We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff were terrible and very arragent Espesally the women !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

staff were terrible and very arragent also there hotel exchange rate is terrible thay try to ripp you off !!! hotel tho seems nice the indoor pool is cold also the breakfast is very ordinary thay also charge 25 euro for a late checkout were other hotel I've been to there fine about it .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Harjee,
I am terribly sorry to hear that the staff did not treat you as you hoped during your recent stay in the Sol Don Marco. It is not a comment that I have received in the past and, thanks to your comments, I hope that it will not have to be repeated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Regarding the late check-out, members of the MeliaRewards loyalty scheme have late check-out priveleges of varying degrees dependant on the level of their membership. All other guests have the option of paying 25€ to stay until 6 p.m. or, if they prefer we offer a courtesy room for showering and changing free of charge.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 996 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just spent one week here ending 4/11/13. Got quiet room 5003 on fifth floor overlooking pools. Large balcony and room cleaned every day. Breakfasts were excellent although evening meals a little predictable after a few days and we preferred to go out to eat. Lots of restaurants nearby "The Launch" was our favourite abouy 10 mins walk away. Reception staff very helpful and a particular thank you to reception guy who was so helpful on our arrival after we had mislaid valuable item at airport.
Only 10 mins by taxi from airport 18-20euros and hotel laid on shuttle coach to collect us on arrival 6 euros each. Evening entertainment was variable but then it was free. Lots of activities each day around the 3 hotels and had great crack on the 2 large bowling greens. Mostly retired people when we were there. If you want a quiet holiday with all amenities convenient then this is the place.

Room Tip: floor 5 overlooking pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear gerry m,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Don Marco. I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a great stay with us.
I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel location is great and the staff in the main are very helpful. I had a minor meltdown about not being able to access the room for the first three days as the lock was faulty and we were constantly hanging around for maintenance to re-programme the lock. - After three days we were moved to another room and given apologies and complimentary fruit but it was a shame I had to kick up such a fuss to get any response. The transfers from the airport were a rip off so I would suggest you just get a taxi which is quicker and cheaper. We had room only but had one evening meal there (like school dinners) and one breakfast which was lovely so if we went again we would have Bed and breakfast and dine out at one of the lovely local restaurants. Rooms were fine, locations great - ideal for a short stay

Room Tip: Would pay the extra for a superior room... more space and nicer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimboHHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear KimboHHuddersfield,
Thank you so much for writing up your report on Trip Advisor. I am very happy that you enjoyed the trip so much despite, as you describe them, niggles. I am really sorry about the room lock. I am glad that you have alerted me to the problem because you should have had an immediate solution without having to make any fuss at all. Rest assured that the maintenance department will have to make adjustments to ensure that this is not repeated.
I do hope that we will see you for another short break in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just returned from a week in the Sol Don Marco, This hotel is the newest on the Sol complex in Torremolinos, It's flanked by the Don Pedro & Don Pablo, The Don Marco is a little more expensive than the afore mentioned but well worth paying the extra if your budget permits as the rooms are far superior, Nice and very clean decorated rooms, One plus point is that the rooms have both a seperate shower cubicle and a bath, All be it the roooms are far superior than the Don Pedro & Don Pablo the restaurant is really dated and my top tip would be to go eat in the Cordoba restaurant in the Don Pablo as it's much more clean, spacious and not as cramped as the Don Marco restaurant! Plenty of pools and and sun lounges to enjoy your sunbathing or the beach is across the road from the hotel which is ideal for popping backwards and forwards to your room if needed, All the rooms have a fridge so you can keep your supermarket beers nice & chilled, Flat screen LCD TV and the english channnels are BBC 1, Sky News and ITV4. The main shopping street Calle San Miguel in the centre of town is approx 10 minutes walk, Yes, Up the dreaded steps I'm afraid!! Although, You could enjoy a swift beer first in the Ship Inn at the bottom before you tackle the ascent! Plenty to do here, You can walk the full length of the promenade and visit Benelmadena stunning Marina approx 45 minute walk each way, You must take the train and visit Malaga City only 3.90euros return and approx 20 minutes journey, For you shopaholics you can also visit Plaza Mayor which is only 4 stops and approx 10 minutes journey from Torremolinos, It's an outdoor shopping centre with many spanish high street stores along with about 30plus restaurant/bars/cafes a bit like the spanish metrocentre where you stroll around the shops but enjoy it in the red hot sun! Great stay and will definately be returning very soon! Perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Southshields_DAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Myself and my partner spent five nights in the Don Marco, and what a lovely memorable break it was. From start to finish everything in the hotel was perfect. Decor of the hotel was very pleasing, rooms very clean and modern. We had a ground floor and got a sea view with sun louger area just outside our window, which was handy for popping in and out to sunbathe. We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was fantastic, be prepared as the dining area is very big, it took us about two days to find out where everything was as the variety of foods catered for all nationalities, you could even have champagne for breakfast !
The hotel shared facilities with other two hotels Don Pablo & Don Pedro, all simply linked up, you could use all the swimming pools, I tried all four! along with jacussi, restaurants ect. The beach is located just across the road and there is a good shop just on the corner. I got a facial done in the Spa, which was lovely, similar prices to Ireland. All staff in the hotel were profesinal, young, pleasant and spoke very good English. Worth every penny !

Room Tip: Request ground floor with sea view side, most of the sun bathing is done on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

realy good place good variety of food personel great everything great l will return anytime hotel near of commodity long walk on passeo maritimo quiet secur a real paradise espanol great persons smiling

Room Tip: good choice personel and service great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have just spent 1 week in the Don Marco. Had a top floor room with a big balcony with sun loungers and a table and chairs. The room was clean and tidy. The cleaners were very nice people and helpful. The air conditioning worked well and kept the room nice and cool.
We only ate in the Don Marco so can not comment on the other dining room.we got down to the dining room early and had no problem finding seats. There is a lot of choice for Breakfast.Pancakes were lovely. My only complaint was The sausages, they were horrible.
Dinner was ok, still lots of choice.Meat dishes, fish, salad. jacket potatoes,chips and pizza
Puddings were flavoured custards and a variety of cakes.
I found the lobby hot with no aircon so didn't spent much time in there.
The pools were clean and the grounds well tended. shame the indoor pool was not heated.
they played country and western music live in the afternoon. (not my cup of tea,so didnt enjoy it that much as it could be heard by the pool.)
Loved the hotel so will go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dotdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $82 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Marco by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco
Sol Don Marco By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing