We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value Caroline Cork Ireland.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
579 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Good value Caroline Cork Ireland.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our first time staying at hotel Roc Lago Rogo. We requested a fifth floor sea view. It cost us seventy euro extra but it was worth it. Room was very clean and airy. The hotel is ideally located so near the beach and the shops and bars. The television only had sky news in english which was a bit dissappointing. Breakfast was good. Evening meals not so good . There wasnt a great choice. Chips were soggy and tasteless and vegetables were cold. The pool was empty everyday . No sunbeds around the pool as advertised. Staff were lovely and helpful. They work really hard.Drinks in the bar very expensive. Entertainment very poor. One thing lacking in the room is tea and coffee making facilities. We will definately stay again as it is so convenient.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms with a sea view are worth the extra seventy euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    209
    129
    43
    20
See reviews for
180
307
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co Louth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hi. Have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Roc Lago Rojo in Torremolinos. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Were greeted at check in by two very friendly receptionists called Hilde and and Petra who made us feel very welcome and provided us with a lot of information for our stay. It was a delight to be welcomed in this manner having experienced the opposite in some of the bigger hotels in the area. We actually booked into this hotel as a second choice as our preferred choice was not available. As it turned out it was lucky for us as we found this hotel more friendly, welcoming and better overall and will be our choice when we return.
The room was a seaview which cost 10 euro extra per night but was worth it. The room was very spacious and uncluttered and the balcony was large.
The breakfast was very nice and varied with plenty of choices.
The location is excellent just steps away from the main promenade and the beach. The pool was smaller than usual but adequate. There is a fantastic roof top sun terrace with a gorgeous sea view and sunbeds, also a bar.
All in all this was a great place to stay and would recommend it highly. Many thanks to Hilde and Petra who were excellent at their jobs.

Room Tip: Fifth floor seaview room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I too am currently stopping at this Hotel and have done every year for the last ten or so.
Whilst the standards at the Hotel remain very high, I have noticed this year small adjustments have been made, presumably as a cost-cutting exercise.
The first thing I noticed was a total lack of accessories in the bathroom - sewing kit, comb, shower cap, etc.
Older members of staff have been replaced by younger ones as a cheaper option and waiters do not appear at breakfast until after 9-00 am, causing a lack of clean tables.
The main difference is the noticeable drop in the quality of the food. Whilst the choice is still excellent, it is the use of cheaper cuts of meat, cheap fish such as Panga and Tilapia that have caught my attention.
Having said that, I would still recommend a visit here.
I will certainly return.
The location is fantastic for beach lovers, shoppers and restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are staying here at the moment and finding the hotel very good value for money.everthing is very clean and we'll looked after. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food good and hot and the wine is excellent with dinner.close to the beach pool small so really hotel is set for a beach holiday. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoganas, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Roc Lago Rojo is a small, basic-needs hotel two blocks from the ocean promenade and about 10-15mins walk to the city center of Torremolinos. It's proximity to the beach and the beachfront shopping and restaurants is a plus - the fact that it's located on a relatively calm (during the days) city street is anther. True, it gets fairly noisy at night from the local pubs, but if you wear earplugs, it's quite ok.

The rooms are quite big, and slightly strange, as they are divided into two parts, divided by a small stair. At night, this can end in broken limbs, as the beds are placed really closely to the stairs down to the sitting area/balcony (and mini fridge).

Rooms with balconies facing the beach (sorry, no ocean view unless you're at the top floor) get pretty cold during the day as they are facing east, and have no sun from about 2pm.

Beds are terrible - creaky and with springs piercing through the fabric. The walls are also very thin, so you will hear your neighbors coming back from dinner/partying. Wear earplugs!

The food is basic. The restaurant have themed evenings, but the food then doesn't vary that much from the usual stuff. It tastes good, and there's alaways a choise between meat, poultry and fish.

Rooftop sundeck is quite popular, and the sunchairs get filled pretty quickly. Have in mind, this is basically like laying on a frying pan - if you get woozy easily, stay away! The parasolls offer shade, but it's still really hot up there. But, if you want to get tanned and don't mind the heat, the sunchairs are soft and there's a bar and a hottub here.

The pool in the garden is... well, as it's placed right by the bar outdoor seating and offer no sunchairs, it's quite useless. It looks nice, but don't expect to be able to lay by the pool for the day. Take your towel to the beach, rent a chair for €5 there instead.

Two entrances/exits - main exit to the street and pool exit (you need your key card to open this one) towards the beach.

Really clean hotel, though, with very nice and service-minded staff. If you don't want to spend a lot of accomodations and are a heavy sleeper, this place is recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the beach have no afternoon sun Only rooms on the 5th floor have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzie_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Lovely stay in the costa de sol , I stayed on the 5th floor which had a mountain view side, lots of sun in the balcony from lunch until late evening! Only downside was I found the room very hot at night as the air conditioning wasn't very good and just blew the warm air around the room! I had breakfast at the hotel which was very good lots of choice , the roof terrace was lovely and so was the pool, drinks where not too expensive either. Staff very helpful and organised my taxi pick up time for the airport with no problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just back from this hotel stayed a week ,we have stayed here before the staff are all very pleasant
the breakfasts are okay you will allways find something, the rooms are fab very clean and have a mini fridge the only english tv station is sky news !!! the food in the evenings not so good
the main thing about this hotel is its location in the middle of the town.
To get to this hotel when you leave malaga airport cross the road to the train station get a ticket to torremolinos when you arrive in torremolinos walk staight ahead cross the road walk to your left and straight down the hill for about 10min keep looking down the side streets and youll see it on your left train ticket e3.40 for two

Room Tip: most of the rooms are in the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debby1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#22 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Property: Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing