We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A clean an pleasant hotel in a great location right in the heart of the Carihuela district. Parking right near the hotel was easy in December, but would be a problem at busier times of year. Food was good and reasonable choice. Rooms are called suites but basically, really a slightly larger than average double room.
This hotel is very popular with the Spanish and this gives in a more authentic feel than some Brit hotels.
I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    209
    128
    42
    20
See reviews for
180
305
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

first class hotel , staff very good and helpful , nothing to much trouble , food very good no complaints , very good size rooms very clean , lots of spanish booked in for xmas/ new year and they like to move chairs and tables around to get best views ect, of entertainment , watch you dont get boxed in , but all very good company ,,, we stayed foom 23rd to 30th december 2012

Room Tip: ask for 5th floor facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estepona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff were most helpful, the room was good size and the additional lounge area made it feel even bigger. Hotel is well situated for shops, restaurants & bars, the main lounge bar has a happy hour between 17.00 & 18.00, this is a good place to start the evening before going into dinner.
The only negative comment I could make was that as the meals were buffet style the food was only luke warm which detracted from a most enjoyable stay, but overall it was good value and I would not hesitate to recommend it .

Room Tip: I believe that rooms on the 5th floor are even better, but I dont know how one goes about getting on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 7night break here . The hotel is a short journey either by Taxi - approx 20 -25 Euros from Malaga Airport or you can take train from airport to Torremolinos and then short taxi ride to hotel.

The hotel is situated 2 streets back from the seafront in Carihuela area of resort with back gate that takes you right to the shops and restaurants and beach in a minute. Having stayed at other hotels not too far away we found the staff here to be much more friendly and the rooms were kept extremely clean by the maids , we were inTwin Superior which had great sea views from the balcony , beds were a bit too firm for me but that is personal preference.

As it is a quieter time of the year you tend to find a lot of bars/restaurants take their holidays so we booked half board. Good choice of food at breakfast and also varied at dinner - there was always something you could have and the chefs were continually replacing items that were running out , great selection of sweets and the best fresh fruit salad I have ever had , staff in restaurant very friendly and seemed happy to be there. Did not experience any queuing for dinner and we were there over 2 national holidays, maybe we just chose a good time to eat.

We used the rof top solarium which was excellent with great beds, mattreses,superb views and a small bar where Leslie and her colleague kept us refreshed , think this will be very popular in the summer months and may have problems getting a bed if you are not up with the larks. The hotel also has a pool but did not use it. Had lunch in hotel one day and the pizza and pasta were lovely and reasonably priced. Happy hour in bar from 5-6pm everyday .

The general upkeep of the hotel is excellent and management were always around and visible which is not always the case and seemed friendly and approachable. Haing visited the coast once or even twice a year for the past 20 odd years we will definately going back to this hotel in the not too distant future. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top floors and ask for a seaview - we had room 529 and this was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Habbie10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had two weeks in Roc Lago Rojo hotel 6th November to 20th. This was our first stay at this hotel and weren't disappointed. The rooms were a good size and kept clean. The only let down was the evening meal times, unless you got to the dining room early you might have waited to get a table. We heard several guests complaining about this. Other than that the food was OK, always something to choose from although pork and turkey did appear quite regular but OK. The location couldn't have been better, I think that's why this hotel scores 10 out of 10. We were unfortunate and got some heavy rain on our first four days, but after that when the sun came out wow! it was wonderful. If you like long walks then this hotel is in the right place, your 50 metres from the beach and 15 minutes from benalmadena Marina and the other way to Calle San Miguel for some really good bars, restaurants and good quality shopping. Your not far from Malaga for a 1.55 euro bus trip, well worth the trip. We will be going back again for sure.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor room 258 which had a balcony but faced another building, which overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophieplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights from 5th December on a half board basis. The staff were extremely helpful and I can recommend the Happy Hour at 5pm. We paid 53 Euro, for the 2 of us, a night booking through Booking.com. The food is served on a Buffet basis and was very acceptable. We would return here again without hesitation. Rooms are spotless and hotel is one minute from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I and four of my friends stayed for three nights at the end of November in this hotel. We had two junior suites on a half board basis and found it extremely good value for what we paid for it.
The staff were all very nice and helpful and the variety of food was very good . The location is in La Charihuela close to the beach and not too far from the bus & train routes. We did find however, perhaps it was the time of the year, but we there were ALOT of eldery people staying there.

Room Tip: The junior suite was very reasonable and there was twin beds and a seperate "living" area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnG_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Property: Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing