We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed one night of our week stay”
Review of Apartments Buensol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments Buensol
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“stayed one night of our week stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Terrible hotel, dirty, holes in wall bare lights, broken chairs, terrible. Stayed one night then moved to a different hotel. Tried to speak to someone as we left....cud only get a painter. Beautiful location but needs A LOT of work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minniexxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    129
    52
    55
See reviews for
158
108
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
My heart belongs to Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I try and be as honest as possible when I do my reviews, and I try and speak as I find. I also try not to be critical of others reviews as they're probably trying to do the same thing, my experiences of hotels and restaurants are likely to be different to theirs and measures against widely differing standards. While I understand that someone would be irritated by paying a lot of money to stay at the Buensol as part of a package tour, we booked flights and accommodation separately via Alpharooms, and 5 nights here cost us less than £90. We also paid an extra €20 for a late checkout on our last day and spent a very relaxed day in the knowledge that all our stuff was safe and we could have a full day with a shower and some comfort at the end of it. Right, on to the Buensol. It's old, it's tired and it's a bit tatty, but it was cheap and it did what it said on the tin. It's in a prime spot, right next to the marina at Benalmádena at the end of the entire Torremolinos paseo, and what a beautiful walk (or run, we jogged it every morning, there and back) it is.

The hotel staff were very good and the sea-view we had in 203 was lovely. The balcony was a good size and was very very warm, it was out of the wind and in full sun from 10am until 2pm. We spent a lot of time sitting there, warm, toasty and people watching. Although being February, once the sun had gone it did get chilly. We were insanely jealous of people with the pool facing balconies, as they had the afternoon and evening sun. They didn't have the greatest view though/

The rooms were adequately sized, separate kitchen, en-suite bathroom and comfy sofa. It was nothing special, but it was a comfortable base. And the beds were really comfortable.

If you want to watch telly, you have to pay for the remote, otherwise the little flatscreen in the room doesn't work. We didn't bother, we weren't there to watch a little flatscreen. If I'd wanted to watch telly, I would've stayed at home and watched a big one. The a/c, which doubled as the room heater, was offered gratis though. It was needed a couple of nights, it got very cold!

Good bits:
Kitchen - full gas oven and hob. Full sized fridge freezer. It would've done for an extended stay.
Bedroom - really comfy beds
Friendly staff
Great view from suntrap of a balcony
Good location.
Great shower.

Niggles:
No microwave. No biggie, but it would've been welcome.
No toaster, but we managed with the oven grill.
Thin walls. Take earplugs.

The local council have spent a lot of money on the prom, and it was very busy, all day every day, especially for February. Sunday was bedlam. We'd been in Benal for lunch and walked back through the backstreets right to the Rincon del Gourmet roundabout and back along the front to the Buensol. It was absolutely packed with people, as was every chiringuito, which we were pleased to see were still all there. The last time we'd been along this stretch of coast, they were being threatened with closure. Thankfully that never happened.

All in all, you get what you pay for. If you've paid a pittance, this place might surprise you. If you've paid over the odds, it may disappoint. It was a cracking base for a long overdue break and we'd happily go back for more of the same.

Room Tip: Request a sea-view for morning sun, a pool-view for afternoon/evening sun. Take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carlosthejackal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our third stay in the Buensol, first time was 10 years ago. The deterioration is disappointing to see and unfortunately quite noticeable and I can only hope that the owners manage to give it a makeover.

The yellow sunbeds are unusable now as they are so old and droopy and really should be thrown out as they don't help. The beach is just a couple of minutes stroll and we spent the majority of the time there anyway.

Love the balcony overlooking the seafront and the rooms are adequate.

All the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, we had no problems to report thankfully.

We stayed in early October 2012 and were delighted with full sun for the week. The resort was still busy enough but comfortable. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and the walk along the promenade is so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WicklowSunbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the Buensol Apartments this weekend for a long weekend. Although very basic and a bit frayed around the edges the 3 apartments that we had were very clean. Perfectly placed to get to everywhere and an easy walk to the bus stop and supermarkets. The staff were friendly and even when one of our keys snapped in the lock the maintenance guy was there in minutes to sort it out. Would go back for a weekend again and book the Buensol just for the fact that it is so convenient and a real bargain for the price you pay/

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nanook27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Decided to make a return visit to these apartments, at the last minute.

In the last review I spoke about how unfriendly the staff on Reception were and I am happy to report that this time round they were, in the main lovely.

The lady that checked us in was very nice, friendly and smiled. She was also happy to exchange sterling for euros the male staff, however, were fairly friendly but would never change money (one actually said they don't do it).

It was January (out of season) so eveywhere was quiet and we did not experience any noise in the apartments. I can imagine them being noisy during busy periods though.

We were given apartment 208 which has a sea view. It was clean and comfortable and looks like it has recently had a bit of an update. I couldn't get the gas cooker to work and asked reception - within 5 minutes a member of staff came to show me how to use it.

The apartments are first line to the beach. If you go to the beach and turn right then you are 15 minutes walk to Benalmadena marina, turn left and within 20 minutes you are in Torremolinos (dont just stick to the beach - walk through the alleys to see some traditional Spanish shops and restauarants).

Opposite there are a few British bars / restaurants. Rumours is a nice bar as is the one a couple of doors away (but I can't remember it's name).

Overall it is good value budget accomodation, there is a supermarket near the entrance.

Additional costs to be aware of - There is a 50 Euro deposit per apartment on arrival which is refunded on departure. TV remote control costs 30 Euros and the same costs 6 Euros per night.

When in the area of Torremolinos and Benalmadena, beware of pick pockets and muggers. You get them everywhere there are tourists but in Spain the Police are not very helpful when you report it, they just advise you to "make a report".

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 1 to 9 have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my third visit to Buensol and there are very few changes to write about. There is now a flat-screen TV in all rooms, but it will cost you 20€ for the remote control to operate it for a week. And be warned, there are only 3 English-speaking channels available on the analogue network, I didn’t find any on the digital network.

The Spanish smoking ban in public places appears to be a bit of a joke as I saw someone enjoying a smoke in the Buensol bar, and a couple of others nearby, and again smoking in the lifts is all too common.

The hotel next door, Riu Nautilas, is undergoing extensive refurbishment and according to the locals, it will be relaunched as an all-inclusive hotel.

The Half Moon bar and restaurant is now open and being run by the original owners. Personally, I think the chap from Wolverhampton who ran it for 10 years did a far better job; I wouldn’t bother eating there now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyDuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in the middle of november with four other lads, it worked out at £4 each per night which is a bargain whatever the standard of accomodation! Personally i was quite suprised that it was very liveable after reading some reviews on here. I must say that some people annoy me, they pay pennies but expect the hilton, if you want 5 star then pay more. This is a good hotel at a good price and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Barracuda Hotel
La Barracuda Hotel
#39 of 71 in Torremolinos
737 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palm Beach Club
Palm Beach Club
#38 of 71 in Torremolinos
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#49 of 71 in Torremolinos
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Buensol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Buensol

Property: Apartments Buensol
Address: Calle Salvador Allende 35, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Buensol 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Buensol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Buensol Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Apartments Buensol Hotel Torremolinos
Buensol Apartments Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing