We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sol Don Pedro by Melia(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol Don Pablo by Melia(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
MS Aguamarina Suites(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Hotel Isabel(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bajondillo Apartments(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tarik(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fenix Torremolinos(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveler rating
438
390
119
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
390
119
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pabloother hotelsnumerous poolssea viewhalf boarddining roomsister hotelacross the roadwhole complexlovely hotelsea frontbed and breakfastsun loungersplenty of sunbedsbuffet styleout of seasonlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose the Sol Don Marco for a 5 night New Year's Break in the sun ( we hoped !) The rooms were ready when we checked in with the exception of the double-bedded one for which we had to wait until after lunch time. This was on the top floor with a sea view and a sun terrace rather than a balcony. All 3 rooms were very comfortable with reasonable sized bathrooms.
The food offered at the breakfast and evening times was plentiful and gave a good choice for all. The restaurant was busy but if you varied your arrival there was always a table to be had. We had to search sometimes as we were a party of 6 but there was no great problem.
The New Year's Eve Gala Meal was excellent with a free bar and entertainment. This was €118 per person but was New Year after all.
The entertainment was varied both in style and location with the adjacent Don Pedro and Don Pablo hotels offering their lounges for clients rather than the Don Marco.
The clientele were mixed with " golden oldies" like our party and younger groups with quite a few families there. A good mix with some Americans being there for an extended vacation - and ,yes, the sun did shine throughout our stay - a welcome break from our miserable damp British weather.
There is a charge for Wi Fi which is offered free in some other Melia hotels.
Finally, the staff - nothing was too much for them with a pleasant attitude at all times. The bar staff and restaurant staff worked their socks off. Although the restaurant was self service, the staff were quick to clear tables and make things less cluttered. Bar service was provided by waiters as well as self service and were excellent at their job
We would return to the Don Marco without hesitation for the reasons given plus it's prime position opposite the beach. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Sea views worth the extra money and join the Melia Rewards programme for discounts.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review ALord. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt well looked-after. I look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed in this group of hotels a few times and have always been very happy with our stay and will return again in the future. The Don Marco is our favourite of the group but the facilities of all three hotels are available to all residents so I guess it does not really matter in which you have your room.
We always stay on a half-board basis and particullary enjoy the delicious breakfasts, there is a great variety of food available to suit all tastes and usually a sparkly wine is on offer as well, though we do miss the lovely coffee that used to be served (coffee machines have taken over from the previous waiter service).
The hotels have an abundance of pools to suit all age groups, there are tennis courts and two large out door bowling greens. The animation team provide a wide variety of day and evening entertainment and are all pleasant and work hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable time.
The hotel rooms, lounges and beautiful gardens are expertly kept by a very hard working staff.
The location of these hotels is perfect with the beach just across the road and a long flat promenade where you can walk as far as you feel able, there is also an abundance of shops in the main town which can be found by walking up San Miguel Street also not far from the hotel.
You can also arrange any tours you fancy from Exotic Tours, also to be found in that area and they will collect you from your hotel in the morning of the tour but will alway include a multi-national group.

Room Tip: We prefer a room on the sunny side which will have differant views depending on which hotel you stay in we have always had a good sleep quality stay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redzview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Redzview,
Thank you for your delightful review of the Sol Dons, and more precisely the Marco. I am so glad that you keep enjoying the complex and keep coming back. As you mention, the three hotels enjoy all the facilities of the complex as well as the privileged position by the beach and close to the centre. Each of the hotels is a little different despite their shared facilities. The Don Marco is the quietest of the three and aimed mostly at couples and singles. The Don Pablo is a family hotel with very good-sized bedrooms and more of a Grand Hotel feeling, whilst the Don Pedro is cozier, more Andalucian, with less-spacious bedrooms but a more economical price. There is something for most tastes.
We very much hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

got there was dealt with promptly given room on 4th floor, not as big as i thought it would be from photos not much room to put clothes, we had to use shelves they where covered in fluff had not been cleaned for some time. Wife went to reception, who changed our room slightly bigger with seperate shower still not much room for clothing,head of house came to our room, once again there was areas with fluff she brought the cleaner in to clean again apoligising.The enterance area to the don marcos is a nice area but as others have said it isnt open you use the don p.several pool areas which take time to find, entertainment on every night didnt go.The food in particular the cuts of meat are the best i have had in a buffet style hotel, the breakfast is expansive,stopped half board. asked if we could change for lunch one day as we had booked a restaurent, no problems at all , which was good thing.There are several english channels on the tv but you have to look for them .there is a bus stop outside the hotel for the urbano L2 be aware it doesnt always go along to the melia so check the time table for that punctuality is not very good due to the drivers having conversation with each other at the treminus, where you can get the L1 to caraheilla, be wary as the bus goes off at 2200 hrs.and the taxi for 4 minutes ride cost 7 euros a total rip off and as such we didnt use taxis around the resort again.A small irish bar,irish affair, outside is worth a look it has on the signpost probably the worst irish bar in the world, the signs in side are worth reading as they are a good laugh, was there on thursday to be greeted with a sign saying closed back in three minutes if not read again. The front prom is very nice there is work going on at the moment but still is a nice walk. All in all had a good time there would like to go to the caraheilla area next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear crathie,
Thanks for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. Your opinions are our guide to continuing to improve our service. I am sorry to hear that the shelves in the room you were allocated had dust on them. When we have low occupation in winter we make sure that allocated rooms are reviewed before giving access to guests as sometimes they may have been empty for a little while. This obviously did not happen in your case and I will insist with housekeeping that more attention is paid to this.
You mention going to the other hotel lounges in the evenings. The Don Marco is always kept quiet (no entertainment in the lounge therefore) but as you discovered, those that want a little more atmosphere can go to either of the other hotel lounges in the complex for the different entertainment that is offered there every night.
I hope that you come back again and next time have the chance to walk down the promenade to the Carihuela area which is well worth visiting - especially for the fish restaurants.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel did not disappoint. Having stayed in several Sol hotels previously we expected it to be good and it was. Cleanliness is obviously a priority as is the food. I don't think anyone could complain about the food as the wide choice and quality was first class. The grounds surrounding the three hotel complex are extensive and immaculate. If the weather was bad you could walk from the Don Pablo through the Don Pedro to the Don Marco without ever going outside. Even in winter there were excellent outdoor activities such as archery and air rifle and pistol shooting, all free of charge. This seemed to surprise some clients who were expecting to pay. The evening entertainment was also of a high quality and the bar staff particularly friendly. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel complex to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear David W,
Thank you for taking the time to send in your very positive review. We are always keen to hear any criticism regarding quality as it helps us to keep refining our service, but it is always gratifying to hear that guests have had their expectations exceeded too!
Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Impressive entrance and foyer. Good standard of food in a convenienient location. Very well priced for half board. Lots of pools to choose from but bar areas very busy with not enough tables and chairs on an evening. Good restaurants and bars nearby. Ideal break for a week away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank igOthere42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear igOthere42,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Sol Don Marco and the Don Hotels complex. I am glad that you enjoyed the time spent here. I see that your review is from September of last year so I will see why the service in the bars in the evening was not up to scratch.
We hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews