We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

this hotel is set in an excellent location with immediate access to the beach but the hotel does not merit the four star grading . the swimming pool area is most unimpressive with a few sunbeds and a grass area and i only saw one person in during my week. the food was ok with dinner being saved most nights by a good selection of desserts. the dining room was at most times over crowded and on one evening we were asked if we could take a walk and return 15 minutes later. there was no entertainment provided during the week. on the plus side the new jacuzzi area on the roof was impressive although the staff seemed to condone the practice of towelling the sunbeds. the rooms were spacious and the housekeeping staff kept them clean but i would suggest a room 4 up or above

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 763 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

we stayed in this hotel in january 2012 for about two weeks. the room we had was a junior suite. it was large and with a nice small balcony where you can also take time to sit down , relax, sip some wine, smoke and look at the streets. the rooms are always cleaned, towels are also clean white, aircon was very cold. the staff are very helpful , friendly and courteous. the meals are always yummy, abundant and varied that you will always look forward to the next meal. during our stay, we saw a lot of couples and some groups of friends from different countries - from belgium, germany, sweden, the netherlands, norway, UK, italy etc., the location is so perfect for middle aged or older couples because you can walk your way along the seaside going to bajondillo or to the opposite side going to benalmadena. the hotel is 500 meters to the bus stop of the local and intercity connections like going to the city center of Malaga or even to MIjas, Benalmadena, Fuengirola, Marbella etc. it is also situated near shops, bars, restaurants, chiringuitos and a lot more that a tourist can expect. there is a back door entrance of the hotel whcih is like 50 meters to the beach side. there are also scheduled entertainments in the hotel, i love the dancing time every friday. the hotel bar is also good place to pass the night, you meet new friends there. sometimes we stay in the balcony late in the night and we still see people in the streets walking back to the hotel - kinda safe. we would definitely go back and stay in this hotel again. it is highly recommended for everybody. considering the price, the food, the service and its location? this is a perfect place to stay as a home base if you want to go around costa del sol. it is like in the middle of every place you want to visit - like the Alhambra in Granada, the donkeys in Mijas, the expensive yachts in Puerto Banus and the famous villas/apartments, golf courses in Marbella and a lot more. just come to roc lago rojo and experience real value for money.

Room Tip: dont choose that room fronting the road where the public garbage bins are placed because the garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maryke_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

stayed here a few times,but got admit that march 2012 was the best.on arrival we were greeted with the news that our room had been cancelled by the company we booked it through--ROOMSNET----and that same company never even informed us!!!(i will post on the forum about ROOMSNET grrrrrr)
obviously we were a bit distraught and even though we had stayed elsewhere in this beautiful area,i asked at the reception if they could accomidate us "on spec" so to speak,as i knew how good this hotel were.the hotel not only accomidated us,they actually charged us cheaper than our scuppered booking!!
we stayed in a junior suite half board.the room was excellent---2 beds--massive bathroom--sitting room with setee--balcony.--clean as a whistle.
what i like about the roc is that its only about 5 stories high,so none of this vertigo stuff.
the meals are help yourself with an excellent choise of foods--salads--fruit etc etc---ideal for special dietry needs.
the hotel is quite and literally 30-50 metres from the beautiful beach.
i only have one slight moan,its that you must pay for wi-fi---daily rates are avaiable to your room--but a special 7 day-24 hours a day deal is on offer for 25 euro--not bad really if you like a bet.
the location of the hotel is superb,keeping its spanishness,fantastic beach and front--shops galore--and restaurants---and a great base for exploring by public transport inland or along the coast.
there are various drinking establishments near hand--i must recommend the little ALDINO SPORTS bar(100 metre) and THE MAD MONK-both have very friendly and helpful hosts---great drinks and indeed the MONK serves excellent meals.
all in all a great hotel---great location--great area-----perfect for a holiday without too much commercialness.

Room Tip: the junior suite has an appartment feel as it has a siting room/lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Deg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

stayed at this hotel in may 2012 we loved the location as it was only 50meters fro the beach the rooms were very clean and the staff were nice and friendly. the food was good and plenty variety we met some really nice people and the entertaimentwas okay .the pool was our only complaint it was small and the surrounding area and ther is very little sun there just as well we are not pool people but the weather made up for that as it was hot and sunny.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BRIDGET186638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Friendly and efficient staff. Clean, airy rooms. Food outstanding. Brilliant location, access to beach, bars and shops 1 minute away. Didn't use pool and sunbeds but sunbed area inadequate for families, although they are building an addition sunbathing area on the roof. Quiet and suitable for older couples, not families or younger people. Also a lot of Spanish tourists.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappoinment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sheff_Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family( sisters) and I stayed for a long weekend! from the minute we stepped in the hotel we was welcome by the receptionist jsosel who was a lovely lady that talked us though all the facilities that the hotel offered! The room was fab!! sea view! clean! Breakfast was delicious and was near all the buzz of Torremolinos!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amenab-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Having returned recently from the Lago I have had to write another review for all you sceptics out there. When we arrived we were very warmly greeted by the staff who got us up to our room within 10 minutes. I always ask for 1st floor as I travel with my 84 year old mother who likes to walk up the stairs. On reaching the corridor we were shocked to find that it resembled B & Q with workmen everywhere (on a Saturday). We were told that they were replacing sliding doors in the bedrooms. No problem, we went with it and that was the last time we saw or heard any disruption during our whole 10 day stay. The staff as usual were friendly and attentive and the food was of a good standard. I cannot say anything further about the Carihuela district that I have not already said before. It is the most beautiful village and I will continue to come back for as long as I can. I have made many friends here. To Isabel and all the staff at The Lago. Well done and continue what you are doing. Hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for poolside and 5th floor if you have extra cash to splash. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vonniedoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Natursun
Hotel Natursun
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $68 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing