We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical setting and delicious food”

Restaurante Estrellas de San Nicolas
Reserve with
Restaurante Estrellas de San Nicolas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,509 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $127
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical setting and delicious food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were celebrating my retirement and stayed at the Parador de Granada in the Alhambra Palace across the ravine from 'Las Estrellas' and the hotel recommended this restaurant and booked it for us. We were so glad they had as it has one of the most beautiful settings in the whole of Granada and it was great to take photos from across the ravine back to our hotel.
We arrived quite early (8:30pm) and were shown to a table upstairs with a great view of the Alhambra at night time. The waiter was extremely attentive and was very polite about my Spanish (he spoke excellent English). We started with a glass of Cava, which could match any good French champagne any day! The menu had an a la carte section and also a 'Menu del dia' at the back. We chose from the a la carte menu as didn't want desserts. The scallops were huge, yet deliciously charred and beautifully presented. The lamb was the most tender we've had in Spain and the subtle spices were delicious.
The restaurant has a wonderful, warm atmosphere...even before people arrived! There was an excellent guitarist playing classical pieces with the nice touch of the occasional Christmas carol as we ate there on the 21st December. By the time we left at 10pm the restaurant was full so book in advance and get a table with a view.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    366
    133
    62
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“a really memorable meal for all the right reasons”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we pushed the boat out and had an excellent meal here - the views are awesome out towards the Alhambra would really recommend for an expensive (for spain) but beautiful meal

the restaurant was very queit and the service was excellent
the menu had great choice but we went for one of the set menus which was fantastic - presentation and quality of michelin star in my opinion ( we eat in alot of fine restaurants)
the wine menu was also good
the confit duck main was to die for - would happily eat here again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martinfjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Fabulous Service, Wonderful View”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We happened on this restaurant by chance on our first night as we were staying nearby in the Albaycin. With no expectations we went in to a partially full restaurant (it was early by Spanish standards) and were treated to excellent, modern food, beautifully prepared and presented, and served by excellent, attentive, and knowledgeable staff. We were mainly served by a Hungarian waitress on a scholarship in Spain, and her advice and courtesy were both very appropriate and well received.
The food was excellent, so much so that we went back on a second night, this time seated on the (enclosed) roof terrace. Another great view of the Alhambra, and another excellent meal, impeccably presented and served.
This is not a cheap option, but between us we ate four different starters, four different main courses and three sweets and were highly delighted with everything we ate. The prices are broadly in line with UK fare, but, in my opinion, the service and the view were worth a much heftier hike.
One last thing: intent on broadening my horizons I like to try local wines, when available, or regional or country wines wherever I'm staying, and the selection certainly didn't disappoint.
I probably couldn't afford to eat here on a regular basis, but we'll certainly be returning to Granada, and we'll definitely eat here once, or twice, or three times........

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,070 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset watching and views of the floodlit Alhambra at night”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We chanced upon this restaurant on our first night in Granada while wandering up the hilly streets of the Albaycin neighborhood. Unfortunately we arrived at their terrace bar at 7:20 pm only to learn that it closes at 7:30 pm. So, we made a point to come back the next evening by 6 pm to enjoy the amazing sunset and view of the floodlit Alhambra at night which is spectacular. In fact, drinks on this terrace was one of the highlights of our trip to Spain so don’t miss this!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and what a view”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a fabulous meal at this restaurant with an excellent view of the Alhambra. The food was very well prepared and the presentation was exceptional. A three course meal with wine was about 130 Euros but was worth every euro.

We had our hoetl book us a table and requested one by the window with the superb views.

Thank you and we will see you again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Estrellas de San Nicolas also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Restaurante Estrellas de San Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing