We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castillo Santa Clara Hotel
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a studio apartment in the complex, which was good, clean and convenient. There is a pool and a coffee bar by the pool and is generally good value for money. I would recommend this if you can find anyone who will rent you a room in the complex.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ravensworth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went away To Torremolinos , Espana , in the Wintertime..Away from ice, snow and minus 10 and came to The Malaga Aeropuerto in March, very nice and Sunny..Farewell to norsk Wool and Hello to nice dress and High heeled and Palmeras y mucho Flores...Nice people and a very Good Life..Thank you, Mucho Grazias Espana !!!! Bienvenido Sol y Palmeras !!! )))..

Room Tip: IT s a little Importante that you Know , have Seen the place and Know ..Roms on the South Side are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripAdviser226926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Torremolinos was a very pleasant surprise, even in August there were none of the lager louts or football shirt-wearing all-night drinkers I expected! The resort is very Spanish, a wonderful long promenade edged with a wide variety of cafes and fish restaurants and a good beach with plenty of room.
Santa Clara hotel is very tired looking from the outside but our appartment was newly refurbished, cleaned daily (inc fresh linen) and equipped with a fridge, kitchenette, TV and air con.
The balcony overlooked the sea/promenade so was great for an early evening G & T. The pool is large, clean and supervised, although the main pool too deep for non-swimmer children there is a small paddling pool nearby.
Although there are lifts, they do not go all the way down to the beach or up to the pool so there is always another flight to lug your suitcase/buggies.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

Good points of the Castillo de Santa Clara are that It is on the headland which means you can walk to either Bajondillo Beach or Carihuela Beach. Please be aware however that a steep hill or lots of steps have to be negotiated to reach either beach, not bad on the way down but a struggle on the way back. Its position means that most apartments have wonderful sea views. We could not have wished for a better view from our fairly large balcony. The staff who man the office are polite and courteous. (It is worthwhile noting that if you are arriving on a nightflight you should NOT book these apartments, after midnight you will be unable to get your key until 8.00a.m.!!! Getting a taxi if you have to leave before 8.00a.m is also a problem. I had to stand alongside the main road for 40 minutes waiting for a vacant taxi to hail at 7.00 in the morning - there is no receptionist to call one for you). There is a nice pool and an on-site supermarket with limited provisions open from 9.00 a.m to 9.00 p.m.
Downsides of the apartments are the limitations of the reception as outlined above, the whole complex is VERY drab, dark and dated. Our apartment had not been touched since the 1950s. The complex is absolutely huge and is totally unsuitable for those who have mobility problems, the elderly etc... there are steps everywhere and lifts do not service all floors. The apartment was only cleaned once during our stay (6 nights).
Safety deposit boxes are in the reception office and if you have a room on the far side of the building (like us) then a long (and I am not exagerating!) walk to access it was necessary .This was the most inconvenient part of the stay. Although our stay here was OK, we would not stay here again because the negatives outweigh the positives. These apartments are suitable for fit, healthy people who do not mind very basic facilities and enjoy lots of walking, but we could not honestly recommend staying here to people we know, which is always a good test.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hesketh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

Stayed in Torrermolinos many times before close to the Castillo de Santa Clara but stayed there for the first time. stayed in a studio apartment which was clean and spacious with a sizable bathroom which included a bath with over head shower bidet wc and wash basin with a big mirror on the wall. 2 comfy single beds with bed side cabinets a dinning table and a couple of chairs, in the kitchen area which could be closed off behind doors there was a 3 hob electric cooker with a full sized grill and oven ( the facilities in the kitchen area could vary from one apartment to another as talking to other guests some had only a cooker hob no oven or grill some apartments had a kettle others did not ect).

The hotel seemed to be under going a redecorating but did not interfere with our stay. The maid service was 3 times aweek with linen changes I think were 3 times over our 2 week stay. The roof top pool and garden area were very nice with a life guard on duty but we preferred the beach which is just below the hotel accessed by security monitored door leading to steps. The hotel was monitored 24hrs aday by security via cctv safety deposit boxes were available for use which were located in the reception office which was open and manned between 8am 12midnight.

All in all we had a great stay and are hopefully returning next year.
Only one further thing to mention is that its al together suitable for people with walking difficulties due to location (steps and one floor not accessed by lift )

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HolidayAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Torre de la Roca
Apartamentos Torre de la Roca
#37 of 71 in Torremolinos
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Plazamar
Apartamentos Plazamar
#35 of 71 in Torremolinos
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Alegria
Apartamentos Alegria
#52 of 71 in Torremolinos
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Santa Clara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Santa Clara Hotel

Address: Calle Castillo del Ingles 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: $101 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castillo Santa Clara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Castillo Santa Clara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Santa Clara Torremolinos
Castillo Santa Clara Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing