We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible management...gone off the rails”
Review of Shenanigans

Shenanigans
Ranked #12 of 56 Nightlife in Torremolinos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible management...gone off the rails”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

unfortunately this pub has gone downhill with the new management Richard, who despite being the only Irish thing left in the place,as most of the staff are eastern European, is very rude and does not seem to have a clue how to run a pub.

Refusing to turn on the air con when it is 35 degrees is ridiculous and even though the terrace is very nice, we encountered beer at ridiculous prices and also the flattest beer we drank all holiday.
infact we didn't drink it, we left half of our drinks and this was only after the manager was very rude to us.. when we told him that one of his bottled beers was out of date..poor customer service..avoid

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank barcab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    7
    5
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid Avoid Avoid”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our second time to Torremolinos, having been there previously two years ago during which time we visited Shenanigans every night for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the craic and the pint.

However, we visited again in June of this year and there is a change of ownership. The new owner, Richard, was extremely rude and obnoxious when, unfortunately, five of us (all in our late sixtys) decided to watch one of the world cup matches at the pub. We all bought a drink and were told by the barman that we could sit outside and watch the match (as we had done the previous night). The owner, Richard, came out and said he was going to switch off the television as we were not allow to watch it outside, when I explained that we had done so the previous night, he asked was I arguing with him and just switched it off - there were at least 10 other people watching the match and we were all perplexed as we had watched it no problem the night before. The five of us just finished our pints and left.

The same night when one of our friends was ordering a round of drinks he made a mistake and Richard quite rudely told him "you made the mistake so you may drink it". Needless to say we never visited again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Suirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent bar both day and night”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week in Torremolinos with a group of friends, Shenanigans was the perfect place for a refreshing drink during the day and the nighttime entertainment was really brilliant too, great atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The World Cup on the big screen was a great touch.

Helpful?
5 Thank AnnieBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent location for a afternoon drink, friendly staff and a lovely balcony to sit and watch the world go by, just across the road from the beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BJ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“rude management”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

drop in to this pub last week to watch a match there was 3 of us and watched first half inside and bought a few rounds then at half time the rest of our family came and as they had
kids stayed outside but got a drink i went out to them and was talking to them when the owner came out and asked me did i not want a drink as if i had just came in to watch the match and not buy anything he said this in a rude way then one of the kids was tieing there lace on the chair he went mad and ask was he going to clean the chair as he had his foot on it.we left straight away and went to the bar below them the shamrock bar where we were made very welcomed and they do lovely food.so i would not recomemend this bar

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rob33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenanigans also viewed

 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Shenanigans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing