We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced and just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over-priced and just average”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is very well located, within easy walking distance of the city. However, if travelling in by car, it is difficult to find somewhere to park on arrival as there is only minimal space outside the hotel. Parking is at a nearby hotel, on the third floor down in an underground garage. This is very tricky to get in and out of, even in a small car. When leaving, ask if the doors to the garage can be operated remotely by the host hotel, rather than with a key that has to be returned to the Gar Anat afterwards.
The hotel itself was disappointing. At first glance the hotel looks good but was actually rather sparsely furnished. There was very little storage space in our room, the wardrobe consisted of a rail hanging over the only set of drawers in the room. In the bathroom there was nowhere to put toiletries and the towels were thin and worn.
On a more positive note, all members of staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli P, Gerente at Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear JBranley,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at Gar-Anat.
Reading your review, I might say that your low rate is due to basically parking problems you found at the moment of your arrival.
Our hotel dates back to 17th century an area that is protected as a zero category monument, there is not a lot of easy parking places in the heart of Granada.
We have more than 10 meters length of private parking at our building where you can park your car for some minutes at the moment you arrive, so you can take your luggage to your room and also get instructions where you can park your car. There is space for 2 big cars in the parking place.
I am really surprised about your review on this aspect. Maybe it was occupied at the moment you arrived by some other clients cars and you were not able to park on it.
You mentioned also that our private parking is in a nearby hotel. In fact, there is another hotel close to us but this does not mean that it belongs to this other hotel.
Our parking is private; we have only 4 parking spaces and it is necessary to book in advance with us. The Parking name is Gamboa. It is true that there are other hotels parking on it and also many neighbors have their own space in the same building. There is a man in charge of the opening door and cleaning and he does not depend on any host hotel.
You are completely right saying that it is very tricky to get in and out of the Parking. Parking in the centre of Granada is complicated, so be aware of this!
Concerning the little storage space in your room, I must say that in some rooms there are not typical wardrobes. Some people do like this concept and others do not. Simplicity and minimalism is not everybody’s choice.
Normally when you spend one or two days with us, the shape of a wardrobe is not so much important when it has its funtion.
Our rooms tell stories to our travellers that try to enrich their personal “world trip". It is optional to get it for yourself or not .For others is most important the wardrobe shape. This is also your choice too.
Thank you for sharing your experience, we will considered every aspect you mentioned and thank you indeed mentioning also positive details about our staff and our localization hotel.
I sincerely hope you will return to Gar Anat hotel and we all very much look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    271
    57
    18
    5
See reviews for
132
652
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel Gar-Anat prides itself on providing the Granada experience. Situated in the heart of Granada at the foot of the Alhambra hill on the one side and the Albaizin on the other, the visitor can reach all the major sights of the city and explore the interesting and picturesque backstreets on foot. The staff are welcoming and offer helpful advice either about museum entry, public transport and other sybaritic pursuits such as the Turkish baths, flamenco evenings and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable , individual and well-appointed. Breakfast was provided in a tastefully decorated basement and above all ,we enjoyed an attempt at conversation with the lady on duty. We very much enjoyed our 1 week stay because we began to feel at home and liked to talk with the young receptionists about their wonderful city. Our only suggestion would be that the management review their 'complementary tea' as the current arrangement is less than satisfactory . All in all the hotel lives up to the aspirations expressed on the web-site and provides boutique combined with cultural character.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizzieverychoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a beautifully designed and decorated hotel. Comfortable beds in lovely rooms, fully modern bathrooms. It's right in the heart of the old city center - a great location for walking Granda, but NOT a place to drive to! Drop off your rental car and get a taxi to the hotel.

The wood floors are great, but they don't reduce noise at all. We did hear other guests somewhat. And the wi-fi only works in the central courtyard.

The available afternoon tea was a treat, and we did have breakfast in the hotel, which was delicious and convenient, but much more expensive than at a cafe.

The staff were always very friendly and helpful. As were the other guests we met in the share areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were 2 couples and we stayed here for 1 night. It's a charming well-restored hotel in an excellent central location. The rooms were comfortable, breakfast was sufficient, the staff were helpful and friendly and we could walk to most places or catch a bus or cab if we didn't feel like walking.
The hotel arranged for us to park in a garage nearby. It was safe but you really needed to be a skilful driver if you had a big car.
Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharonInSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpperPeninsulaMichigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We looked forward to returning to Gar-Anat each day for down time and finally at night. Once you cross the hotel's threshold, you get such a sense of spaciousness and tranquility. The decor is artistic and modern without detracting from its traditional setting. Staff are very helpful and speak English. Our room was very attractive - loved those wooden shutters and the windows overlooking the street- and comfortable with a large modern bathroom and a great shower. We liked the accomodations so much we extended our stay from 3 nights to 5 nights. The hotel is well-situated within the old town - a little hard to find as it is tucked away on the corner of a side street- with tons of cafes, restaurants, and bars in the vicinity. It's a vibrant area. If you continue down the narrow street on which the hotel sits, Calle San Matias, you quickly come across two squares one which has a fantastic fountain especially at night. Lots of dining choices here and frequented by local people. A couple of the small cafes are open for basic breakfast fare such as toast/ham/cheese/croissants and great cafe con leche. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel. The hotel is near bus stops where you can go to the Alhambra or up to Sacremonte, very much worth a visit. We took two short day trips- one to the coast- using ALSA, a private regional bus service, which operates out of the modern bus terminal easily reached by city bus. We would happily use ALSA again. The Gar Anat was our favorite hotel out of the four places we stayed in Spain. One of those rare hotels you actually miss when you've returned home.

Room Tip: Loved the Nana room on top floor overlooking the street and small square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's a bit hard to find, even with a satnav (possibly better to look for Calle San Matias running north of Plaza Real, as the hotel address is in a very small square hardly bigger than a courtyard) but well worth the effort. It's a five minute walk to the Cathedral, the Bazaar, and the most interesting Madrassar school building, and is near enough on the bus route to the Alhambra. Close enough to restaurants for meals from dawn to after dark. Set round an internal court of a traditional building, it is very modern in design without really clashing with the historic feel of the building. The staff were very helpful. The rooms are stylishly designed, I suspect all individually so. Well appointed, the two criticisms are that the overall lighting in the main room was more decorative than practical, and we also found, even in October, that there was a need for air conditioning, which didn't seem to function. As a result we had to have the shutters open, which let in fairly intrusive street noise, only to discover, as others have it now seems, that the a/c is controlled from a master panel in reception that was - surprise, surprise, turned off.... It just took the edge off what might have been a very pleasant experience indeed.

Parking is available in another hotel down a narrow lane. But nowhere near as narrow as the descent to the underground third floor where the €18 per night parking was available. An experience not for the faint hearted or not confident driver as corners and columns seemed to present the ultimate driving test.

Don't let these comments put you off - it's a most pleasant and character-full hotel in a very central location that I would highly recommend. Just be aware that it comes with some learning experiences!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is perfect for holidays or work because is situated in the center of Granada, in a quite street.
The hotel is beautiful and charming, each room is different, with an awesome decoration!
The breakfast has a good assortments of food, also gluten free!

My experience was perfect thanks to the great workers always with a smile, very professionals.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and each one is unique and with a great decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lupiexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
938 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
777 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#6 of 122 in Granada
1,705 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 122 in Granada
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Property: Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Address: Plaza de los Peregrinos 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Gar-Anat Hotel de Peregrinos)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is a small and unique hotel restored 17th-century building set in central Granada. It has been skillfully restored, retaining most of its original architectural features The building forms part of Placeta de los Peregrinos square, in the historic city centre. At the Gar Anat Hotel Boutique, each guestroom is different. All rooms are spacious and bright, with simple decor and original features.The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, all ensuite, with air conditioning, safe, hairdryer in bathroom and free WiFi internet access. It is a designed as place of calm and reflection. It offers free afternoon snacks, free Wi-Fi and a typical Granadian columned patio/courtyard. Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is ideally located for visiting Granada's tourist attractions and staff can help guests arrange reservations for flamenco shows and excursions also recommending the best places to visit and eat. There are many restaurants and tapas bars located within walking distance of the hotel. Our small property is a 5-minutes walk from Granada Cathedral and a short walk to the famous Alhambra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gar Anat Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing