We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to stay in granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Numero 8

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Numero 8
Ranked #35 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Granada
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best place to stay in granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved everything about this place,the apartment was charming and the roof terrace was fantastic to relax at night chatting to fellow guests and looking at the Alhambra.
We loved the Albaycin area,got a bit lost a couple of times.but that is half the fun and it is only a short walk to town.
We really enjoyed being able to shop at the market and we were able to catch up with some washing as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozvalAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
50
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hi everyone, just got back from Grenada and I just had to write a review on El Numero 8. It was our first trip to Grenada and El Numero 8 was recommended by a friend of ours who had previously stayed there and spoke so highly of it, we just had to give it a go.

The self contained apartments are very clean and tidy and handy if you want to have a night in to cook for yourself. The gorgeous roof terrace has a wonderful view of the Alhambra and much of the Albacin can be seen. There is a good selection of comfy chairs to chill out on too! I particularly liked the fact that the owner Rafa projects movies onto a large white wall on the terrace on a weekly basis. I had been speaking to Rafa earlier that day and we discovered that we are both avid music fans, so he asked me if I would like to see a music documentary on the roof that night which was a nice touch. He is also very knowledgeable about the local area and was more than happy to give us some tips on where to go and how much things cost. After all, he has lived there for almost 20 years!

All of this, at a great price too.....Thanks Rafa, we'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean0457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Loved this place. We stayed here for a week a couple of years ago and it was perfect. We were getting tired of eating out and enjoyed shopping at the markets and doing our own cooking. Happy hour with a view of the Alhambra was wonderful! This may sound odd, but I so enjoyed hanging laundry on the clothesline with a view of the Alhambra! Would return in a minute!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

El Numero 8 is NOT your typical place to stay - and in this case, that is a very good thing. It is located in a great neighborhood in the Albaycin and owned and run by the quite interesting Rafa and his equally hip, accommodating and knowledgable staff. There is an excellent rooftop terrace for enjoying morning coffee and evening sunsets with a nice view of the Alhambra. Each apartment is different and special in it's own way. All in all it is a very chill and relaxed atmosphere. And it it walking distance to almost everywhere you might want to go during your stay - and the walks are a trip in and of themselves. Highly recommended, particularly if you want an experience that is not part of the same ol' routine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

For me and my boyfriend, this spot was just perfect. We are in our late 20s, appreciate clean and cozy...don't really want to do the hostal/shared space/party scene anymore but do love being a part of local culture and feeling like we're right in the mix.

Arriving here was easy if you are OK with walking a few minutes- it is in the heart of the Albaycin neighborhood - perfectly located in the middle so you have some of both uphill (to get to the mirador de san nicolas, sacromonte, plaza larga, and others), and downhill to get to the moroccan markets, plaza san gregorio and the shuttle to the alhambra.... it's not ALL the way up, but definitely up!

you can't drive to this location, that's why there is a meeting spot. Rafa is easy to communicate with - American/Spanish so is fluent in English/Spanish... responsive, kind, willing to help. It was easy to tell the taxi how to get to the meeting spot and roll our bags to El 8.

We booked the room on the top floor - most expensive (still extremely cheap) ... it was so perfect. There's nothing more relaxing after a week of B&Bs than to get your own little apartment with a sitting room, kitchenette with eat in area, and separate bedroom with a lovely skylight! We immediately felt it was our place. The amenities are what you should expect unless you're staying at a fancy hotel - simple, clean, exactly as I assume most live in this neighborhood and have for years... Rafa is running an environmentally friendly program and does remind you to conserve electricity, water and recycle- I'm thankful for that.

The apartment has everything you'd need, plus a beautiful patio with stunning views of the Alhambra. The prices are so unbelievably reasonable- for an entire apartment the prices are better than B&Bs where you get just a room... they even have an honor bar if you feel like having a glass of wine or beer on the terrace and don't feel like going out to a supermarket. Prices are as reasonable as the rooms themselves.

It's so easy to base yourself here and feel a part of Granada life. I am looking forward to getting back there again soon for more than 4 nights - it didn't feel long enough. I'd like to try again for a month!

Please message me if you're wondering if this option is right for you and your fellow travelers. I'd recommend it for families with teens or young adults, groups of travelers - really anymore except babies/toddlers due to it being only accessible by way of cobbled pedestrian streets.

Thank you to Rafa for an unforgettable experience. We loved our home in Granada!

Room Tip: I saw 2 apartments- both were beautiful but I definitely appreciated the space and natural light in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed four nights here at the end of our vacation and we did not want to leave! It is a perfect location right in a great section of Granada. It is easy access to all the best spots and we felt kind of like locals staying in an apartment. Rafa met us about five minutes away when we arrived and walked us to the apartment. He also gave us some good local insight for the best tapas spots, nightlife, and schedule for processions during Semana Santa. The roof deck looking up at La Alhambra is amazing and we spent an hour or so up there every evening before going out for tapas. The music Rafa left in the rooms was also nice and soothing and we even bought a CD. Overall, El Numero 8 was the ideal place for us and we already want to go back to Granada and stay there longer next time.

Buena suerte Rafa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We second all the positive reviews. Rafa met us at the specified location - trust his judgement, follow the instructions to meet him otherwise you WILL get lost. He brought along an extra umbrella during a rainy afternoon. We were delighted to relax in Apartment 3, listening to music and cozy with tea waiting out the downpour. A funky, and cozy place that suited 2 teens and 1 adult. We loved exploring the neighborhood and Rafa's restaurant recommendation was perfect. My friend had recommended this place and we are so happy to follow her lead. We explored the neighborhood, walking extensively (yes, UP and DOWN, UP and DOWN). A great workout with extraordinary views, and a respite among it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eokansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#27 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Casa Bombo
#10 of 97 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Solar Montes Claros
Solar Montes Claros
#9 of 138 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Albaicín
Alhambra Apartamentos Turisticos
Albaicín
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
#27 of 138 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Numero 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Numero 8

Property: El Numero 8
Address: | Aljibe de las Tomasas, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Numero 8 is not a typical hotel. It is a traditional casa de vecinos separated into separate apartments located in the ancient Moorish area of Granada, the Albayzin. It is also our home that we share with travelers. It is a very tranquil place to stay and we ask our guests to come with respect for the house and for the neighborhood which is all pedestrian and very quiet for being right in the center of the city of Granada. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing