We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel itself is very clean and modern decor, the rooms were spacious and very clean too, my partner and two kids went there on half board basis, the food though was pretty poor, it was supposed to be themed nights but I can't remember Chinese food ever including cous cous :/, if I'm honest we ate out virtually every night we were there for the week as we could only stomach breakfast, I definitely wouldn't recommend half board or all inclusive as it just wouldn't suit some people. It's very secluded and quiet surroundings, the beach is a good ten minute walk which we didn't mind as it was nice to get out and about, the train station is less than 5 minutes walk which is very handy as torremolinos is two train stops away if your wanting more hustle and bustle. It's ideal if you want a quiet area but there's not much around for kids to do but as the train station is close by its not too bad. I would go back again but certainly not half board or all inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martinshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Customer,
We like to know that you enjoyed our hotel and that you plan to return. Thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price. You can follow our latest news through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    278
    255
    124
    108
See reviews for
298
321
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel is very clean. We were a party of 2 adults 2 children aged 3 and 9.
Staff friendly, food fine, 2 fussy kids always found food they liked. Hotdogs , sandwiches, burgers at pool bar around 5 pm, always nuts and crisps available and coffee tea, chocolate.
Entertainment as good as any 4 star we've stayed at, kids enjoyed magic show, reptile show, Charlie Chaplin and mini disco. Great entertainment team including Gabriella who was lovely with the kids. Beech is a pleasant 10 min walk via underpass of train and residential area.
The train is a stones throw away which is a bonus. The station is Los alamos not torremolinos which is another 2 stops on, if you decide to get that to and from hotel. Really easy to use modern trains. Would recommend a trip to malaga.
Down side: rooms a little tight for 4 people but v clean. There is a small splash pool for younger kids but main pool is pretty deep even in shallowest part , however there is always a life guard and in fact the 9 yr old became much more confident in the deep water which was great.
You need to get up early if you want a sun bed but there are plenty if grassed areas to sunbathe with an air bed or towel.
They ran out of whiskey cream/ baileys :-( just when I got a taste for it but plenty other drinks on offer and kids lived the slush drinks.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holshmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is situated 3 stops away from the airport, by local train. We travelled in august 2013 and paid 3,40 Euro for two single adult tickets. From the airport until you arrive Los Alamos, where the hotel is, takes about 7 minutes, give or take.
We found out soon enough that the hotel Royal Costa is like a small scale model of Britain. The guests are mostly British – and as the British do most places – they act as they own the place.
The pros and cons of the Hotel Royal Costa – are listed below. Do not book this hotel if you want to experience Spain – all you will get to see here are very British and very drunk British people. And maybe a few other normal people – of course from other parts of the world than Great Britain.

Pros
Reasonable prices – for a family of three with all inclusive you pay around 900 Euro.
The “restaurant” – there is a great variety of different food and drinks.
The beer is good as well as the water and the orange juice /naranja.
All rooms have air-condition. Which works very well.

Cons
The staff are more or less either angry, indifferent or hostile towards tourists. Perhaps because of constant harassment from drunk British tourists? We never found out. Low pay perhaps?
The meat is never properly made. Either too much or too less, making the meat either burnt or as eatable as an old shoe.
The restaurant and the “cooks” – all their food is more or less bathed in oil.
The food which isn’t bathed in oil, did only get a thorough shower – with olive oil. Thus most of the food tastes like – olive oil.
The sunbeds and lack of control – Again the British guests act as this is Britain – so they lay a towel or two on the sunbeds - THE NIGHT BEFORE – so when morning comes, no sunbeds are available for other guests. Why? The British took all the sunbeds with their towels. And how many people do you think use the reserved sunbeds? You guessed right. None – because the British do not stop there. They also need to occupy most of the chairs as well.
What is even more shocking is that the hotel allows this to happen.
The swimming pool – has practically no rules – so the British jump into to it – from all direction – and with every possible clothing. Of course the hygienic rule of taking a shower before swimming does not apply to the British – because they are so clean anyway. After all – they are British. At least seems like they think so themselves.

The hotel area is ok. Short distance to the train station (Los Alamos) which every 20 minutes or so could bring you in the direction of either Malaga or Fuengirola - for a reasonable price.

Do not be surprised if one of the people in the guest-swimming pool is the restaurant waiter. This is also very strange. Never experienced such a mix in other hotels.

Room Tip: Room towards the airport are the most silent. Away from the entertainment area. The sun is not as in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear costumer,
We regret that you did not enjoy your holiday with us. Regarding the food, buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers. Our staff works hard to give the best service to our customers. As for the inconvenience caused by the other guests, we try to ensure relaxation and fun at all of you, but sometimes it is difficult because it depends on how people behave. We hope you give us another opportunity to show the good service of our hotel.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great value holiday.

We went for a week there was five of us there, four adults and one child. It was a great holiday for the price we paid.

Hotel was clean and tidy. Maids visited room every day with fresh towels. The rooms had air con which was a great plus point for me as it was very hot when we were there.

Food was good but as per most three star all inclusive holidays the food can get a bit repetitive so staying for more than a week and you may get fed up of the grub on offer.

Bar was outside and served drinks from 11am till 11pm drinks were good with a good few choices.

If you coming from Malaga airport don't bother with transfers just hop on the train it was about 1.70 euro. With the train station so close to the hotel everything down the coast id just a short train ride.

Would recommend this to anyone lookiing for a nice 3 star holiday in south spain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear costumer,
We are very grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. There is nothing better than knowing that our customers have enjoyed your holiday with us. Hope to see you around here again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price. Follow our promotions through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived 3 hours late due to being delayed because it was after midnight we could not get a drink. that wasn't a good start. Wifi is a bit hit and miss. Food horrible ate out a lot of times. Had to be up early to get sunbeds. Location was rubbish nothing around hotel apart from train luckly, we used a lot. Rooms are cleaned every day which was good. Would NEVER go back to this hotel worst holiday ever. The entertainment was not good had pool table which didn't work nothing for young children to do they were all bored. This is an honest opinion.

Room Tip: don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juliewoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We regret that you did not enjoy your holiday with us. Regarding the food, buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just come back from a 10 day all inclusive holiday (family of 4) when we arrived it was about 1 in the morning as got delayed. Couldn't even offer a drink and nowhere to get one in the place as everything's closed so had to walk the streets to find a bar lucky we found one! The rooms wernt bad at all, good air conditioning and cleaned everyday (cleaners were very good!). I wouldn't class ourselfs really fussy eaters but the food was awful it was ok if you wanted pasta pork and fish for lunch and dinner, and plastic in your pudding. We ate out most evenings. It was lucky there was a train station close by because your literally in the middle of nowhere and nothing to do, the entrainment was boring! by 12 clock everyone went to bed. The beach is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. We spent a lot of time in monte mar which is about 3 spots away. Went to the aqua park which was good! Played the same cd all holiday must be on replay. You had to be up at 7 half 7 or you wouldn't get a sunbed as they were all taken, wouldn't recommend at all it was the worse holiday :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole02marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear costumer,
We regret that you did not enjoy your holiday with us. Regarding the food, buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers. We hope you give us another opportunity to show the good service of our hotel.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were a party of 7 adults ranging from 16 to 44. Just come back from a seven day all inclusive stay at this hotel. Absolutely Great. Hotel really, really friendly. We had 4 rooms booked and the hotel staff made sure we were all on the same floor (even though originally we had been placed all over hotel.) Arrived early and were given 2 rooms that were ready and told to return for keys to the other 2 in an hour. bar staff friendly. No limit to drinks which was great. Breakfast same every day but plenty to choose from with cereal, cooked, toast, fresh fruit, pate and cheese. We all said the lunches were better than the evening meal which were themed. The Mexican one was really good. Beautiful gardens and pool area was nice and you could lay on the grass if there were no sunbeds. Mixture of nationalities and ages but they catered for all. perfect location. We caught the train from Malaga Airport and it is just 2 stops to Los Alamos for 1.70 euro and you can see hotel and it is literally a few minutes walk around the corner (don't book a transfer). Train is really cheap to go to Torremolinos or Fuengirola. Water park good again get the train for 3.40 euro return. Walk to Torremolinos is lovely. Beach is very clean and the walkway path along is a lovely walk with green parakeets in all the trees. Entertainment ok. Food is same as any other hotel we have stayed in for 3 star, plenty of choice and there is something for everyone ( 2 of our girls very, very fussy but ate ok). We will definitely stay here again and would recommend. Great location, clean, friendly and easily accessible for different areas with train nearby. Great for the price. Ignore bad reviews this is a great 3 star hotel for the price.

Room Tip: All rooms have air conditioning included. All had views of either pool, sea or the road but non wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#56 of 71 in Torremolinos
646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,049 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 71 in Torremolinos
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Property: Royal Costa Hotel
Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing