We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¡Muy único! ... and very comfortable, relaxed and in a great location!”
Review of El Numero 8

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Numero 8
Ranked #42 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Reviewed June 17, 2013

El Numero 8 is NOT your typical place to stay - and in this case, that is a very good thing. It is located in a great neighborhood in the Albaycin and owned and run by the quite interesting Rafa and his equally hip, accommodating and knowledgable staff. There is an excellent rooftop terrace for enjoying morning coffee and evening sunsets with a nice view of the Alhambra. Each apartment is different and special in it's own way. All in all it is a very chill and relaxed atmosphere. And it it walking distance to almost everywhere you might want to go during your stay - and the walks are a trip in and of themselves. Highly recommended, particularly if you want an experience that is not part of the same ol' routine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 92 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

For me and my boyfriend, this spot was just perfect. We are in our late 20s, appreciate clean and cozy...don't really want to do the hostal/shared space/party scene anymore but do love being a part of local culture and feeling like we're right in the mix.

Arriving here was easy if you are OK with walking a few minutes- it is in the heart of the Albaycin neighborhood - perfectly located in the middle so you have some of both uphill (to get to the mirador de san nicolas, sacromonte, plaza larga, and others), and downhill to get to the moroccan markets, plaza san gregorio and the shuttle to the alhambra.... it's not ALL the way up, but definitely up!

you can't drive to this location, that's why there is a meeting spot. Rafa is easy to communicate with - American/Spanish so is fluent in English/Spanish... responsive, kind, willing to help. It was easy to tell the taxi how to get to the meeting spot and roll our bags to El 8.

We booked the room on the top floor - most expensive (still extremely cheap) ... it was so perfect. There's nothing more relaxing after a week of B&Bs than to get your own little apartment with a sitting room, kitchenette with eat in area, and separate bedroom with a lovely skylight! We immediately felt it was our place. The amenities are what you should expect unless you're staying at a fancy hotel - simple, clean, exactly as I assume most live in this neighborhood and have for years... Rafa is running an environmentally friendly program and does remind you to conserve electricity, water and recycle- I'm thankful for that.

The apartment has everything you'd need, plus a beautiful patio with stunning views of the Alhambra. The prices are so unbelievably reasonable- for an entire apartment the prices are better than B&Bs where you get just a room... they even have an honor bar if you feel like having a glass of wine or beer on the terrace and don't feel like going out to a supermarket. Prices are as reasonable as the rooms themselves.

It's so easy to base yourself here and feel a part of Granada life. I am looking forward to getting back there again soon for more than 4 nights - it didn't feel long enough. I'd like to try again for a month!

Please message me if you're wondering if this option is right for you and your fellow travelers. I'd recommend it for families with teens or young adults, groups of travelers - really anymore except babies/toddlers due to it being only accessible by way of cobbled pedestrian streets.

Thank you to Rafa for an unforgettable experience. We loved our home in Granada!

Room Tip: I saw 2 apartments- both were beautiful but I definitely appreciated the space and natural light in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed four nights here at the end of our vacation and we did not want to leave! It is a perfect location right in a great section of Granada. It is easy access to all the best spots and we felt kind of like locals staying in an apartment. Rafa met us about five minutes away when we arrived and walked us to the apartment. He also gave us some good local insight for the best tapas spots, nightlife, and schedule for processions during Semana Santa. The roof deck looking up at La Alhambra is amazing and we spent an hour or so up there every evening before going out for tapas. The music Rafa left in the rooms was also nice and soothing and we even bought a CD. Overall, El Numero 8 was the ideal place for us and we already want to go back to Granada and stay there longer next time.

Buena suerte Rafa!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuraVida55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We second all the positive reviews. Rafa met us at the specified location - trust his judgement, follow the instructions to meet him otherwise you WILL get lost. He brought along an extra umbrella during a rainy afternoon. We were delighted to relax in Apartment 3, listening to music and cozy with tea waiting out the downpour. A funky, and cozy place that suited 2 teens and 1 adult. We loved exploring the neighborhood and Rafa's restaurant recommendation was perfect. My friend had recommended this place and we are so happy to follow her lead. We explored the neighborhood, walking extensively (yes, UP and DOWN, UP and DOWN). A great workout with extraordinary views, and a respite among it all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eokansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this unique apartment, situated in the Albaycin of Granada. The apartment was clean, comfortable and quiet. Although it was quite cool during our stay (January), we were still able to utilize the rooftop terrace for coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at sunset while we watched the colours change on the Alhambra and the rooftops of the city around us. Just getting to and from our apartment was interesting and colourful, an experience we will never forget. What a wonderful city! We hope we will be able to visit again and would certainly stay at this location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at El Numero 8 for three nights and couldn't have asked for more. It is located right in the heart of the Albaycin. So everything is very accessible just by walking. There is a spectacular view of the Alhambra from the roof-top terrace. We spent some time up there each afternoon or evening enjoying the view and sipping some wine. The apartment was cute and completely stocked with all needs for making coffee, tea or even a meal if we had wanted to. The bed was comfortable so we got 3 great nights of sleep. There is even a washing machine for clothes on the floor just below the terrace. -Which my husband took advantage of after being in Spain for a week. Carmen was the hostess and very helpful when we first arrived and explained everything about the apartment and property to us. She also led us out to a spot in the Albayzin so we knew how to orientate ourselves and get from place to place. So thankful we found this place and I hope we can take another trip in the future and stay here again.

Room Tip: Heart of Albayzin. Apartment. View of Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenekika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent four nights at El 8 - two in the cheapest room on the ground floor with the separate bathroom, which wasn't a problem and two in the nicest room on the top floor, which was lovely. Both were great and I only wish we'd had more time to enjoy them and the wonderful roof terrace. Granada is such a fantastic city, with so many great bars and cafes - there just wasn't enough time to relax - though we did try! Maybe next time...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHNCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Los Tilos
Los Tilos
#46 of 122 in Granada
318 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#29 of 122 in Granada
738 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,758 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,005 reviews
Albaicín
Alhambra Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Numero 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Numero 8

Address: | Aljibe de las Tomasas, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range: $53 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Numero 8 is not a typical hotel. It is a traditional casa de vecinos separated into separate apartments located in the ancient Moorish area of Granada, the Albayzin. It is also our home that we share with travelers. It is a very tranquil place to stay and we ask our guests to come with respect for the house and for the neighborhood which is all pedestrian and very quiet for being right in the center of the city of Granada. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing