We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel ready for a relaxing time with our daughter and her daughters 15 and 8 we were looking forward to the free ice cream for the kids and the kids club that was advertised on the hotels website so we had gone with great expectations first we were told there was no ice cream till Monday as they had run out so ok we went to look for the beach which the website said was 50 metres away 45 minutes later we found the beach the kids were disappointed but got on with the holiday , then we were told the kids club was seasonal and because we went in early October we were too late again ok there's the pool and they can get slush puppie type drinks not to worry then we were sitting at breakfast two days after we arrived in the restaurant after going up for her buffet breakfast my daughter sat down to eat it hanging her handbag on her chair after breakfast she got up to go but her hand bag was missing she found it on the next table behind a pillar missing her purse and two mobile phones both her bank cards and driving licence gone we reported it at reception but they weren't interested in helping us they told her to go to the local police station and report it we were told there was someone who spoke English there but there wasn't there was no security at all in this hotel anyone could walk in,
so I spent the next few hours cancelling her phones and blocking them so we decided to carry on with the holiday then the hotel staff gave our 8 year old an alcoholic slush drink there was no spa no gym the games tables couldn't be played with out of season they didn't cater for kids it was a complete disaster when does all inclusive not become all inclusive answer at the royal costa hotel after September I would advise people not to choose this hotel or gem holidays I know I won't

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidHarperhennessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello David,

We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay. As you comment on your review the mini club is closed out of season. As for ice cream, this is a totally exceptional. Finally, we deeply regret the event that we mentioned. we will work hard to avoid a repeat. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    234
    190
    97
    72
See reviews for
227
253
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed from the 6th October 2013 for one week with my partner. I found the hotel to be very modern and clean, food was varied and didn't struggle to eat the whole duration of the trip. hotel grounds are really nice. The drinks were very nice and plenty of choice. Rooms were modern and clean. Bed very comfortable. The only down side was that were located in Los Alamos and not Torremolinos itself, though wasn't too big of a problem as there is a train station at the back of the hotel and is easy enough to get too. Only cost a few euros for the ticket and took you to the other resorts, like belemadena and so on. The hotel itself is in a residential area and is very quiet at night, which is great for getting some quality sleep. The entertainment was not the best but if your quite happy to sit and drinkt the night away its ok. If you have kids they will be disappointed as there was no entertainment for them. Over all I had a lovely time and would stay again at this hotel if requiring a relaxing break. Great Value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recommendation of Hotel Royal Costa. We will take note of your feedback to continue to provide high quality service to our guests. The location of our hotel is very near the beach and within walking distance of the train station, so you can enjoy the best of the city and relax in Los Alamos. We hope to have you back with us. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

sold this hotel as in torrelmolinos but it was two train stops away so at night you were isolated as no shops bars or beach walks. entertainment was woeful reception disinterested, no timetables for bus or train no books to read food was awful desserts every night angel delight. Hotel very clean grounds very nice having a bath or a shower was very hazardous as you had to climb into the bath to turn on taps if water was too hot you could not reach the taps to turn cold water on without burning your feet. only plus was weather was good

Room Tip: check bathroom before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Rhona,

Hotel Royal Costa is located in Torremolinos, in a residential area known as Los Alamos. We have a train station right next to uncomplicated move to the center of Torremolinos, Malaga and Fuengirola. We will take note of your comments. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

spent a week here in October, and for the money we paid it was fine, very clean hotel, food ok, not a lot of choice, but always something to eat, room was clean and comfortable. Paid 1 euro 70 each for transfer from airport to hotel, only 2 stops, and 5 mins walk from station to hotel, so don't pay for a transfer, the ticket machines at station are easy to use, the hotel is not in the centre of torremolinos we which knew before we arrived, but its ideal for getting around on the train, you can walk to los Alamos beach 10/15 mins stroll, all in all we would go back, for the money we paid great value, if you want 4 star hotel in middle of torremolinos you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor , we where on 1st floor, and it could get a bit noisy when entertainment was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juesysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we were sold a holiday supposed to be in torremolinos but it was 2 train stops away from torremolinos,did not like this, as we enjoy walking round shops at night, hotel was to far out of town. the food was terrible, every thing was very greasy, staff were very helpful,really let down by the standard of the food at this hotel,on the quality of the food i would only rate this hotel as 2 star

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie2007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is adjacent to a train station 2 stops from the center of Torremolinos. As for food from our buffet, we offer a variety of cold dishes, salads and hot dishes of Mediterranean and international cuisine.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Orihuela
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped here as part of a group on our way to Morocco. Nice enough situation but would not want to return there. Our room was okay but the bathroom had a mere trickle of hot water in basin and shower. The buffet for supper was not very appealing. Large restaurant and very noisy with what appeared to be lots of people on package deals. Wine expensive at 2.50 euros a glass. We had to be up and away early but breakfast was very poor. The grounds of the hotel looked quite nice with pool and garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Royal Costa is ideally located near the airport, next to a train station and just minutes walking from the beach.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A fair review takes several things into consideration, a little time researching the location, area and of course the price paid for the entire holiday.
All of this said i have to agree with one or two other reviewers who are annoyed about the negativity shown to this hotel.
The location is in a rather pleasant residential area but dont be put off by that, its got the train station right on the doorstep and one or two bars and shops nearby.
The hotel itself is, by and large, fairly clean all round, rooms cleaned regularly, garden and pool area looked after quite well and most of the staff we found to be helpful if spoken to in a respectful manner.
We did, however, find that one or two of the staff were a little rude and another guest commented "its because its the end of the season", this is no excuse to be awkward. we are paying guests no matter what the time of year!
For us, the food was fairly good, plenty to eat and plenty of choice, again, break it down and look at what it has actually cost you for each meal.
The entertainment was typical of Spanish hotels, no better,no worse.
If i were to be negative then for us the hotel lacked an overall spanish feel, the dining room probably being the worst, it felt like being back at school, also why do all inclusive guests have to drink from plastic glasses? i can understand the pool area is a no go but evenings and the bar area, especially when guests who are paying for drinks get theirs served in a glass. (also when its hot a half pint of spanish lager which is half froth is gone in seconds!)
Would we return here?, certainly along this stretch of coastline, the connecting train service is excellent and the area is generally nice with a lovely clean beach and the hotel, yes i think we would if the price (there it is again) was right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Howard,

Thanks for your comments about Hotel Royal Costa. As mention in your review the location of the hotel, despite being in a quiet area of ​​Torremolinos are right next to the train station. Cleanliness is a key factor in our hotel as well as the food. Thank you for valuing the variety we offer in our buffet. We will take note of your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#59 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#40 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#35 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 2,550 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Property: Royal Costa Hotel
Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing