We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solar Montes Claros
Ranked #9 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
2 reviews
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My finacé and I stayed at this B&B during a two-week trip to Spain. We had a great experience and I would highly recommend Solar Montes Claros.

The owner arranged for a car to meet us at the train station. We stayed in the Saba split-level unit on the top floor. It took some doing to haul our luggage up the stairs, but we are young and generally not bothered by that sort of thing.

The photos posted do not fully capture the spectacular view of the Alhambra from the spacious private balcony included with the unit. It is at least as good as any view available from the points in town referenced in most guidebooks. And it has the added element of privacy and comfort. We enjoyed sunset on our first night over a bottle of wine.

The room (and entire house) is very well appointed, uniquely designed and spacious. Anyone used to staying in upscale accommodations will feel very comfortable and enjoy the change of pace. An added bonus - we could see the Alhambra and the night sky from our bed.

The owner was helpful and friendly, but correctly sensed that we were not seeking long conversations or detailed guidance on what to do in town. There were other guests at the B&B during our stay, but we did not spend much time in the (serene) common spaces and had no difficulty finding privacy. Breakfast was timely and tasty.

We stayed for two nights - enough time to see the Alhambra and a few other sites in town. We had a great time. On departure, the owner arranged for a taxi to take us back to the train station.

I have difficulty imagining a better place to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantCoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    36
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
263
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Solar Montes Claros is a wonderful and beautiful B&B. Your stay will include a complimentary transfer to the B&B, which was very welcome as it's not the easiest location to get to. Solar Montes Claros has a stunning location on a hill with views of the Alhambra and the city. Its location isn't right in the heart and centre of the city and it was a bit of an uphill walk returning to the B&B every night from the city, but it's completely worth it for the views, the peace and quiet and the fantastic guest experience.

The B&B itself is beautifully decorated. Our rooms were very spacious (the largest rooms we had during our entire 9 week trip through Morocco, Spain and Portugal) and beautiful (though still comfortable). We had hot tubs in both of our rooms, and fantastic views of the Alhambra. The terraces and common areas were all comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was great as well.

Antonio (the owner) clearly puts a lot of thought and care into taking care of the property and its guests. He took the time to give us recommendations, advise us on our Alhambra visit and was kind enough to make arrangements for us to pick up our luggage in the evening (after the time that he usually leaves the B&B for the day) so that we wouldn't have to head out to the train station too early (which would have prevented us from doing some more sightseeing in the city).

I'd definitely recommend this B&B to any travellers planning on visiting Granada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staying at Solar Montes Claros was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Spain! In fact, I would say this is probably in the top few places we have ever stayed anywhere! We were in the Saba apartment, and the views were breathtaking. There's nothing like going to sleep and waking up to the sight of the Alhambra from your bed. We also loved sitting on our own private terrace and hearing the sounds of birds singing, church bells ringing, and music floating up from the streets below. Julio and Antonio were wonderful hosts, and have provided a beautiful, peaceful refuge to return to after busy days of sightseeing. The location is fantastic--a short walk to town and in a fascinating and beautiful neighborhood, the Albayzin. As other reviewers have noted, it is a climb from the main part of Granada to the Albayzin, and there are lots of stairs to reach the B & B, but for us that was a good thing considering all the eating we did! We would highly recommend Solar Montes Claros to anyone visiting Granada!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etang la Ville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We happily spent 3 nights in a delightfully friendly room with a terrace looking over the Albaicin and across to the Alhambra. Antonio could not have been more welcoming and helpful: he gave great restaurant advice. Fresh fruit is part of a simple local breakfast. One tiny quibble: the wifi in the room was patchy, but worked perfectly downstairs. (Anyone who has difficulty with lots of stairs/steep hills should probably not be in Albaicin or in this B&B.)

Room Tip: The wonderful view from the terrace can surely not be bettered - we were in the Fenicia room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I can only confirm all the positive comments about this lovely B&B.
I stayed in the room Fenicia which has a small balcony so that in the evening I could sit outside
enjoying a glass of wine and the breathtaking view on the Alhambra. Forget the Mirador San Nicolas - the best place to watch the sunset over Granada is from here.
When I arrived at the airport a taxi was waiting for me which was perfect for it is a bit difficult to find the house. I took some fotos which may help should you arrive by bus or car.
My four days in Granada were absolutely wonderful - including a flamenco show in Jardines de Zoraya and diner in Aben Humeya which are both in the Albayzin and close to the house.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the upper rooms for they have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alida01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Am avut pe toata perioada sejurului impresia ca suntem intr-o camera de muzeu, unde sunt reproduse incaperi de un lux voluptos oriental. Camera in care am stat este personala, calda, cu o combinatie ideala de decor cu un pat mare, lenjerie satinata, cada dupa un paravan din fier forjat, dus fara usa, totul indraznet si elegant, ca o mica opera de arta.
Aaa, ca sa nu uit de privelistea incredibila asupra alhambrei, patio si camera micului dejun.
Ca informatie practica, trebuie sa luati un taxi initial sau sa va imprimati detaliile pt ca acest mic colt de paradis e bine ascuns in partea veche a orasului. merita fara indoiala acest minim efort. In plus profitati de acea zona pe jos, plimbare care noua ne-a placut. Biletele la alhambra pot fi cumparate tot prin ei in avans si puteti cere o harta si sfaturi. Gazdele sunt cat se poate de deschise si doritoare sa ajute cu info daca le cereti.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the apartment. Room is spacious with a good terrace to view La Alhambra. Antonio has been very helpful.

Accessible to old town centre by walk within 20 minutes. Great location for city walkers who look for a cosy accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLo20120927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Montes Claros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Montes Claros

Property: Solar Montes Claros
Address: Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solar Montes Claros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse Solar Montes Claros is located in the heart of the Albayzin, the old arab quarter in Granada. Perched on a hillside overlooking the city, this neighbourhood has preserved its Andalusian cultural heritage. It boasts unique views that can be enjoyed from the tranquility of its timeless streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Solar Montes Claros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Montes Claros Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing