We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's friendly, has all the basics, is comfortable and convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Plazamar
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I spent six nights here with some friends in May/June 2010. The location is perfect for the beach as it's right on the beach-front. The hotel entrance opens onto a section of Carihuelas main square.

The rooms are quite small but contain a comfortable bed, a TV, air conditioning, a modern bathroom and a small kitchen area. All rooms also have a balcony. Half the rooms have a sea view whilst the others overlook the small but busy square in Carihuela. Because of the location, the rooms overlooking the square are more noisy although it's more of a pleasant buzz (think busy restaurants rather than noisy bars or clubs). The kitchen area has a fridge, cupboards, two hotplates as well as a kettle and crockery/cutlery. It's a little dated but more than sufficient for preparing snacks and simple meals.

The owners and staff are really friendly and helpful. Although there isn't always someone on site, it's easy to get hold of someone if needs be.

In short, if I ever come back to this part of the world, I wouldn't think twice about booking into this place again! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adam998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Apartamentos Plazamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

Good communication with the staff. We were travelling from Granada and were able to arrange via mobile a time to meet for the key collection. No problems there.

The room was clean, modern and airy. Kitchen area was a wee bit small, but not a problem. Still managed to cook some food on the two ring hob. Shower room was a decent size. Good balcony too, with table and chairs.

Air con/ heating which was beneficial. Also, a TV with european channels; this didn't work properly, but the staff tried their best and said they would get technicalhelp later. I advised it was OK; we were only there two days and there was well functioning WiFi.

Ideally located in the heart of La Carihuela, at the Poseidon fountain. Excellent beach front views, and to the back, the views are on to the square/ Casa Juan restaurant.

Best part: location and friendliness of staff.

Worst part: Can't really put anything.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElCartoharvetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Spotless comfortable and well positioned apartments in Carihuela. Sea view was just perfect and worth the extra money. Lobby staff very helpful in event of airport delays from air traffic problems. Apartment cooking facilitie small but shop around for reasonable well priced restaurants off the prom. First time at these apartments but will return as ideal for the independant traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrixhamColey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I stayed with a friend at these apartments in March. They are studios and we rented one each because we wanted the space! They were very nice. Quite small and the bathroom is quite small - but spotless and with a strong shower and plenty of hot water. We booked rooms overlooking the beach which is a wonderful view. I had a double room with a double bed which was very comfortable. There are minimal facilties for self catering - kettle, toaster, plates cup and they supply tea towel and washing up liquid. There is a good supply of towels although the maid does not come every day. Reception is only manned for set hours during the day but this did not bother us. You get a key to the frontdoor so you can do your own thing. The taxi driver did not know the apartments so took us to the Carihuela put as we had stayed in that area before we found our way easily. On the return the receptionist will phone for a taxi and they meet you at the chemist which is just up the road. There is also an internet cafe near there where you can check in for your flights etc. There is meant to be internet access in the apartments but we did not take laptops. The receptionsists - two nice young ladies were very friendly and helpful and so was the maid. The Carihuela is lovely but at that time in March there were not a lot of people around in the evenings and the restaurants were dead but I'm sure that is different in the summer. When booking these apartments you do have to shop around on the various hotel booking sites because prices do vary. We booked with Monarch holidays which gave a good deal. As mentioned we had beachside apartments but there are some on the pedestrian road side with smaller balconies but i should imagine there is more noise as there are quite a few tables and chairs for the various restaurants there. Overall, a very enjoyable stay and we would return there next time we go to the Carihuela.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovetravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed at the Plazamar Apartments in Torremolinos for a week.
The apartments are clean and comfortable.

It wasn't easy for us to find the apartments, so here's a little tip.

If you take a taxi, ask to be dropped at the taxi rank near the Hotel Las Palomas in Carihuela. Then ask someone for directions to the Juan Restaurant, or the square with the Juan restaurant.

The Juan restaurant dominates a small square with a fountain in it and the apartments are there. From the taxi rank, you'll walk in the direction that is away from Torremolinos, for about 3 minutes. You have to walk there because the area is pedestrianised, you can't be dropped off outside.

As others have pointed out in these reviews, there are two sides to these apartments, the side that faces the square and the side that faces the sea.

We were on the side of the hotel that faced the square, which was ok but not as good as the side facing the sea, as you get more sun for longer facing the sea, and it's more private on the balconies.

Facing the square, is much less private and gets shady.

The room itself was fine, there were plates, a kettle, cups and mugs, a few knives, forks and spoons and a bread knife. There was a fridge, a 2 ringed electric hob, a sink, some washing up liquid and a sponge. There were also some pots and pans and a frying pan, and a toaster, just about everything you need for a self catering holiday eating lightly.

A little tip, take your own sugar, salt and oil/vinegar unless you'll have to buy them there in quantities you'll probably end up throwing away at the end of your stay.

We couldn't find a supermarket/convenience store in Carihuela, so we had to buy our supplies form one called SuperSol near the centre of Torremolinos town.

There were 2 odd things about the apartment, first was the size of the sink unit in the bathroom. It was too big for the room, and to get into the bathroom and close the door behind you, you had to step into the shower!

The other thing was that there was no waste bin in the apartment. We had to use plastic carrier bags!

The TV worked fine, the English speaking channel was Sky news. All the other channels were Spanish.

We took a little netbook to keep up with our emails and was given the pass key to access it, but we never managed to get an ip address, which meant we never got to use the free wifi.

The area itself is quite nice, lots of bars and restaurants, and shop after shop selling handbags, jewellery etc.

Eating in the restaurants and cafes on the beachfront could seriously damage your budget if you're on one, prices are getting similar to Paris, and since taxis aren't metered, the obvious rip offs ensue.

Other than that, it's a great safe place to spend some time and i would recommend the apartments as a clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazTorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Plazamar last weekend for my birthday. We booked one of the cheaper rooms overlooking the square, but were given a sea view room when we checked in. The room was clean and well decorated, with a small kitchenette with kettle & toaster.
The balcony was big, and overlooked the promenade and beach. We sat and watched the world go by, many local Spanish out for a walk, and some more energetic ones jogging. Quite a few English, Dutch and Germans as well, as you might expect . Rooms overlooking the square, which is full of tables outside the restaurants so may be noisy in season, also have balconies.
The apartment is very well located for all of the restaurants in La Carihuela, but they were all deathly quiet at night, so lacking in atmosphere. We spoke to some other English visitors who regularly visit, and they said that whilst it was normally quiet in January, it was much quieter than usual. Perhaps the credit crunch is making people think twice about spending money! If you like Spanish tapas, try Mi Bodeguita, in the bigger square about 40 metres away.
We don't believe in visiting the same place twice - the world is too big for that. But if we were to return to the Torremolinos area, we would have no hesitation in booking the Plazamar again. At 38euros per night in January, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_n_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Just arrived back for the Apartamentos Plazamar, in La Carihuela, Torremolinos. Spent 6 days there. These apartments are very nice. We had a view of the lovely square. The reception staff are very nice, helpful and extremely friendly and spoke good English. Some of the apartments face the sea. Apartments were cleaned each day, towels changed every third day and sheets once a week. The place is spotlessly clean. Bathroom a bit on small side but adequate. We have absolutely no complaints about this place. Reception is open for a few hours in the mornings only and you get a key to the front door to let yourself in and out. The weather was absolutely glorious for this time of year. We are going back in February and booked before we left. Next time we requested a sea view which costs €6 per room per night extra. Excellent value apartments in an excellent central location - you just cross the road and you are right on the beach. All in all, a great find. Anne, Dublin 7

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cabello
Hotel Cabello
#25 of 72 in Torremolinos
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Club
Palm Beach Club
#44 of 72 in Torremolinos
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#19 of 72 in Torremolinos
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Plazamar

Address: Lugar Playa de La Carihuela 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $47 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Plazamar 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Apartamentos Plazamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Plazamar Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing