We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, average food”

Restaurante Colonia
Ranked #287 of 701 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Price range: $4 - $20
Restaurant details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Handy location, average food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant on the Avda Jesus Santos Rein is conveniently located near the train station and is a good spot for people watching. The service is quite prompt, with an initially surly waiter who yells out the orders to the kitchen - although he is friendly to those who appear to be regular customers. Based on the decor I had lowered my expectations as to the food quality and they were matched. I had the steak special and it was a bit tough but a reasonable portion. Other dishes that i saw served also appeared a good size customers seemed happy. Wine by the glass is ok value. At 9pm the place was about half-full. Not the worst reataurant in this town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimoR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    34
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torremolinos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Quel Surprise"”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Good food, good service. Surprisingly cheap for location. Drink wine, not beer. Beer is V. expensive, wine good value (By comparison!)

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Poor quality food”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Average service, not a bad location. Food was poor, tasteless and took a lot of chewing. Will not be returning. I don't expect Haute Cuisine in Torremolinos but considering how long the restaurant has been there I expected better.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This place had an excellent waitress, she was polite, helpful and had a sense of humour. I enjoyed this restaurant, it was close to the hotel and all amenities, and the meals were reasonably priced. The drinks were a little on the expensive side, your looking at 4€ for a coke, but a steak is 6€? Shame about that but overall enjoyed the meals everytime we visited!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyUk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
935 reviews
556 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
“Poor restaurant”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Went to this 'Mexican restaurant ' on our 1st night in Torremolinos as it was across from the train station. It was pretty grim . The swordfish was quite nice but everything else was poor. My order of chill con carne came as a chicken burrito( and a very bad chicken burrito at that) when I said I hadn't ordered that I was rudely told that it was chilli con carne and that the chilli was inside the burrito- strange!. I couldn't eat it - awful. They don't accept credit cards . Lots of better places to eat with nicer staff nearby so give Colina a miss.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Colonia also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Colonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing