We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic spanish with a touch of opera”
Review of Caliu Restaurant

Caliu Restaurant
Reserve with
Caliu Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 704 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic spanish with a touch of opera”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Came here with my partner for a touch of spanish & we wernt let down. We had to order paella the day before but it was worth it. We had sangria which was tasty accompanied with a chorizo type sausage free of charge. Starters we acorn fed pork carpachio, was so silky it melted in your mouth. We had red wine with our paella which went down a treat. Caliu is a lovely restuarant which is so hard to find & due to the fact there are so many beach front restuarants to eat in many people dont eat here but i highly recommend it. You can have the €15 menu which looked lovely. I would much rather support the family run restuarant who are very attentive & cant do enough for you. I would come back any day, just one thing.....they had someone singing opera which was abit uneasy at times especially when he sings at you on your table but it was different & its them little touches you always remember. 5* service, 5* food

Helpful?
6 Thank coley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    45
    34
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“A must when in Montemar!!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by some friends who visited a couple of weeks ago whilst on holiday in the Montemar area. They raved about the quality and the service so we made sure to put it on our " to do list" when in the area. Ok, from the outside the building would look dated and a bit run down but do not be put off. We turned up without a reservation (you should book before hand) but the owner very kindly put us on a reserved table as there was only two of us and we would not be long, nice touch.The restaurant is split over two floors with dining also available in the garden area, wonderful on a hot summers night. The menu was not complicated and with a little section advertising food to have whilst waiting for the starters!
The owners are from Barcelona and have prepared a menu with a twist. The wine was one of the finest I have had in Spain for many years (recommended by Toni the owner). My choice of Seabass was amazing and truely melted in the mouth, I am getting hungry writing this!!!
Do not go home without visiting this restaurant you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank CostaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing service and lovely food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I am a little late reviewing this restaurant as we went last September but I can't wait to go again this September! We ate there twice during our weeks stay and both times we had a fab food and service. We have been coming to Montemar for years and only discovered this gem two years ago - we will make a beeline for it when we go in 5 weeks time. Loved the chorizo and garlic/tomato bread omplimentary starter and in particular the pork main is lovely. Fully recommend, it looks tiny, but they do have seating upstairs but we have only sat outside. Fabulous restaurant for reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skinny1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

After seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor my partner and I decided to take a look at this this restaurant.
On our way to the beach one morning we walked past this restaurant to look at the menu. This we found to be very impressive with a wide variety of choice.
We still decided to give this little place a try that evening.
We are so glad we did as the food and the service and no less than excellent. We had a 4 course meal with wine which was also fantastic. The bill turned out to be less than we had paid all week at the other restaurants on the main sea front and around the harbour.
We retured again on Wednesday 16th July 2014 at 9:45pm and the restaurant was almost full, lucky we managed to get the last table. Once again the food was excellent and the service fantastic.
This restaurant had impressed us so much we booked a table for our last night of our holiday this been Saturday 19th July 2014. This was an extremely busy night but the food and the service never let up. On all 3 visits we tried different things off the menu and every one was as brilliant as the last. If I return to the costa del sol I will with out a doubt be going to this restaurant. 5 stars

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a meal as my partner had been there ten years ago and wanted to know if it was still as good as before. He said it was... Its a lovely little place and the food was beautiful, especially the pork. The service wasn't bad but they weren't too attentive either so thats why they haven't got full marks

Helpful?
1 Thank FLS2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliu Restaurant also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Caliu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing