We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carmen Teresa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from 11 nights at this hotel and will definitely be going back. Have been going to Costa del Sol for 15 years now, at least 3 times a year,starting off in Benalmadena, but now always staying in the Carihuela area.Normally stay in El Tiburon in Summer but that hotel has changed hands so we decided to try Carmen Teresa.The hotel is spotless clean and the staff friendly. We only went by the pool once as prefer the beach but did not have trouble getting one of the 10 sunbeds.The gardens at the hotel are well kept and you can always sit there if you couldn't get a bed anyway. Breakfast is continental as this is a proper Spanish hotel, so the people who moan about the food are probably better off staying in England or going to a 'tacky' themed English bar (this is not what we go to Spain for!!!)

Room Tip: Stayed in 209 with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    98
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
43
146
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I can't fault the cleanliness or the beautiful garden of this Hotel. It was somewhat let down by the bar area and sometimes being made to feel as though being a Solo traveller isn't something that the staff seem used to. Noise can be an issue as doors slam and people arguing happens often especially at night. The maid was very friendly and I am very grateful to the staff. Breakfast was the same buffet everyday. I wasn't expecting a Full English or anything (not keen on them first thing) but a little variety would have been good. Free WiFi is available in the bar/lounge area. I would recommend this hotel to couples looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ishimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Me and my boyfriend just arrived back from a week away in this hotel. Hotel was very clean, we had the biggest room in the hotel so were happy about that! Lovely balcony overlooking the pool. Shame that it rained whilst we were there..we found little to do in those days. Only 9 sun beds so beware! I claimed my sunbed at 10 each morning.I think because it was out of season that it wasnt quite as busy.

Flat screen TV on the wall which was nice and good air conditioning. The staff didn't speak very good English..only 1 or 2 did. Beach is a 5 minute walk tops. Beach is very big and long with a strip of restaurants and bars overlooking.

Train station is only a 5 minute walk also (up a hill though) we went to Malaga and were very disappointed, shopping wasn't very good it wasn't very clean or nice.

If you want good shopping go to a place called Plaza Mayor (its one of the stops between torremolinious and Malaga.

If you want Churros there is a place that sells great ones by a cafe called "Euro Cafe"

I found the hotel to always be dead and not many people around. Hotel bar didn't have a good selection and I didn't eat breakfast there after reading the reviews about it on here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went to this hotel for 5 nights early September, Agreed with everyone. Hotel is spotlessly clean. Bedrooms very traditional but with a flat screen tv.(although the pillows were the hardest I have ever had in a hotel) Pick your remote up when you check-in. We had room 309 on the top floor poolside.
Breakfast room was like going back 25 yrs it was so traditional but loved it. Continental breakfast was fine-we took our coffees outside to sit in the gardens it wasnt a problem.
Bar-. really cheap drinks and we cheekily asked for a glass of ice every night to take up to our room to sit on the balcony with our own drinks-this wasnt a problem to the barman/receptionist.
Pool was a welcome change from the beach but yes there are only a few sunbeds but I didnt see anyone reserve them and not use them allday. Just be careful in the pool as it slopes down and is quite slippy but you got used to it.
Supermarket turn right out of hotel door-about 200 yards also really cheap--( nice wine for about £1.20)
Our favourite restaurant was the Italian called Anema O Core its down the restaurant street not on the promenade. Its right opposite a cocktail bar called Mojitos. We went there 3 nights out of 5. Although its Italian they do fab food but NO pizzas so if thats what you expect you wont find any on the menu. Small menu and we tried lots of things and was delighted with everything. Really nice waiter as well-nothing was too much trouble.
We also loved the cocktails and the atmosphere at the Playa Miquel Beach Club which is to the left when you get on the promenade. Brill sunbeds and daybeds on their bit of the beach as well. The staff wander around and you canstop them and ask them to bring you drinks and food if you want.
At lunchtime we ate at the Chirringuitos beach bars and had tapas. If you havent had tapas before its best just to pick 2 dishes first and when they give them to you then ask for 2 more etc see how you get on cos if you tell them every tapas you want-- they all come together!!

We will most definateltly will be returning to La Carihuela and the Carmen Teresa.

Enjoy...............we did

Room Tip: 309 top floor poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull, yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited Hotel Carmen Teresa in September 2012. Out first impression was how very clean it was, the whole hotel was spotless and a credit to the staff.
It is situated in a very good position just a couple of streets back from the main Carihuela area
and also near the marina.
It has a nice garden and small pool , we met some really nice people from around the UK at the hotel and had some good times chatting round the pool.
The only negative we can mention is the bedroom walls are rather thin, but don't let that put you off.
Unfortunately we had to cut short our trip due to family illness back in the UK, but would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s_and_j_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here from 3rd September to 12th September 2012, loved the hotel, it was absolutely fantastic, booked a twin room and had been upgraded to a triple room... room was very big and bathroom and shower was great, air conditioning also very good and balcony was very good size with tables and chairs.

Location of hotel is also great bus stops directly outside hotel for both directions, 1.45 euros will take you to torremilinos centre and benalmadina centre which are both only minutes away, or 6 euros in a taxi, (its 4.50 euros just to get in).

The beach is more or less a 5 minute walk straight ahead when you leave the hotel, down hill.

Visit battery park, and correfour mall which is about 10 minute walk from hotel (uphill) and the train station is about 10 minutes aswel, this is montemor alto and you can get to and from there straight from the airport and 1.65 euros from airport to montemar alto and it takes 14 minutes and trains are every 20 minutes.

Breakfast is basic... you'll be sick of toast but it sets you up until lunch anyway. we found the 10 sunbeds not to be a problem and never had any issues getting a sunbed (watch out for those who put a towel down early doors... not on).

Bar is ok they have limited food... supermarket is only 2 minute walk away turn left on exit of hotel and walk straight and you'll see it on your left.

Make sure you visit Porto Marina in Belmadina, Torremilinos Centre, Beachfront and Battery Park where you can go on a boat around the wee lake for a euro for half an hour and then go to the top of the tower (there is a lift inside) and look at the views across the city for no cost. It was fantastic and battery park is on Trip Advisor as one of the things to do in Torremilinos at number one or something.

Daytrips to Marbella, and Calahonda all easy and there is a lovely big shoppping mall with big cinema, food courts and lots and lots of shops in Fuengorola, which again is only about 20 minutes away, the beach front there is also worth a visit.

You just can't get lost, and the price of drink is good aswel... Enjoy..

Room Tip: On booking I requested in the wee box, 1) Pool View 2) Balcony and 3)Low Floor and got all three, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

After checking out the reviews on Trip Advisor for the Hotel Carmen Teresa we booked it for a weeks stay on a bed and breakfast basis. It said that it was a small friendly hotel, the staff were freiendly, the hotel was clean but the rooms were on the small side,but we were only looking for somewhere to lay down our heads at night.

When we got there everything that was said on Trip Advisor checked out so we were not too bothered "then breakfast time came", i couldn't beleive it, when it said bed and breakfast basis we were looking forward to bacon, egg, sausage the likes you would get in any other 3 Star hotel what i didn't realise was that you had to make yourself. The fruit cocktail looked like it came out of a tin, the boiled eggs were so cold it felt like they were kept in the fridge overnight, the toast took about 10 mins to makeand as for something hot you had to cook your own and it was only bacon, we managed to suffer it for two days befire deciding to have breakfast elsewhere.

This was supposed to be a 3 star Hotel, it felt more like a 3 star Hostel than a Hotel,everytime we went back to the hotel it was deserted, the only time you saw anybody was at breafast time or when we came back in to go to our bed.

Sorry ,yes the hotel was small and nice and clean but thats as much you say about it and i don't think i would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicanwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#14 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arcos de Montemar
Arcos de Montemar
#25 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Teresa

Property: Hotel Carmen Teresa
Address: Avenida Carlota Alessandri 180, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen Teresa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Carmen Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Teresa Torremolinos
Carmen Teresa Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Carmen Teresa Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing