We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eurostars Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eurostars Gran Via
Ranked #74 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Central Location”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Initially we were in a lot of traffic, and had a problem stopping at the hotel to leave our bags. We were then told about the underground carpark nearby which the hotel has a deal with, parking at 15 Euros per day. We did not use the car in Granada any more, a bit of a nightmare start to our holiday!

Our room was very modern, and on a high floor of the hotel, so we were not disturbed by traffic noise. It was very comfortable, there is no separate bathroom, just cubicles, all very new, not too much privacy!

The rooftop bar is lovely with great views, we were staying for the weekend, and were disappointed that the bar was not open on Sunday evenings or at lunchtimes, as it was the only hotel bar...... plenty of others nearby though.

The receptionist Alicia was really great, and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations, and places to see. We had already booked our Alhambra tour through the hotel with an English speaking guide, and this worked well for us.

A good hotel, very central location, and good staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    146
    93
    43
    29
See reviews for
62
277
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is situated centrally on one of the main streets, almost directly opposit the Cathedral. It is a small, exceptionally well run hotel with efficient and welcoming staff. A special thank you must go to Salvador, the receptionist, who was the font of all wisdom and charm.
The rooms are a good size for a city break. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms beautiful. The walk in shower is a joy, although there are also baths for those that prefer. We chose to have breakfast and it was the more basic continental in style. Hot food was available, just ask.
The most amazing part of the hotel is its Terraced bar. From there you have magnificent views of both the Cathedral and the Alhambra Palace, up on the hills above the city. You must visit the Alhambra but take at least a day to see it. A vital tip is to buy your tickets in advance. The 32 Bus from infront of the Cathedral takes you there. The bus is tiny and can take only a few at a time, but they run every 5-7 minutes.
My only complaint would be traffic noise, especially at weekends from the street below.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a trip through Spain. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom had sort of an odd layout, though (nothing wrong with it, just odd). The sink was open to the room, and then there was a stall for the toilet, a stall for the shower, and then a bathtub with a shower over it, as well, all in a row. That being said, I'm so glad I decided to shower in the stall. The shower was one of those rain showers with the huge heads and it was probably the best shower I had on my trip. When you walk into the hotel, the lobby floor is glass and below it, you can see the remains of ruins which was neat. The door says that the hotel is a 5 star. I don't know that I would say that... but for what we paid (did an online pre-paid rate, SO reasonable), it was definitely nice.
The hotel had a central location in the city. We were driving, and the closest, easiest parking location is definitely the San Augustin Car Park (open 24/7, 1 hr 2€, 24 hrs 25€) on C/ Álvaro de Bazán, 12, 18001 Granada. It was about a block from the hotel. The Cathedral was practically across the street from the hotel (has the tombs of Isabel and Ferdinand), and the mini-bus stop for up to the Alhambra and the San Nicolas Viewpoint (great right before sunset for beautiful views of the Alhambra) was only a few blocks away at Plaza Isabel la Catolica. If you want to see the Alhambra, I strongly recommend booking well ahead (online), can then pick the tickets up right at the Alhambra. We got a great, cheap lunch at a little kebab place (ate falafel pitas) called Kebab King right on Calle Reyes Catolicos (from in front of the hotel, turn left, then make a left on Catolicos and it's a block or two up). The city also seemed to have some great, lively tapas places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghan429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel is located right on the Grand Via and that is both good and not so good. It's within a block or so from the cathedral and you can catch a bus to the Alhambra right on the Grand Via where you turn down to the cathedral. This is a real plus. The reception area is very contemporary and quite a contrast to the ancient structures you can see beneath the glass floor as you walk to the reception desk. Very impressive!

The street tends to be noisy, but since our room faced a side street - and there are double paned windows - we were somewhat sheltered from most of the street sounds. It certainly did not keep us awake or even wake us during the night. We were out late for dinner (23:30) both nights so perhaps traffic noise was less of a problem then.

The bedroom area was clean and spacious with plenty of room for luggage. The room had excellent air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, and other 4-star amenities. The bed was comfortable and there are enough power outlets to easily charge portable gear.

The oddest part of the very modern room is that there is no door between bed and bathroom area. More than that, the toilet stall door was more like those found in a public WC with a frosted glass door that didn't reach the floor. Odd considering the first class nature of the room, but not off-putting. Can't be shy in this room. :)

The bar/terrace on the top floor is a good spot for a relaxing drink after a day of touring and offers a decent place to take photographs of the cathedral and Alhambra.

The staff was friendly and very eager to help and that is a real positive.

A few of points to consider: If you want to visit the Alhambra book online and book early if you are going during a busy season. Pick up your tickets at the 'will-call' machines located past the souvenir store so you don't have to wait in line (They're a little hidden.) Take the bus up and down.

Next, and this is purely subjective, we found Granada to be less friendly as a city then either Sevilla or Cordoba or even Toledo, for that matter. Not to say it was unfriendly, just didn't seem as warm and welcoming as the others. You may see it differently.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calif_traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Essentially there's nothing that bad about this hotel as it's in a good central location. The problem is that it portrays itself as 5 star, which does give a certain expectation when booking. So, our shower didn't work, we told the staff who initially thought we didn't know how to operate a temperature gauge. On finding out we did they decided to do nothing about it. The coffee machine in the foyer was broken, the blinds in the bedroom were broken, the breakfast facilities were next door and the so called spa (which looks so inviting on their web site) never appeared to be open. Not what we expected in a 5
star hotel and as we were out most of the time we didn't make a fuss (life is sometimes too short to bother). However, with only a receptionist appearing to run the place it really did feel like a hostel. On the good side our room was clean and the location perfect, being in the centre of Granada. Fine for a few days, but should be classed as a good 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWLANDSVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed here and cannot compliment the staff enough about their honesty and dedication to the guests. I left my passport with lots of money in my room. I called the hotel immediately after getting off a train to Madrid, and they sent all my stuff next day air intact. The staff and the way they treat their guests is #1 here in Granada.

The location is very, very close to the little downtown area and very safe.

The rooms are very big and the bathrooms are amazing with plenty of space, shower room, and comfortable beds.

If and when I return to Granada, I am coming back to the Fontecruz....no question.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lionel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I and a friend stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We could not fault the location or comfort of the hotel. Added to this the receptionist on the desk when we arrived was very helpful and recommended restaurants as my friend is a vegetarian (both of which were very good). The room was lovely with great air con and bathroom facilities and the view from the terrace bar in the evening was great. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment on this.

The receptionist was again very helpful when we needed information regarding trains to Seville. In all a lovely stay, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerEM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#9 of 125 in Granada
778 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
#69 of 125 in Granada
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Gran Via

Property: Eurostars Gran Via
Address: Gran Via de Colon 20, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Granada
#31 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Gran Via 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontecruz Granada Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing