We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hostel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
Ranked #10 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I love it.. It's a friendly hostel and good location.. feels like home.. all staff members are very friendly and helpful.. It has many common area.. you can meet other guests and make friends.. There's basic breakfast (bread + coffee-tea) for free.. you also can cook your meals by yourself at the kitchen..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ardinakartika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

It´s a very friendly hostel in a wonderful location (right in the Arab old town) with a great common area (a trea house, hamocks, chillout room). There´s basic breakfest in the morning for free (you can buy an extra breakfest for 1.5€), computers to use and you get to see how the houses in the neighbourhood look from the inside. I enjoyed my stay very much and would fully recommend it to backpackers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorrainPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia S, Owner at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Guau! what a good description. Thanks a lot for commenting and sharing your feedback. Hope you can come to stay with us again and write about the new kitchen and the new rooms ;) Hugs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great hostel in the heart of el albacin. Very friendly, helpful staff, with loads of local knowledge, and a relaxed atmosphere. Great place to meet people as a solo traveler, although i did find i was about a decade older than the majority of backpackers! Lovely food served at reasonable price. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

este hostel es fantastico. very fun, the staff is the best, wonderfully relaxed environment in a very quiet area of the albaicin. I would recommend it highly to anyone who is travelling in Granada. The tiki bar and daily dinners in the garden terrace were economical and delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was impressed by the area the hostel was in but what made my stay at Makuto special was the people working there. Although I was staying there by myself I was made to feel welcome and a part of the hostel. The staff were not only very helpful with any enquiries but also with having a wee chat now and again without rushing off to do more important things. Whilst staying there they put me in contact with a bike hire / guide who came to the hostel and dropped me off at the door again. I had a really nice stay and will use the hostel again as there is still so much to explore.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank IanGreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Friendly staff, awesome people, great atmosphere.
The rooms are comfortable, but don't have any space to just sit, so everyone hangs in the common areas - which is great! The hostels also has a bar.
The atmosphere is very relaxed. Fun to come back to in the end of the day, or to stay and spend the day :)
Go to the walking tour - Richard will take you up to the caves, to meet people who live there. Super interesting.
Amazing place, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

One of the best hostels I have been to and Super Great and friendly stuff ! And the walking Tour with the caves ... Amazing! And they Cook real Good Food :) Its vegie friendly but tastes Super Nice all in all very recommendable !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redcoloredbluebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#23 of 122 in Granada
791 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,258 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Realejo - San Matias
Granada Inn Backpackers
Granada Inn Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Granada
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makuto Guesthouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makuto Guesthouse Hostel

Address: Calle Tina 18 | Barrio Albaicin, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range: $24 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Makuto Guesthouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tired of crappy accommodations and impersonal hotels? Come stay in our backpacker 's hostel and enjoy a new concept of lodging. Hammocks - Chill Out area - Tree House - Wifi and Internet - Kitchen - Bar - Patio - BBQ and Lots of fun! Makuto Guesthouse Hostel is a charming historic mansion located in the oldest and most attractive neighborhood of Granada, the Albaicin. Moroccan markets, sunny plazas, amazing viewpoints ... Come and discover the perfect mix of classic Moorish architecture with a unique touch of character; find yourself in a relaxing and informal atmosphere, perfect for independent travelers. Loved by travelers for its location, personality and the most friendly, relaxed and chilled out atmosphere. Our friendly and multi-lingual hostel staff will welcome you and provide best tips for you to experience the life of Granada outside of the typical 'tourist attractions'. Makuto Guesthouse Hostel Granada offers a home away from home and we'd love to have you join our backpacker's family. Come and stay with us. Turn your trip into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Makuto Guesthouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing