We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos El Almez
Ranked #55 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at this lovely apartment for 5 nights. It was evening when we arrived at Granada so it was getting dark. My first suggestion is to walk from Plaza Sta Ana street and find your way there instead of trying to use the side streets until you know your way around the Albaicin area. It took us a while before we found this gem.

The reception area is not continuously manned, so we needed to contact the owner, Elena, when we arrived at Granada bus station to make sure someone would be at the reception when we arrived. We were impressed with the room as it was just like a home to us with everything we needed, and had a cozy feel to it. We were in the top floor, and there was a staircase leading on to the roof. When we explored this, we were surprised and delighted to discover a lovely view of the Alhambra right in front of us!

Once you learn your way around, the apartment is very conveniently located for the main attractions in Granada. We enjoyed every moment there.

Also, ask Elena for recommendations for good tapas bars/restaurants. She has such a good knowledge of Granada.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Hard to find much to criticize. We payed 70Euros/night for three of us (2 adults, one child) - this was something of a bargain. Located in the Albayzin, but not so far away from the centre that would make it hard to push a buggy. Cool, wood-paneled lounge, well-appointed kitchen. The bedroom could be a bit airless, but that is really a minor quibble overall. We would try and stay here if visiting Granada again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wondersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I arranged a weekend away for myself and 8 friends, we booked 2 apartments and had a brilliant time in Granada (one of my favourite cities)
They were perfectly located, modern, clean and we even had a roof terrace overlooking Alhambra!
The staff were very helpful and even circled tapas bars on our tourist map so we could make our own little tour in the evening.
The apartments were fantastic and contributed greatly to the wonderful weekend we had.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani_doogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Overall, we were well pleased with this well appointed "apartamento" hotel that included a small washer (although no dryer). The additional touches (available coffee/tea and olive oil) were appreciated. Although this facility is not always staffed during the day, they responded quickly to a phone call when we needed assistance.

Consideration when booking should include an awareness that this facility does not include an elevator and that the narrow and rather steep staircase can be difficult, especially when bringing large bags back down.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ortho_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed in the ground floor apartment with my 1 year old and two girlfriends. The apartment situated in the old islamic quarters is amazing. One double bed, a single bed and cot and another sofa bed, a kitchen and bathroom accomodated our expectations. All essentials were provided such as microwave, towels and kitchen utensils. Unfortunately air conditioning was promised BUT was not provided....A big let down as august is extremely hot (especially for young children & babies). Another difficulty if you're travelling with children and buggies is that there are a number of steep staircases leading up to the apartment...again in the heat becomes really draining. However the apartment was very clean and extremely good value for money as children can stay for free. In total it came to £83 per head for 2nights. The deco was colourful moroccon/arabic style and added to the feel of the location. The location was ideal as its near to the shops restaurants, cafes and bus stop. The shisha lounges are close by and the best I've ever been to. Great atmosphere!. In terms of food halal is available at many places (but always be sure to ask....because often the lamb is halal. But not the chicken).The bus number 32 goes to the alhambra and takes around 20mins. Walking around the area of albaicin is a delight in itself and the locals were very friendly and only to welcome to help us when we were lost. We walked to granada mosque at the top of the albaicin (lots of stairs) and from here you can see a fantastic view of the alhambra and the sierra nevada mountains. The mosque gardens are beautiful to just sit and relax in with lovely fountains and a tranquil atmosphere. If you're travelling with a baby you will notice what i noticed. This must be the most baby-friendly nation in the world. The people in granada, young old, male and female adore babies. I was suprised when the waitresses offered to wash my babies feeding spoon for me and when a random shop keeper noticed I was lettin my little one suck off some slush puppy on a straw came out to hand me a plastic spoon. Small gestures like these were very common and somthing I never experience in London. The owners of the apartment will meet you at some stage. But its usually their staff that will attend to your needs.Overall great value for money. Will definately stay here again, when the little one is bigger and can walk down and up the stairs himself!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaskme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Alhambra Apartamentos Turisticos
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#35 of 122 in Granada
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,175 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
961 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#23 of 122 in Granada
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos El Almez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos El Almez

Property: Apartamentos El Almez
Address: Calle de San Juan de los Reyes, 29, 18010, Granada, Spain, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos El Almez 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos El Almez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing