We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with a friendly welcome”
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kristal
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with a friendly welcome”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Just got back last night, very glad to sleep in my own bed as the beds in the hotel were far from comfortable very hard with pillows that were too saggy! Sheets were changed once in the week we were there. Clean towels provided every day which were lovely and soft and white ! Also shampoo shower gel and soap every other day! Rooms were large enough for us, only two power points. view from window was the room opposite about 6 foot away!

The food was basic and we ate breakfast every day which, apart from the rolls which were very very hard, there was a choice of meats, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, pate, yoghurt, and cakes and biscuits which were very nice , fruit juices,tea and very nice coffee! The evening meals were not really to our taste but were adequate, mosly frozen veg chips and meat/fish, soup, melon , ice cream and fruit ,

The staff were all really friendly and pleasant and they were never rude as some other reviews have said! a lot of the other guests were eldery spanish people who were not very sociable with the english guests and lots of very friendly english people who gathered on the roof terrace in the morning and evening exchanging tips on where to go and what to see which was good !

The main square with all the pubs shops and restaraunts is two minutes from the hotel and the beach which was excellent was a 10 minute walk down a windy lane of steps with shops on either side so plenty of excuses to stop for a breather on the way back up !

If you want to travel to other places the main road with all the buses is only a couple of minutes away and also the train which covers the rest of the Costa del Sol and both are amazingly cheap compared to our public transport ! We used the train to get from the airport and back which was much cheaper than the transfer we could of booked!

We found a lovely place to eat just off the main street in a little square called 'La Plazita'
run by a young Dutch couple, the food there was delicious and not expensive at all , if you go try the shrimps cooked in vodka and cream mmmm !!!

Finally I would say if the hotel could replace the beds with more comfortable ones I would definitely go back ! We did not pay a lot for our holiday and it was a very enjoyable week!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpmachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    92
    112
    56
    103
See reviews for
55
166
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

well we have just got back and will not fault this hotel at all it was a brilliant location and even thou the food is basic it was not that bad it was a basic continental breakfast but that was fine a few people moan about it and they want the bacon and eggs but you are in spain and if you want a greasy fry up go back home. The Evening meals were fine and the staff were really nice and friendly. This hotel is lovely and i for one will go back the reviews make it sound like a right dump its not its clean and tidy and i was more than happy i would go back to this hotel i just feel sad it get a bad write up when i feel it should not .... its not a five star but its not a dump either x THANKS Hotel Kristal will see you again soon x Michelle and James Leeds

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire, scotland
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

My boyfriend and i have just returned from a four night stay at the Kristal Hotel. We travelled to Costal del Sol in June and have done for the past five years, we enjoyed it so much we booked to come back in September - we will return to Costa del Sol but never ever again to this hotel!!
After reading mixed reviews from previous travellers, we thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt, if this is what you are thinking please don't!! You will be very disappointed!
The bed was made daily (no change of sheets) and clean towels daily. The beds were like camp beds - very uncomfortable. I don't think the floor had been brushed or mopped this year - i couldn't walk about in my bare feet, i always had my flip flpos on! The bathroom had a shower curtain which was mouldy and smelly, so much so we used to hang it out the bath!!
You may be reading this thinking, you get what you pay for...yes you do, but how much does it cost for some bleach and elbow grease?
All hotel staff we came into contact with were very pleaseant and helpful. Our flight was later on in the evening and the staff were only to happy to store our luggage.
The overall cleanliness of the hotel is a big let down and certainly doesn't merit a 3 star!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrshire97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
southend on sea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel kristal in torremolinos, hotel very basic but clean, rooms were cleaned daily and clean towels as well. the food was better than we had expected with a soup or salad starter a meat or fish course and vegatables then cake, fruit and icecream, not gourmet but very acceptable. this hotel is situated in the centre of town with an enormous variety of bars shops and restaurants on its doorstep. not quite so good if you want a beach holiday as although its not so far from the beach it is very high so be prepared for a bit of a hike on the upside the downward {or upward} trek is paved and shop lined with many bars to rest in. this hotel is 2 minutes from the station and cost about 1.40 from the airport which takes approx 20 mins and is very very easy, it is also 2 mins from bus stop if you would prefer which costs about the same but takes longer. all in all i would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting a hotel for a few days and if its the right price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

booked a four night stay,half board.Being our silver wedding anniversary,stayed one night,food could of been out of another hotels swill bin which we refused .A small and dark room with no view two small POW beds with clean bedding, situated down a very narrow hallway. would'nt reccomend to an enemy never mind a friend

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, there is no problem, It is very clean everywhere, and the staff changed our room for one with a balcony the day after we arrived,
On the down side, I wouldn't bother with the restaurant, the breakfast is non existant, unless you just like toast with a bit of cheese and ham, No fruit or hard boiled eggs, Fruit juice is that powder mixed with water, coffee is good,
Considering the amount of brits staying there, I thought they could have at least one english channel on the room TV instead of just 6 spanish.
Beware if hiring a car, we drove from the airport, and spent over an hour trying to find somewhere to park, in the end the hotel stamped a card which gave us a deal with the Car-For supermarket oppisite and paid 34 euros for 8 days using a special card to get in and out of the car park.
Dont use the entrance from the main road as it is a long walk down an alley to the hotel entrance,
there is another way which takes you straight into the main square and all the shops, bars, and restaurants etc.
also the hotel is advertised with WiFi, there is no WiFi, but they do have 2 computers for public use, at 25 minutes for one euro.
Must admit we did miss a fridge for the gin and tonics etc.
brian129@ntlworld.com

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wave129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

we read negative reviews here and were pleasantly suprised. The Kristal is in the middle of town surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. Probably not the best for kids but we enjoyed our stay very much. We asked for and got a room with a balcony and the breakfast buffet was very good. Enjoyed having a drink on the roof terrace. We went out of season and the hotel was about half full.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
#64 of 71 in Torremolinos
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
N.CH Hotel
N.CH Hotel
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 71 in Torremolinos
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#50 of 71 in Torremolinos
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Costa Hotel
Royal Costa Hotel
#61 of 71 in Torremolinos
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Calle Cauce s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Kristal Hotel Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing