We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and cannot fault this hotel. Our room faced the small street at the front of the hotel and there were no noise problems. We ate breakfast elsewhere. The room was on the large side and very comfortable and wi-fi reception good. Because the Alhambra online booking system has problem with Aussie credit cards we arrived ticketless. Sonia checked us in and did a great job squeezing us onto a Granavision tour of the Alhambra. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otiswallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    251
    51
    18
    5
See reviews for
119
604
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Exactly what we were looking for: a small hotel in a traditional building with an excellent location. We were also pleased by the kind service and the stylish and minimalistic decor. And the bonus was that all the restaurants that locals had recommended to us were 5-10 min away on foot!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are brighter, as expected :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilberta_swann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I booked this on the basis of the reviews, so I guess I had high expectations. There is nothing seriously wrong with this hotel - I just had a series of niggles which when put together turned in to a less than fabulous experience. Pretty much all of them are easily fixable which would then have earned this hotel a better review.

So.....the positives......it's in a great location. The beds are good, the staff friendly, and it's very clean. The building is fabulous.

The one negative which the hotel cannot fix is the street noise......if you want to sleep at the weekend this isn't the place for you. Sunday and Monday nights were fine during our stay.

The niggles.......the really isn't any wifi despite it being advertised. The staff explained it only worked at reception and in the 'library'. Wifi is one of the reasons I booked this hotel, so it was pretty annoying, especially as our room couldn't even pick up a mobile signal. There was very limited storage in our room, so unpacking properly wasn't really possible. The shower floods the bathroom floor, easily fixed with a better seal. Don't expect big fluffy towels, they are tiny and of mixed quality. There is no tea and coffee in the room, it's available in the lobby area but only between 4pm and 9pm, so a cuppa in the morning and before bed is not possible. Our room was cold. Very cold. The heating/cooling did not work at all. It was 12 degrees outside and the same in our room - I am not exaggerating!
Everytime you want to get in the hotel you need to buzz reception. This can then take some time for the staff to arrive. Our room was on the ground floor adjacent to reception, so this buzzing was pretty annoying, especially at 6am when some other guests were returning home from a night out and it took over 10 minutes for them to be let in, despite much buzzing and door rattling. Just give the guests a front door key!!

Add this lot up and you can see why we were underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the ground floor room adjacent to the street, perhaps were were just unlucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Beth, we do really appreciate you taking the time in writing a review about us, so we can improve all those details that did not gain you a marvelous stay. Granada is a really lovely city and during the dates of your stay we were also adding the Easter Week holiday factor, with quite a lot more visitors, even if we carefully soundproof all our rooms and also installed double glazing. Our hotel is a XVI century old restored house, and although we make every effort to install a good Wi-Fi system, it is only available in the lobby and library, as advertised, that is why we have a computer for client’s use.
Adding storage furniture in some rooms is something we seriously have considered, and will do in a near future, at the moment we are changing all our linen to start with and improve our service. As the majority of hotels in Spain, we do not have the culture of having tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, however, to help making the best of guests stay, we offer it free from 16 till 21 on our library; if you need a cup of tea out of the courtesy time, just ask for it to our receptionist, unfortunately we will have to charge for that service out of hours.

The room you had during your stay is adapted for disable people, therefore the whole bathroom floor including shower tub has to be in the same level to make their stay more comfortable. As per the room temperature, we have now 25 degrees during daytime and goes down to 12 at night, as guests do prefer air conditioning or heating, we just control the temperature from main panel at reception, just let us know. We always ask all guests staying about their day, their room, their stay, we just want to make you feel home. Thank you again for helping us improve. Greetings from Granada!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our first time in Granada, and we had not previously spent more than a few hours in Spain. The hotel and staff were all charming. There was an early heat wave which meant we would have welcomed the air conditioning being on and the wi-fi was very intermittent.
Having said all that we could not have received more charming treatment by the staff, and the room and general ambience were beautiful.
We did have difficulty finding it, when we drove past the hotel without seeing it. After this there was no way to go back (hotel is in one way street) and we finished up leaving the car in a car park and taking a taxi to the hotel. The situation was very well resolved by hotel staff but it was a bit traumatic for us initially.
The instructions for reaching the hotel from the motorway were excellent and we had no difficulty in following them, but we failed to spot the hotel when we were actually right outside. I think the instruction would be improved by emphasising that the entrance is in a little side street off to the left of the Calle San Matias, called Placeta de Los Peregrinos, so not easily visible from the street until you've passed it. The yellow sign to the hotel is actually pointing directly at the entrance rather than indicating the direction to go.
Overall we have very happy memories of our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnuevo, Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This lovely hotel would have scored the full five points had it not been for the facts of, 1: no bath plug which we had to ask twice for (in fairness, the maid had little English and my Spanish is poco), and 2: no towels or other facilities in the bathroom when we arrived, though these were with us within ten minutes.

The hotel itself is beautiful and so different to the normal run of hotels. Also, all the reception staff spoke extremely good English and were superbly helpful with information and tips about seeing Granada.

Granada is one of the cities you MUST see before you die, and this hotel adds to the experience. It is also very well sited for most amenities and for more restaurants than you can shake a stick at. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just specify if you want a refrigerator, extra large bed or something else and there will be a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PabloyRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The main plus for this hotel is the staff. They are not just doing a job, they show great enthusiasm, they are friendly and helpful. A great welcome after a tiring journey.
One other plus is the location. It is easy to walk to many of the main attractions in Granada and for those further away, the superb minibus service passes the door of the hotel.
Bar and restaurants are all around the area with a wide choice of styles. However the bars have a downside if you like a full nights sleep. Friday and Saturday is party night and this can go on to the small hours with all the associated noise and shouting. One party was still in full swing on Sunday morning at 0700 as we left for the airport. Maybe if you can`t beat them `join` them.
One thing that the hotel could do is give a choice of cooked food for breakfast. As you are required to book breakfast the day beforehand, a tick box menu could be offered for your selection to be made. The day we did have breakfast, the cook had prepared a delightful Spanish omelette which I politely refused as I had that same dish the previous evening. I asked if scrambled eggs were available only to be told the cook had used all the eggs.
Even with a couple of shortcommings I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli P, Gerente at Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear John B,

Thank you so much for your review! It is truly appreciated.

Again, we thank you for your stay with us and very much appreciate and value your feedback.

We hope we will have a chance to welcome you again at Gar Anat hotel.


Warm regards from Granada from The whole Gar-Anat Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

+ Price, location, welcome, warmth of the room (it can be cold in Granada in mid March), style and décor, tea and cakes in the afternoon.

- No minuses (and now I keep typing until I reach the 200 character minimum)

Room Tip: Yes - there was street noise in the morning - but this goes with the pretty-much-in-the-centre-of-th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank M3WDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Property: Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Address: Plaza de los Peregrinos 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Gar-Anat Hotel de Peregrinos)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is a small and unique hotel restored 17th-century building set in central Granada. It has been skillfully restored, retaining most of its original architectural features The building forms part of Placeta de los Peregrinos square, in the historic city centre. At the Gar Anat Hotel Boutique, each guestroom is different. All rooms are spacious and bright, with simple decor and original features.The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, all ensuite, with air conditioning, safe, hairdryer in bathroom and free WiFi internet access. It is a designed as place of calm and reflection. It offers free afternoon snacks, free Wi-Fi and a typical Granadian columned patio/courtyard. Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is ideally located for visiting Granada's tourist attractions and staff can help guests arrange reservations for flamenco shows and excursions also recommending the best places to visit and eat. There are many restaurants and tapas bars located within walking distance of the hotel. Our small property is a 5-minutes walk from Granada Cathedral and a short walk to the famous Alhambra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gar Anat Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing