We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Nearby Hotels
$108
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sol Don Pablo by Melia(Torremolinos)
$145
$136
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Melia Costa del Sol(Torremolinos)
$194
$165
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Principe by Melia(Torremolinos)
$160
$148
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos(Torremolinos)
$103
$98
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol Don Pedro by Melia(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
$130
$109
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Isabel(Torremolinos)
$133
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zen Airport(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
$55
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia(Torremolinos)
$196
$185
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bajondillo Apartments(Torremolinos)
$76
$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveler rating
444
395
119
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
395
119
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pabloother hotelsnumerous poolssea viewhalf boarddining roomsister hotelacross the roadwhole complexlovely hotelsea frontbed and breakfastsun loungersplenty of sunbedsbuffet styleout of seasonlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Very nice rooms (loved the front sea view) and lobby, wide variety of food at the buffet, lovely beach and beach bar right across the street, good location in Torremolinos. Friendly staff at the reception desk as well. This hotel entirely worths the money and its official rating.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alina781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We are just back from Torremolinos at the Sol Don Marco and I'd like to recommend it for travellers of all ages, the hotel is part of a three hotel chain on the same complex namely the Don Pablo, Pedro and Marco, Marco is the newest built but all three are of a decent standard. okay there are probably better hotels in the world but there are millions of hotels that don't reach thier standards.

Rooms clean and serviced every day, food was buffet style and typical but plenty of choice, proximity to the beach was only about 50 yards and was central for all of Torremolinos facilities.

A good hotel and it was a fair number of years since we were in Costa Del Sol and the area has improved since our last visit, it was a pleasant surprise to find that the area was now frequented by by almost 90% Spanish travellers and was not just Blackpool by the sea so if you want fried breakfasts and fish and chips for tea then go somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank brockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Very good hotel and I would reccomend without hesitation. Clean throughout and full of surprising little areas for sunbathing or being in the shade - the hotel has character. Very centrally located in Torremolinos not busy but not empty and within easy reach of all areas and railway station about 10-15 minutes away.
Food buffet is of the usual standard expected with a good range. Only criticism of service is that Italian corner and the grill area can be a little slow.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank GerardMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

I stayed for one week in the Sol Don Marco. A very good holiday in a friendly and clean hotel. My room was quite small but clean. I have stayed in other 4 star hotel of the Sol Melia chain and I must say that usually the overall quality is better when compared to the Don Marco-

I would call the Don Marco a good 3 star and not a 4 star hotel.

Very friendly and helpful staff - from front desk, reception, to cleaners and restaurant staff. All very good and nice people.

Food is very average but there is plenty of it so you will never go hungry. Yet, disappointing in quality. Food and beverage is definitely the only disappointing part of my staying. ( please note that I am a bit demanding with food!!)

I think I would go back to the hotel if I travel again in the area but I would surely book for breakfast only and no longer half board. – That is bearing in mind that you can have excellent food at the beach restaurants near by for as little as 15 Euros.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Arrived at the Don Marco at 1.30am to find they had no reservation for us. This was sorted out in 5 minutes by the excellent hotel staff. I guess it was a jet2holidays error and not the hotels fault.

Our room on the 3rd floor had a great view of the pool area and consisted of a smallish room with a king size bed, lots of wardrobe space, table, chair and a good sized TV. There was a seperate bathroom that has a bath with shower over and the usuall sink, toilet and bidet, small but adequate.

The room had free internet access for your laptop (take an ethernet cable).

The bed was very comfortable and extra pillows are provided in the wardrobe if required.

Our only problem was the air conditioning, it was either very loud or leaked water all over the floor and despite complaining three times it wasn't repaired.

There is also a safe in the room (2 euros a night) and a free fridge.

The hotel facilities are excellent with no end of daytime and evening entertainment (all in the other 2 hotels) and very clean public areas.

The Don Marco shares it's restaurant with the Don Pedro, it's 3* sister hotel. I find it strange that a 3* and 4* hotel share facilities so the difference must be in the rooms, thats all i can think of.

The food selection was superb, meat and fish cooked in front of you and a great selection. There was also an Italian corner serving pizza and paellla etc. Sometimes the food was a bit cold (it always is in Spanish hotels) but a quick blast in the provided microwave fixed that. We did eat in the Don Pablo one evening and although the food was excellent it just didn't have the same vibe. It was in a ballroom type environment instead of a garden/outdoor environment of the Don Marco.

All 3 hotels in the complex are very well maintained, the grounds are very lush and green and it has a very relaxed atmosphere.

If you have a car it will cost you 12 euros a night to park so park on the street outside like everyone else did.

Position of the hotel is right on the beach with the usuall tourist type shops to the left and right. Some nice bars in the area (try the Irish bar with the mexican manager !) and good places for lunch.

Walk to the town centre is via a narrow staircase but it is filled with shops so you don't notice the walk so much if your browsing. There is a lift for 50 cents but it closes at 6pm. Turn right out of the hotel and walk all the way to the old town (very nice) or keep going to Benelmadena if your a keen walker.

Make sure you join the SOL MAS club before you go (free) and you can keep your room until 4pm on the last day, very handy.

I WILL return to this hotel again (hopefully this year) as we had a great time. If you have any questions or concerns drop me an email and I will try to help. totalguitar20@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank totalguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews