We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. The grounds are lovely, the location is good, the rooms are spotless. The food was very good and the hotel staff were all lovely. I would definitely rate this as a real four star hotel. To find any fault at all, I would say the beds are a bit hard and I did try to contact the hotel to request a fifth floor room but never had any reply to my three email requests. Apart from the lack of contact and the hard mattresses, I thought this hotel was excellent and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We did try to get the fifth floor as many trip advisor reviews comment on this but it was full
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear J P,
Thank you for choosing the Don Marco and thank you also for taking the time to write your review. It is wonderful to have positive feedback but even more important to hear how we can improve.
I am sorry about the lack of response to your enquiry. I would be very grateful to know how you attempted to contact us so that I can ensure that we improve in this repsect. As far as the mattresses are concerned it is true that they are firm. We have softer matttreses available upon request.
I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 996 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Thanks to the superb customer service of Senor Jaime Floyer, hotel manager, my sister and I were finally able to experience a stay in a 'stunning sea view' room in the Don Marco. We have now stayed in all three of the hotels in the complex and have enjoyed each one. All three hotels have their own style. The Marco is very much a 'zen' area with eastern style decor and tinkling water sounds and music playing quietly in the background. Perfect place to escape the hubbub and read a good book. The rooms are smartly decorated although a little smaller than the pablo as are the balconies but the views from the front room are unbeatable, especially from a higher floor. The furniture is well maintained and beds comfortable. We liked the bathroom layout with a separate shower cubicle. We were very well looked after by our room attendant Maria-Jose who was most helpful and friendly and very thorough in her cleaning duties.

The marco shares all the facilities of the other two hotels but provides a more tranquil atmosphere.

The pool work was still going on during our visit but there are plenty other pools and sunbathing areas in the complex if you do a bit exploring.

We found again in the main the staff are all very friendly and helpful, some more so than others, we found Pedro the bar manager most accommodating and friendly as was his colleague on the evening of 31st March on our arrival - we didnt catch his name but along with Pedro he made us very welcome.

The service in the dining room was as good as it always is (this was our seventh visit to the complex). The waiters and chefs and kitchen staff work very hard to please their guests.

All in all another lovely visit to the complex and we look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gonefishin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Gonefishin55,
It was a great pleasure to accomodate you both in the Don Marco for your recent stay. I am delighted that the staff looked after you so well and that you got to enjoy those spectacular sea-front views in the Marco.
I appreciate all your positive comments and your patience with the over run of works on the swimming pool. I hope that we see you again soon so you can appreciate how beautiful the new pool area has turned out.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited 19th-26th May 2013, just as the tourist season proper is getting underway. Reception staff were reasonably friendly upon arrival, they looked a bit weary perhaps because it was 10pm and they work very hard. Restaurant was open a little later than most hotels in the area, which is useful if you're on a late flight, and like us always end up rushing to get to the food after a tiring journey.

Rooms were great, quite spacious and cleaned well. The pool view rooms are a little extra but worth it. Of course you can use any of the facilities in the three interlinked 'Sol don' hotels, the shooting and archery are basic but still good relaxing fun, bowling greens are a bit worn just due to their popularity as these hotels are a bit of a favourite with the older crowd, the number of (well-kept) pools will keep kids busy May to October, probably best to stick with the indoor pool out of season. Also there is a Jacuzzi on a terrace with clear perspex surrounds and no roof, which I really like. Sunshine, slight breeze and a jacuzzi at the same time really makes you feel 'on holiday'.

Breakfast was 1st class, lots of choice and the best poached eggs I've ever had. Dinner also was of a very good standard, plenty of meat dishes and some variation each night unlike many other hotels on the Costa Del Sol. Only one slight complaint on one occasion uneaten food (sausages) from breakfast had clearly been 'recycled' into a dish for the evening, by which point they were very dry indeed. Of course I'm sure we all reheat food at home, but it's not ideal practice for a hotel that in all other regards is above that kind of thing, though I should note this only seemed to happen the once.

Overall a very nice stay, the entertainment and restaurant staff in particular are very good. There are a few hidden gems around the hotels and pools so it's worth doing some exploring. There are also two shops just outside the hotel which is very useful. I am returning in July this year to try out one of the slightly cheaper 'sister' hotels. If I had one tip it would be to book early as prices can rise quite steeply, a measure of these hotel's popularity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Mark B,
Thank you for your very complete and in-depth review of your last stay at the Sol Don Marco. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and I even more so to hear that you hope to return to the complex in summer.
Please allow me to mention that we cannot reuse food that has been on the buffet as all the foods are temperature and time controlled. If this has occurred in the past I apologise and we will ensure that it cannot occur in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

there are no shaver points in the bathroom so if like me you have an electric toothbrush you will need a usa adaptor we could not buy on ein the resort but the ever helpful Miguel got one for us !! The food is excellent the staff are friendly Pedro the bar manager is wonderful al in all a brilliant hotel only thing would be the wifi should be free throughout hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank kate055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Deaqr Kate055,
I am glad that you have enjoyed the Don Marco so much. I really appreciate your taking the time to let us know. I am also happy to have your positive comments about Miguel and I do take note of the comment about the WiFi. We have just doubled the speed of the free WiFi in the lobby and bar areas and it is now possible to connect more than one device to the paying service.
I hope that we see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I are just back from a stay at this hotel, paid the extra this time for a room with a view and it was well worth it overlooking the beach and the med. The room was on the second floor above the front sun terrace, very comfortable and clean which also had a trouser press, the bathroom had a bath and a separate shower cubicle and there was also a hair dryer. The cleaning staff were very good and friendly. The choice of food is also very good at breakfast and evening meal. The restaurant in the don Pablo was being used for the meals, since our last trip this restaurant has been extended with more tables and chairs, the hot food selection area has also been modernised which makes it very light and flowing for food choices. Since I have previously written a review for this hotel all I can say is that my wife and I like it and we can not fault it for a holiday and once again we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear george k,
It is great to hear from repeat customers and even more so when they approve of the improvements that we have made to the services. Thank you for letting us know. I really hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Weather good,location excellent,Marco reception restaurant & bar closed due to out of season, disappointed with location of bedroom,felt we were in don Pablo ,stayed in Marco previously,and like the reception area in the evening,did request at reception for a room nearer there,cleaning was excellent

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank cuddles60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear cuudles60,
Thank you for choosing the Don Marco again and for taking the time to share your experience.
In winter the Don Marco remains as a satellite of the Don Hotels Complex for guests who want to be away from it all. The bar and reception desk remain closed although full reception services are offered in the Don Pedro (which is the same building) and all the activities and services for dining a bars are available in the Pedro and Pablo. I know it is not for everyone but we have many guests who choose the Marco in winter especially because it is very quiet.
Perhaps another time you would prefer the Don Pablo which is a little busier and has more activity.
Thanks for you review and please accept apologies if you were a little disappointed.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

After being unable to get in at the hotel we have been going to for the last 6/7 years we were very sceptical about finding somewhere new but we need not have worried. Although part of quite a large complex we found the Don Marco to be very quiet and had a lovely spacious room with a sea view and a large balcony. Meals were taken in the Don Pablo dining room and although the restaurant is quite large it was light and airy, especially in the conservatory area. The meals were excellent with a vast choice of meat and fish dishes and an 'Italian' corner with different pasta dishes and the wines were very reasonable. At breakfast time there was just about everything you could ask for. All staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a good position right on the promenade. We will certainly be back again next year.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and get a sea view room, preferably on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear tepore,
I am so glad that your bad luck brought you to us as the Don Marco and that you found that you had fallen on your feet. Thank you for letting everyone know how happy you were with your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,571 reviews
0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,235 reviews
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $82 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Don Marco by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco
Sol Don Marco By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing