We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ian of Bournemouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Marco
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ian of Bournemouth”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having just spent a week at the hotel, I have to say that the staff were extremely friendly, our comfortable bedroom overlooking the swimming pool with sea view, and a good choice of food for breakfast and dinner made our stay enjoyable.

I have only one complaint. In the brochures and online it is made quite clear that shorts are not to be worn at dinner; rightly so. But on our first evening we saw about 90% of men in shorts and every evening thereafter.On asking the restaurant manager why, we were told that during July and August this rule is relaxed as long as shorts are smart! Well, some men were wearing patterned shorts which are only fit for the beach and one man in his 50's wore a vest t-shirt at dinner!!

This would not be surprising in a 3* hotel; that is why we avoid them like the plague, BUT once standards are relaxed in 4* / 5* it puts many people off.

I suggest the management urgently re-consider male dress at dinner, before they lose potential guests of the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    334
    100
    27
    14
See reviews for
169
495
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel. First off we had requested either a pool view or beach view room but when we arrived we had neither. Not the end of the world, but we thought we would ask the next day to be moved just on the off chance they had availability. Miguel moved us with no questions asked. Our new room was on the top floor and had its own wrap around terrace, it was amazing, with a view of the pool AND the beach! Unfortunately on the last day my partner collapsed at the pool and had to be rushed to hospital. Javiar was on reception that day and helped us liaise with the hospital even using his own mobile to make the call when we couldn't get an outside line from the hotel. This hotel deserves every one of its 4 stars and some! but the staff are most definitely 5 star, professional, friendly and eager to help at all times. I can't thank them enough for helping us when we most needed it. The hotel is clean with great facilities and sits right on the beach front within walking distance of all the amenities. You certainly won't go wrong here and will be most looked after during your stay, I'm sure. The hotel is very family friendly and sits on a complex with the don Pablo and don Pedro so there is a choice of where you can spend your time. Even the buffet breakfast was good and considering buffets are not my thing I was impressed none the less. In essence it's all good at this hotel, the only suggestion I would make is perhaps some music around the pool, this is personal preference though.

Room Tip: Pool view or beach view a must to make the most of the lovely views this hotel has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirthdayGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear BirthdayGirlScotland,
Thank you for your glowing review. The staff are the heart of our business and it is therefore such a satisfaction to hear that you were so well looked after. They work very hard and it is really rewarding for them to hear that their actions are appreciated. Thank you for letting us all know.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in May. The location is ideal as it's just across the street from the beach and there are lots of restaurants nearby. Also, there are two shops just steps away from the hotel where you can buy snacks, soft drinks, water, alcohol, clothes, souvenirs etc. We were able to get a parking spot for our rental car at the sister hotel Sol Don Pablo every night. The room is a nice size, clean and has a balcony. We didn't have any meals at the hotel since we wanted to try the restaurants in town and in nearby La Carihuela. No problems with checking in or out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have stayed in this complex before and was pleased enough to come again but our experience this time was not so good. The hotels were very busy and we did se some queing for tables. Our first dinner was not a great event as we first had to find a table, clear a space on it, then sat and waited and waited till eventually someone relaid. Then an equally long wait for a drinks order to be taken. In the morning it seems to be the expected norm that you get your own knives forks and napkins when you find an empty table. Our room was dissapointingly sitiuated above the continual drone of air conditioning ducts and the one for our room was situated on the small balcony and was also very noisey. Cleanliness all round is very good and the food was of good quality and breakfast was excellent with masses of choice and joy of joys fried bread!. Did find that the veg and ready mixed salads were more or less inedible mush which was a pity but did not detract to much from our dining experience. The hotel complex was very busy, so with limited space for such a lot of people outside space is covered in sunbeds.The planting is clever and well looked after and the pools were nice. I don't know if we will come again as I found the experience a bit manic and I suppose I value peace and quite a bit more as I get older. The deserved success of these hotels brings its own problems in as much as it is rather busy and this will not suite every one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnoldlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear arnoldlayne,
Thank you for your repeated custom and for your review. I am sorry if you found the hotel complex too busy for you on this visit. It is true that in high summer we tend to get very busy and furthermore it is the season of school holidays which means that the pool areas and restaurants are more chaotic than at other times of year. Even though the occupation often rises between the end of August and the first of September, it becomes much calmer. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again outside of high season when we, and Torremolinos in general, move at a rather calmer pace.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Danmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As this hotel already has proved its worthy among many writers here as a highly reputed hotel in Torremolinos, my contribution here will only be to back up all the other nice reports about this hotel.
We had a room in the corner of the building facing the sea, room 3001, superb. room, very nice situated on the 3rd floor, facing both the pool area and the sea.
Beds are a little on the hard side, and some improvement here could be advised.
This hotel is a worthy 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: be a little careful about the rooms facing the sea, a beach bar just on the other side of the road o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Poul C. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel so much and rate it so highly. I very much hope that you will return some day. Just a small note: if you require a softer matress, we have them available; ask at the front desk.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Another stay at the Sol Don Marco, it's like coming home, we relax immediately we arrive. Others have described the location and the facilities well. We were allocated the sea view room we had requested and that made my holiday. All the staff were helpful, cheerful and pleasant at all times.

I would just say that the evening dining experience on the first few days was less than enjoyable, but changed dramatically after a word about the problems, with the last week being a much more pleasurable and relaxed experience.

My husband went to Keep Fit most days and was really impressed with the way in which the exercises were geared around the age group of the people attending. The entertainment staff worked long and hard hours.

We enjoyed Mama Mia, although my singing along did drive my husband mad! We also went to a Tango Show held at the Sol Don Pablo, which was very good.

We had two enjoyable days out travelling by train first to Malaga where we visited the Picasso Museum and the Cathedral as well as having a good shop. The second day was again by train to Plaza Mayor where it was lovely to see a C&As again after all these years. Trains are every 20 minutes and much less expensive than in the UK, as well as being cleaner and more modern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyag2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed in Sol Don Marco in mid June and would highly recommend it to anyone who likes the area. Malaga airport is about 10 mins by taxi and trains Malaga to Fuengirola are easily accessed in Torremolinos.

The hotel is central and beachside with nice walks along the promenade and within walking distance of the old town. Locate the lift near the Melia hotel (1 Euro for 2 people) to save walking up the steps to town, particularly if it's hot! We went to a couple of tapas bars locally which were very good indeed. The Eldorado with it's cool balcony / terrace was a favourite.

As for the hotel - reception was very efficient, hotel very clean and well run. The breakfast buffet was excellent with fruit, cereal, breads and hot choices. We had a room overlooking the ocean with a small balcony. The room was air conditioned, but not overly big - the bathroom was excellent with a bath and walk-in shower.

The hotel is one of three in shared gardens (gloriously fragrant at night) and it's great to have use of all the pools and sun areas. We did have to search for a sun bed and brolly at around mid-morning the first day, so from then on we arrived a bit earlier on the terraces.

The resident entertainments team put on really good shows on the upper terrace most evenings. Cocktails are very reasonably priced.
Overall a very good choice - we may book there again in 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slenderela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
2,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#12 of 72 in Torremolinos
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Property: Sol Don Marco
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing