We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get wha you pay for”
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kristal
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Great Grimsby, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get wha you pay for”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After reading the reviews for this hotel after booking I was dreading my stay at the kristal. We booked for a cheap week away and the hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is a typical town centre hotel which suffers from a lack of pool and balconies however the rooms are of a good quality, the staff are excellent and the towels were changed daily and beds made. One word of caution don't book meals he they were shocking, especially breakfast, we ended up eating out every morning!!!
Cheap, basic, clean, great staff but should be regarded as a two star hotel because of the lack of pool, balconies and decent food!!!!!

Room Tip: None, all rooms are basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    89
    109
    56
    103
See reviews for
56
161
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Me and 3 friends stayed here in August and we thought the hotel was going to be ok but it quickly proved to be not very good. Our rooms were not cleaned and our towels were never changed despite requesting it so. The reception desk would not give us 2 keys to the room. The hotel was noisy with 2 fire alarms in one night. The vending machines were broken and the wifi signal was so weak it really didn't work.

Breakfast was ok but basic, very basic with tea and coffee etc coming from vending machines of very poor quality.

The hotel had a few bad smells as many of the rooms looked out onto the shopping centre and the local restaurants.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were the same so it was hard to tell. All of them seemed very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDUinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I booked with low cost holidays a hotel room with balcony or terrace for 4 nights. On my arrival I was infomed that five out of 127 rooms have balcony and the receptionist blamed low cost holidays for misinformation. In my opinion this accomodation was no more than a hostel and definitely not 3 star. As my husband is disabled the only access to the hotel was down a dank alleyway between shops which smelt of urine and clear signs of homeless people living in abandoned shops. The surface of which was quite unsuitable for a wheelchair.
The front entrance had no access for disabled people as there were far too many steps.
The picture shown on low cost holidays website, which you would assume is the entrance to the hotel in fact was a cafe and a pizzeria. I would not recommend this to anybody.

Room Tip: Only if you are a back packer would this suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

You get what you pay for. As mentioned before do not expect a 5* hotel for a 3* price.

plus:
- Rooms are basic but air conditioned
- location great: train and bus station in minutes (no need to pay for transfer as train from the airport to hotel is perfect and cheap), to the beach 10-15min nice walk
- breakfast and dinner variety ok (at dinner 2 kind of meat, fish, vegetables, chips, soup, lots of salads, bread, great dessert options), (at breakfast different toast, rolls, cold meat variety, cheese, hard boiled eggs, muffins, yoghurt, jams, honey, variety of juices and coffee)
- luggage storage possibilities after check out (possible to pay for longer staying in the room)
- big restaurant, ice cream bars and entertainment choice around the hotel

cons:
- staff! Except from friendly cleaning lady and helpful breakfast waiter (male one!), the others try occasionally but most of the time try to avoid small talk or even speaking to the guests at all
- roof terrace and lounge close at 11pm no matter if guests are still there (asked to leave)
- missed like other guests the roof pool as seen on pictures of other guests
- extra payment for remote control, safe
- prices for drinks at the restaurant quite expensive (1,5l water for €2)

Room Tip: You cannot request special rooms not even a double (not a twin). It is all subject to availability o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AuM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Agree with all the other recent reviews. Next time if I stayed here I would go room only and eat out at the merry friar or Irish bars for breakfast ( E3.90 for basic full English at merry friar) and many other good cafes and restaurants for dinner nearby instead. Best value trip was bus to Mijas from bus stop a few minutes away from hotel. Takes about an hour and only costs 1.60 each way. Great way to see the area and air conditioned etc. and fantastic views of coast. Nice restaurant near tourist office in Mijas with great views. Train is great way to get about as well as the bus. Very good value. Benalmadena Puerto marina is a nice place to visit as well. Come to think of it maybe we should have gone there instead. Tivoli World was a good evening out, but get a band if going on the rides. Overall the Hotel is basic, cheap, clean. I hired a car from the reception company on the counter to go to Gibralter and they were very good value for money and delivered and collected the car. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the inside seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have just come back from the Hotel Kristal in Torremolinos and I have to say it's not the best of Hotels especially if you are looking for a pool and or gardens. Although to be fair the Hotel is very clean, the staff very freindly and the food is fine (no english breakfast, ham & cheese tosties for us)! All in all for the money we paid it was very good value for money we checked out the hostels and they were more expensive at room only! I suppose it all comes down to how much you have paid to if it worth it or not we were £550.00 all in for thr 2 of us including flights so we can't moan. If you want something cheap and cheerful and smack in the centre you can't go far wrong! Compliments to the staff :O)

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony when booking as there are only 6 out of 129 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just arrived back from a week half board at the Kristal, the room was pretty small but ok, no kettle, fridge or any kind of extras like that. we looked at the solarium the sun beds were really dirty but used them a couple of days with a towel over them, got the best suntan of the holiday up there! Getting half board at this hotel was a terrible idea, don't do it, the food is all terrible! The "free wifi" never worked for the week and hadn't for a long time before we arrived. no pool at the hotel, and in the mornings/at night you get woken up a lot by people coming in/leaving, that was really annoying.

The positives, right in the heart of torremolinos with shops and bars everywhere and right next to the train station which you can get anywhere up to fuengerola on! not much in torremolinos for young people, no clubs, at least we couldn't find any! the rooms were very clean and we had our towels changed daily by the maid, only negatives was the maids didn't change them/leave us toilet roll on a couple of days.

Despite all the negatives we paid just over 10euros per person, per night. which is so cheap! I'd recommend this hotel to people travelling or only staying for a few days, just not to 1-2 week holiday makers, and don't book half board, enjoy the local restaurants! are is great for families and couples!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
N.CH Hotel
N.CH Hotel
#42 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
#65 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arcos de Montemar
Arcos de Montemar
#25 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Princesa Solar
Hotel Princesa Solar
#30 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Calle Cauce s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Kristal Hotel Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing