We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Homely Hostel”
Review of El Granado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Granado
Ranked #2 of 97 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A very quiet hostel, just a perfect place for a good nightś sleep. Freddie and the staff (Lena & Virgil) are excellent hosts, they go out of their way to help you out. The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms and toilets are way better than other hostels. Only negative was the triple bunk beds, but they changed me to an empty lower bunk bed on the second night. A nice common area to meet up with other travelers and a convenient kitchen. Free internet access with wifi as well as a computer is very convenient for guests with smart phones.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank san_united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 692 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here in March. The apartment was great, separate sleeping areas was very nice. The only problem we had was a heater issue in the bathroom and it was quickly resolved. The staff was extremely helpful and their fluent English made communication very easy. The laundry service was very inexpensive and convenient - not to mention timely. We would recommend this place to anyone with a family!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kent1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in the family apartment at the end of December 2011. The apartment was spotless, and perfect for our needs. It was easy walking distance to the main sites, and close to several grocery stores (perfect if you're cooking any meals in the apartment). We loved the warm and welcoming common room, and appreciated the free wifi.

There was a continental "serve yourself" breakfast included, which just added to the value.

Freddy greeted us warmly when we arrived, and gave us a full breakdown of the sites, and how to get around.

You couldn't ask for more if you are family looking for a clean, convenient, inexpensive place to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue_Bomber_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is not a hostel... the room is nicely decorated, the bathroom was really modern! We stayed in a private room and it felt like a boutique hotel/B&B. The staff there is excellent, the room is wonderful and clean, location couldn't be better. The only downside is that the apartment tenants across the street may be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I recently stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment with some friends (3 of us in total). It was fantastic. The whole place was exceptionally clean, well looked after and the staff all very friendly and helpful. It was a bargin for the price. I have stayed in many more expensive hotels that were far worse in quality than this place. Highly recommended. If I ever return to Granada I will certainly stay there again.

Lorraine

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment is great value at approx 75 euro for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

There is not a lot to say about El Granado, other than it is the best hostel I have ever stayed in.
The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, the breakfast is free (to other reviewers - of course you have to wash your own plates, it is a hostel!) and it is soooo clean. The cleaners are in every day.

The kitchen is small but has everything you'd expect (pots, pans, plates & cutlery) and more (oils, vinegar, salt, pepper etc).

This is a perfect place for a weary traveller to stay somewhere beautiful and clean for a good price. This is the best hostel ever.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathinthehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked El Granado based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor - and we were not disappointed! We had a private double room with an ensuite and it was immaculate! Admittedly the room was small however considering we were in one of the most beautiful cities, it didn't matter. Bed was comfy, decent size wardobe and tiny but clean and functional ensuite. You are in student-ville therefore it can get loud at night, however that was not due to anyone staying at the hotel - but drunken students from across the road! But it was still not loud enough to bother us. Our friends had the room below us which was an apartment for two people (with a pull out fo a couple more) their room was HUGE with a TV, the small but well equiped kitchen was sadly never used but would have been ideal if you did want to cook! Everywhere is decked out with ikea furniture so it has a modern edge in an old building! Breakfast is literally toast/cereal and tea/coffee/juice - but considering the price it was what could be expected! The lady who checked us in was amazing, she sat us down with a map she gave to us, circled the places to go - cheap tapas places and bars to visit, without her advice we probably would not have got round as much as we did in the 3 days we had there! Overall an excellent place - highly recomended!! We left very happy campers!

Room Tip: I would avoid the room at the bottom - the noise from people coming and going did bother our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harri67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,004 reviews
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#62 of 122 in Granada
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nest Style Granada
#3 of 97 in Granada
568 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Parraga Siete
Hotel Parraga Siete
#4 of 97 in Granada
340 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Al-Andalus Hostel
Al-Andalus Hostel
#68 of 146 in Granada
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Granado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Granado

Address: Calle Conde de Tendillas 7, 18002 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $26 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Granado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to El Granado: New stories within medieval walls El Granado is located right in the center of Granada, within walking distance of all that Granada has to offer. **TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011** We offer comfortable rooms, friendly service, free WIFI, heating, warm water showers and TV. El Granado's ground floor and half of the second floor is from Nasrid period (13th -15th century). Staying in this charming property, in the heart of Granada, definitely makes for a different and unique experience. El Granado is the perfect choice for a family, a group of friends or couples or looking for new friends and experiences. It is also more affordable than a hotel. Five minutes from the Cathedral El Granado is located right in the centre of Granada, with walking distance to all that Granada has to offer, historical monuments, shops, nightlife, as well as to all the university departments located in the centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Granado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Granado Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing