We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-cruise break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pre-cruise break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights prior to a cruise from Malaga so the hotel was part of a package but we thought it was an excellent deal. Really liked the room which was split-level with a lounge area. It was kept spotless with towels changed every day. We were half board which is not our usual choice and dinner was a buffet which is also not our favourite dining but we found the food very good with plenty choice and kept well stocked. The public areas were very nice and the staff very helpful and pleasant. Nice rooftop solarium. The hotel is well positioned near the beach and promenade so convenient for walking into Torremolinas or Benalmadena. La Carihuela is a lovely quiet part to stay in with lots of bars and resturants nearby. Would definitely go back,

Room Tip: Rooms onto the street get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheenaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    216
    135
    47
    20
See reviews for
183
322
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Have recently stayed 5 nights here before going on cruise. Was disappointed.Good position for exploring town and promenade of Torremolinos, but definitely not worthy of a 4 star rating.The food both at breakfast and dinner was inferior and very basic. The rooms whilst being a good size were furnished very cheaply and the beds very hard. Best thing was the roof top terrace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgeman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Roc Lago Rojo for 12 nights commencing 29th January. The position was excellent for us being within a few yards of the beachfront and centre of Carihuela. We found the staff to be very attentive and friendly.

The food was good and replenished quickly when required. We were on half board basis and found this great value for money. The restaurant tended to get very busy at times but we never had to queue for a table as others have reported. Wednesday evening a special gala buffet is served.

We didn’t stay to watch any of the evening entertainment so can’t comment on this. We preferred to visit local bars in the area. Our junior suite was on the third floor overlooking the pool, the view to be honest wasn’t that impressive, but the room was spacious and kept spotless by the maids.

I don’t have a single moan about the Roc Lago Rojo, being from up “t’ north” as a previous reviewer seems to generalise we all moaned – don’t wear cloth cap and hate black pudding!

We travel to this area a couple of times a year and this is the first time in this hotel.
Would we stay again, definitely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kemik52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from 7 night winter break. Hotel in very good position, from reception to beach approx 2 minutes. Room spacious comfortable and very clean. The restaurant tended not to cater too much for the English and the food reflected this. Not saying this is a bad thing as the food was varied and good on the whole although not to our taste. Had concerns with one area in the restaurant where you could cut your own bread, observed on more than one occasion guests not using the napkins provided to cut the bread, and using their bare hands, not very hygienic!
Also just a suggestion to have pots on the table for breakfast rubbish i.e. butter pots etc. Most hotels have them, it helps staff to clear the tables quickly and makes the area look less messy.
Free wifi would be nice as most of the surrounding bars have this, and its a shame that guests have to pay for this facility.
The weather was excellent, although not warm enough to use the pool . There is a terrace on the top of the hotel which is a sun trap but you would need to get up there early to get a sun bed, can see lots of problems in the summer months. But the beach is very near and lots of sun beds there. Ideal hotel for a winter break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGrifoBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great location only a few minutes from the beach. Local transport (Trains & buses) reliable and cheap so easy to get around. The hotel was very clean, the rooms spacious and there was adequate heating (needed in January!) The balcony was a good size and we had a pleasant view. Unfortunately the beds seemed to be made of cement and were rock hard. Some of the older staff were very pleasant and helpful, some of the younger ones were surly and in one case downright rude so a it's the luck of the draw. I'm biased - I hate itinerant breakfasts when you have to walk a mile to assemble the basics so didn't have high expectations. The food in the evenings was disappointing, repetitive and unappealing. Drinks in the bar were expensive - entertainment scanty and varying in quality. Come on guys - I know this is costa geriactica but some of us don't feel THAT old! There are plenty of excellent local restaurants open during the day even in January - not so many at night - IF (big IF) we ever went here again I would eat locally during the day and snack at night. My advice - avoid half board or all inclusive as the local food (especially the tapas) is a delight.

If you like flea markets - the one at Fuengirola on Saturdays is worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 weeks in january,excellent location mins from beach,shops,and restaurants.Very clean,staff were very helpful especially at reception and in the restaurant,entertainment was good ,but once you had seen it ,it was the same each week,ok if you were only staying for one week.Would have stayed at this hotel in the future,but for the fact that the beds were the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in.Hard dosent even come near it.Such a shame as its a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton Surrey united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just back from a long weekend, lovely clean hotel and so central to sea and shops. Good value for the money and will certainly be going back.

The Food (breakfast) was excellent also Happy Hour if you want it 5pm-6pm.

Room Tip: We were on third floor overlooking road no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Property: Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing