We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great find little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gato Lounge

El Gato Lounge
Reserve with
El Gato Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 636 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Delicatessen, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In 2006 El Gato opened its doors and since then it became one of those 'ever-popular' restaurants. Inspired by the spirit of Spain we embrace a philosophy that connects Good Food and Mediterranean free style, resulting in an unpretentious eatery known for its quality food and friendly service that has become a favorite among locals and so many returning visitors.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great find little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

the friendliest and warm welcome of el gato you guys really make it work . our afternoon sat in the sun watching the world go by was perfect . had the chance to meet DJ THE DOG , its cheap and good quality thanks guys

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    362
    103
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pleasant open terrace on the seafront walkway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This cafe-bar has a very pleasant ambiance with friendly staff, opposite the Beirola beach in Torremolinos... and is a great place to drop in for a coffee, a snack or a drink... and to people-watch the promenading. We also enjoyed some warm January sun, too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Galeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
210 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A lovely place to chill and watch the world go by. Nice staff and good service. A great place for people watching and spend the afternoon relaxing. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Hangout.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Escaping the Xmas madness my partner and myself booked a last minute deal and headed off to Torremuelle just outside Bellamedina. Luckily there was a great train service so most days we headed into Torremolinos and Malaga. We found El Gato by chance on our first day and loved it. The guys who own and run the lounge were very friendly, not overbearing by any means but smiley and helpful when asked.The food was well presented, very tasty and not expensive by any means. I LOVED the coffee and my partner became great friends with the Cava! While the clientèle is largely Gay it is not exclusively so. El Gato is bright and cheerful with lightweight blankets to cover you if it gets a tad chilly and while lots of the other cafes were empty (it was Christmas) El Gato always seemed to have a steady flow of customers eating, drinking and watching the crowds go past...its a great place to people watch. After our first visit we went back every afternoon, sometimes for food, sometimes just for drinks and a chat. I would recommend El Gato to anyone visiting Torremolinos, its not pretentious, it knows exactly what it is, a great wee place to eat, drink, relax, take your time and watch the world go by. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Beach front cafe/restaurant. Friendly attentive staff. The food was excellent and well presented. I had the blue cheese, apple and walnut salad. All the ingredients were fresh and the portions generous. Excellent value for money (meal, 2 coffees and a soft drink just over €13). Also great location to people watch on the promenade. I will definitely go back and would highly recommend El Gato Lounge. Has free wifi too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Lounge also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Gato Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing