We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant yet Odd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this quiet little hotel during our visit to Granada. On the one hand, the staff was friendly, the hotel was very clean, the room was a nice size for two people, the breakfast and tapas hour were very nice, and the location of the hotel was excellent. The hotel had a lovely feel to it. But this is a very odd hotel (or perhaps it was our room)??? We were given an attic room, which meant we had to lug our bags up (and then down) a flight of stairs (with no assistance from the female hotel clerk). The room had no chairs and no luggage rack. Only a bar to hang clothing and a teeny set of drawers were provided for clothing convenience (taking the "zen" approach a bit too far?) And the bathroom was a lawsuit waiting to happen. The shower was about fourteen inches above the floor, and no handrails were provided. We were very careful but who wants to experience a slip and fall while on holiday? We did not view any other rooms so in all fairness, our experience might have been limited to attic room occupants. Lastly, do NOT try to find this hotel from a private car. Park at the outskirts of the city and take a taxi. There are too many restricted routes and too few signs to navigate Granada without a knowledgeable guide.

Room Tip: Request that you do not get an attic room, perhaps the other rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

I decided to book this hotel after reading trip advisor reviews. We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful. On one day we needed to head to the Alhambra early and the staff were happy to organise breakfast for us earlier than the usual sitting time to accommodate us. We stayed in one of the ground level rooms which was quite large. Nice clean simple settings. Very convenient location and we walked everywhere. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel8643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The rooms have names, rather than room numbers! There is a lot of wonderful touches that make the place peaceful and serene - drapes, music... there was just something unique and special about this little hotel. The rooms are well kept with clean furniture. It was romantic and cute!
The gentleman at the desk was every so charming, walking us to the room, advising us on good walks and where to eat. He was always so obliging!
Security is high - doors are locked at all hours and a doorbell must be called on entering where reception will recognise non-guests. After hours, a service at another hotel checks your name to room number before buzzing you in.
Good wifi access
Breakfast could have more variety, but the nespresso coffees are much appreciated!!
It is a beautiful hotel that I will definitely recommend to anyone staying in Granada! It's just not the average hotel, more bed and breakfast style!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Modern, with an edge of hipness. We had a nice but not especially roomy room at a not-so-low price. The Casa 1800 is cheaper (not cheap) and better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XYZABCTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel was great. When they confirm your reservation, they give details on how to get there if you drive. The service was OUTSTANDING- people were very friendly and helpful. The room was great. We splurged on a superior room and it was worth it. If you try to book ahead, they should have deals. A great visit, great vibe and great hotel!

Room Tip: Book early for special deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This is a travelers hotel. If you're into over the top service, hanging about in a glitzy lobby or demanding luxurious amenities, this is not the place for you. However, if you are a seasoned traveler who likes a clean, attractive and a bit upscale place to stay, this is a gem of a hotel. The rooms are very unique and individually decorated. All the rooms are named, ours was Ciudad Invisibles, a "superior" room. The room was large on the second floor, with a small outside balcony, which was especially nice as we were there during Holy Week and all of the fantastic processions and floats passed bye, directly under us. There were three of us and we had a king bed and asked for a cot for our son. The cot was actually a full size single bed on wheels, which we thought was a nice touch. Even with this additional bed, the room was very comfortable to move around in. The room had a fantastical headboard of tropical fish swimming across the wall, that could be illuminated with the flick of a switch. The room (and hotel) were exceptionally clean and well maintained. The breakfast room was in the basement (looked like it was a large brick wine cellar at one time) and had a more than complete selection of all manner of breakfast foods. The staff was very friendly and the service excellent. On the morning of our departure, we were up very early, prior to breakfast being served. The evening before our departure, the girl at the front desk said she would make arrangements to have something ready for us so we wouldn't leave hungry. When we went down to pick up our food the next morning, she was down in the kitchen and had prepared basically the whole spread of what was normally put out, so we had a plentiful selection of food, it was a wonderful surprise. I have read a few negative postings here regarding the staff, we encountered no such thing, as the are all young and energetic, all spoke english. The location couldn't be better. All major sites are within walking distance, even the Alhambra if you are a sturdy uphill walker. Overall, this is a terrific travelers hotel and a great value for the price paid. In my opinion, this is the type of hotel that, once you have stayed here, it will be your base of operation each time you revisit Granada. No need to look any further.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Global8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Booked a superior room for two nights after reading so many positive reviews. The result: my wife and daughter absolutely hated it, and I was left with a mixed impression.
There was nothing superior about our superior room. At least we had a small wardrobe which does not seem to be always the case (read the other reviews).
Very convenient location, but a car is a problem even if you plan to leave it in a parking throughout your stay.
Very limited service, basically a one-man show. Or rather a one-not-so-very-nice-woman show. She only bothered to ask for a payment. All the other things (like free wine and tapas in the library) we had to ask for or find out ourselves.
Surely there must be better places to stay in this charming city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartynasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,789 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,294 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Address: Plaza de los Peregrinos 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Gar-Anat Hotel de Peregrinos)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $79 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is a small and unique hotel restored 17th-century building set in central Granada. It has been skillfully restored, retaining most of its original architectural features The building forms part of Placeta de los Peregrinos square, in the historic city centre. At the Gar Anat Hotel Boutique, each guestroom is different. All rooms are spacious and bright, with simple decor and original features.The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, all ensuite, with air conditioning, safe, hairdryer in bathroom and free WiFi internet access. It is a designed as place of calm and reflection. It offers free afternoon snacks, free Wi-Fi and a typical Granadian columned patio/courtyard. Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is ideally located for visiting Granada's tourist attractions and staff can help guests arrange reservations for flamenco shows and excursions also recommending the best places to visit and eat. There are many restaurants and tapas bars located within walking distance of the hotel. Our small property is a 5-minutes walk from Granada Cathedral and a short walk to the famous Alhambra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gar Anat Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing