyard. It was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and had adequate storage and the invaluable room safe. The bathroom was large and well stocked. The shower is enormous and the 20 minute time limit on hot water didn't cause us a problem. There were two single bed which were pushed together but they were really comfortable and extra blankets were provided. There was air conditioning which we didn't use as the interior of the building was really cool but maybe airless. To be fair the awning is wound back during the day so that the courtyard becomes open to the elements (fabulous blue sky and the Alahambra towering over you). You can open the window in your room but the downside to this is the noise from reception - check-outs and ringing phone (which is minimal). It is lovely to sit on the landing and listen to the fountain - so peaceful. Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel. It's close to everything particularly the fascinating Albayzin area which I'd urge you to put on your walking shoes and explore. We didn't sign-up for breakfast which was available to for €10 per day per per person. Our room rate was excellent value at €80 per night.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms beside the lift entrance. It might be a bit noisy. We stayed in 204 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paperface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

What a wonderful boutique hotel experience. The staff blended into the hotel but were there when you needed them. The hotel seemed to run itself. Such a chilled and laid back experience. One problem was someone had smoked in our room before we got there (bleorgh - how selfish), but otherwise we couldn't fault our experience there. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, on the second floor, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheemchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Shine Albayzin seems to be part of a chain, called Shine, of well-renovated hotels in historic centres of European cities. This one opened very recently and was brilliant in almost every way – it’s located directly on the narrow ancient road along the river Darro, the heart of the old city at the foot of the hillside of the Moorish neighborhood of Alayzin or Albaicín, directly facing the Alhambra on the next hill – just a few blocks away from the Cathedral and the shopping street of the Gran Vía de Colon (named for Christopher Columbus) and, in the other direction, the gypsy/flamenco outskirts of the Sacromonte. The off-season price was very reasonable, and the renovation of the old courtyard home seemed to me to be very well done indeed, with the austere furnishings around the beautiful central courtyard, and the spare modernist, large rooms. The staff was friendly and somewhat helpful, but with only one young woman on duty at any time, seated at a computer in the courtyard wrapped up as warmly as could be in a winter courtyard, there was little interaction with the guests. The only two drawbacks were that the breakfast was not included and a bit overpriced and the spartan breakfast room was chilly, so we went to local coffee bars and shawarma restaurants for breakfast, and the wifi Internet was available only in the breakfast room. It would be very difficult to bring a car here, but the Plaza Nueva two blocks over has plenty of buses and a taxi stand. Otherwise, strongly recommended, in my view.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,278 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,758 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,005 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shine Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shine Albayzin

Address: Carrera Darro 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#37 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $84 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shine Albayzin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shine Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shine Albayzin Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing