We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Bodegas Espadafor

Bodegas Espadafor
Ranked #109 of 1,498 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Awsome place, excellent food, warm hospitality...only one thing is not ok: it's too far away from our house in Italy!!! :-)))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meggherita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    98
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great tapas,”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I always take my visitors to this place. It is an old family run bar very popular with the locals. I was surprised to read a reviewer here saying they heard more English in this bar than anywhere else in Spain. In my experience this is not the case. Few tourists find their way here, tucked away on the corner of the far end of Gran Via from Plaza Nueva. My veggie husband loves the deep fried camembert while my choice is the ox steak or the house speciality of spit roast pork. Portions are big and prices cheap. More importantly it still feels like a Spanish bar, getting harder to find as so many bars convert to modern, trendy and soul- less places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best in all of Spain”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had just one day in Granada and almost didn't make it here for dinner as it was still closed when we arrived. After waiting and walking around we still barged in 15 minutes before opening time and were very warmly welcomed. Bodegas is as authentic as you get and has been run by the family for over 100 years! The current owner Miguel realized just how hungry ( no lunch) and thirsty we were and food appeared at the table within minutes - a rarity in Spain - and moreover this was a free tapas that was so delicious that we shamefacedly asked for more. Ask for the lovely honeyed Moscatel or the lighter Palido. It comes from barrels aged and dark. Every SINGLE dish was unique and tasty. The most amazing was beans - broad beans - with ham and egg yolks - seemingly innocuous but a match made in heaven.
You can safely leave yourself in the hands of the restaurant staff - they guide you to the best and most suited to your taste and inclination.
Service was warm and genuine and we spent a good 15 minutes going through old photographs of Bodega. We ate, drank, got very very happy, broke a glass, spilled some sherry but not a frown.
Gazpacho arrived on the house. The spilled sherry was replaced gratis! After all the eating and drinking (8 people) the bill was €72.
Viva la Bodegas Espadafor!
Don't leave Granada without going here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gippsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The most efficient tapas in Granada”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The bar is beautifully decorated (think traditional Andalucian tiling) with a lovely atmosphere. Try and get a seat at the bar if possible, it just feels more authentic. We had some drinks and got some delicious free tapas. We then tried some of the sherry (sitting in huge barrels behind the bar) and it was delicious (and of course bought us some more tapas!).

The bill came to & Euros. Mental. Plus, the barman was possibly the most efficient man on the planet. It's worth going for that fact alone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank setaylor175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Scotchland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just had a drink”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Popped into this bar as it looked nice and was very close to our hotel,
Lots of pictures on the walls showing you the bars history.
Drinks were nice and not expensive, bar staff were very helpful and nothing was a bother. It was after 10PM when we went and it was not busy so can't comment how it would be earlier or during the day but worth dropping in for a drink.
I had not heard of this place before entering but enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartan_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodegas Espadafor also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Bodegas Espadafor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing