We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in very convenient location”
Review of Eurostars Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Gran Via
Ranked #71 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Not only is it next door to the Granada Cathedral and Royal Chapel, most major buses to the tourist attractions are nearby as well so it makes travelling really easy.

Room-wise, the bed was comfortable but no coffee/tea making facilities. If you want boiled water, prepare to pay 3€. The bathrooms are indeed strangely designed, with no overall door for them, just cubicle doors.

The staff were very friendly and gave us tips on airport buses and how to get to major attractions e.g Alhambra.

The bus to the airport is also a stone's throw away - it helps that the hotel is located along Gran Via. There are also pastry shops and minimarts just across the road.

Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank verbalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 513 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Fontecruz Granada in July 2013. To be honest, I was apprehensive about staying due to the poor reviews on tripadvisor, but I found this hotel to be a good choice! I have no idea what others are complaining about. We got our room for about 75 euros a night and I thought it was a bargain.

The location is good, walking distance to the Granada cathedral and to the many tapas bars and teterias in the Albaicin. A bus right out the front will take you straight up the hill to the Alhambra. Checkin was smooth, our luggage WAS taken up to our room for us. The staff that we encountered were not overly friendly but not rude either.
Our Standard room was on the second floor, a corner room racing out to the main road but we didn't find it that noisy. The room was quite large, and the bed comfortable. The wifi worked well whilst we were there. There is no door to the bathroom but I didn't see why this would be a problem, there is a toilet cubicle inside that had a door on it. There were oddly two showers (one separate cubicle and one over a bath). We didnt use the shower cubicle as the floor of it was quite cracked (see picture), but as there was a shower over the bath used this one instead.

We didn't have breakfast included so cannot comment on this.

No this hotel isn't 5 star or luxury, but for the price we paid I thought it was a great choice.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivedarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived in the hotel by car. The hotel doesn't have a parking. The reception informed us to park in the public parking nearby. We checked in and asked help to bring the luggage to the room. The receptionist told us that they don't have this service. Also at breakfast, we got a cold welcome. Overal, the staff didn't offer us a warm feeling. For a price of 240Euro/night, we had expected a much better service. We won't come back. As such the rooms are nice and the location is central. With a bit of training and management, this hotel can get a much better level.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank olivier120995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Lets remember this is advertised as 5 star. Not a friendly welcome. The room was nice but badly designed. I.e. the small toilet that leads directly to your bedroom gives no privacy, with a gap above and below the door (strange). To add to this no toiletries. I had to phone reception to request them to which i recieved no apologies. Next to my bed was a faulty clock radio that had to be hidden under my bed as it flashed all night. But it is in a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Easter in Granada is amazing. So many festivities, parades, the Alhambra. The Fontecruz Granada is close to everything, yes, no cars! but walking & bus is so easy & a short walk to the train station or catch the bus. Plush rooms, lovely beds, view from the roof of the Alhambra. Breakfast is amazing but does not start until 8.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarvis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just returned from a trip to Granada over Easter and struggled to find a hotel located downtown. We lucked out when a room became available at Hotel Fontecruz. It is on the main bus lines to the airport and the bus terminal. There are also buses to the Alhambra and Albayzin areas just a block or 2 away. The Cathedral is just across the street within a short walk. Our room was fairly small but had nice bed, a newer TV mounted on the wall and a great view of the city. We had a corner room with a small balcony from the bathroom and another from the bedroom. There was no main door to the bathroom but there was a frosted door each to the toilet and shower. We had a room facing the cathedral. It was a little noisy with the street outside but not unbearable. A blow dryer was included but no iron. There was a mini-refrigerator stocked with drinks (for $). The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. The lobby has an interesting glass floor showing some excavation below. There is a bar located next to the hotel with breakfasts served (for cost) starting at 7:30. There is a lounge on the roof area that is open from Thursday through Sunday with incredible views. We did not try the spa. This room was an outstanding value and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a street view are fantastic but a little noisy. The top floors have great views of the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmpeterson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Hotel is very hard to find by car. Be careful, it's in a restricted area for private car.
The lobby is very nice and well maintained. The problem, most of the time there is onl one person at the reception desk, covering everything and this can lead to queues on peak times (remeber, this Hotel is classfied as 5 stars).
Concierege service is pretty poor. I would expect a 5 star location in a city that lives out of the mainb attraction Alhambra (by the way, a must, really beautiful) to be able to allocate it's guests tickets at whatever time of the day. This wasn't the case. I had to leave the Hotel after 7 a.m. and queue up for almost an hour.
The rooms are very nice and spacy, beds are so so. Nevertheless, the price value is still remarkable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
#48 of 122 in Granada
108 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
811 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#28 of 122 in Granada
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Gran Via

Address: Gran Via de Colon 20, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Granada
#29 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $106 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Gran Via 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Gran Vía 5* in Granada, has 39 rooms with all services, 24-hour reception, baggage consignment, Wi-Fi. It also offers a restaurant, spa and meeting rooms for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eurostars Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontecruz Granada Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing