We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you fancy sharing your hotel with tatooed chimpanzees who come down for evening dinner in shorts and/or hat, order drinks at the lounge bar without a shirt on, and allow their kids to play noisily in the bedroom corridors at 1:00am in the morning, then this is just the hotel for you.
Admittedly, none of this is the fault of the hotel which has adequately sized bedrooms which are kept very clean and tidy by attentive staff. All the staff are generally really helpful with a ready response to any gesture of friendliness from you (a small tip at the bar is much appreciated, even if it is all-inclusive). On the downside, meals are bland and repetitive with after-dinner coffees having to be made by yourself in paper cups.
On the upside, the hotel is very handy for the railway which makes trips out to Fuengerola, Malaga, Benelmadina, etc easy to make and the fare is very reasonable.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea have a nicer outlook but there is a small amount of noise from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellowwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 967 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week all inclusive for a week in august 2012. The transfer is really close from airport, and you can also get the train, there is a train stop round the back of the hotel and easy to get to other places and not too expensive too. Rooms were spacious , clean. Bathroom was big too and kept clean. Food was repeated but always nice. They did themed nights in the restaurant eg, italian one night mexican the next etc if you wanted it. They had a little stage outside where they did entertainment at night for both kids about 8pm and then more fir adults. We came here with a budget holiday company and paid next to nothing and it was great last min booking. Would i go back? Yes.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

OK..so, first things first..I LOVED this hotel.

A lot has been made of the cleanliness of the hotel, and it sure is clean. The staff are constantly cleaning.

The food..varied and I enjoyed it. I would say, however, that if you're a practicing Muslim - it may not be for you. Saying that..plenty of fish and fresh salad that is kept topped up by the hard working staff.

I didn't experience any favoritism from staff, and there's no disguising the fact that I'm a Brit.

I loved how everything was accessible. The beach is a 10 minute walk (if that) and is also clean. The train station is 2 minutes away and there are things to do..if you're someone who enjoys more than just lazing by the pool.

We had some bad weather whilst there, which made us get up and explore other areas we might not have done if the sun was blazing.

There are local bars that do AWESOME cocktails. Although one place did try to charge us to get in due to it being a Salsa night. When we walked back about an hour later, we were let in without paying (result).

All in all; I enjoyed it. It was exactly what we were looking for.

Thank you, Royal Costa :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the train station. Ocean view. Preferably on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KBZLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us :) We are very pleased that our positive values ​​Buffet and cleanliness of our establishment. We hope to see you soon with us and we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Straight to the point. This hotel was amazing, all the problems other fussy people have experienced, i did not. No racism, the meals WERE different, the entertainment WAS in english and it WAS good and you were and are able to get involved if you are english as myself and my girlfriend did, the only thing people are right about is how clean the hotel was and how nice the life guard was (he kicked a football in a girls face while i was there) quick enough to apoligize as it was a fly away and he was just kicking it towards the pool and it her in the face. We were greeted with a smile and immediatly taken to our room even though we were early and we were ready for food come 1. Not once did i have the same meal, i am quiet fussy but there is always a turkey, pork, beef, fish, chicken, soup, potato dishe's and rice dish, always salad and each night the fish changed or the leg of chicken became nuggets or a chicken burger. Only once did we see the same thing. Even if it was the same every 3 days, so what if you have the same meal twice, but not once in 7 days did we have the same meal. Even my girlfriend (Gwendy) could find something to eat. Breakfast was always breakfast, cereal, toast, full english orange juice and no all inclusive drinks till 11am i believe. a lot of people complained about that but we didnt have a problem with orange juice, grapefruit, pineapple, water and all types of tea and coffee. There was always a dessert. Always ice cream and the desserts seemed to change between rice pudding with cinnamon, creme brulee, chocolate/strawberry cake squares, and there was ALWAYS fruit. The room was the biggest room i have stayed in during my holidays i have had over the last 3 months '3 star in rome' '2 star in nice/monaco' air conditioning was also fine. Plenty of space to fit all your belongings, we had 2 22kg suitcase's and we had plenty of space to spare, we had a dissapointing view but hey ho you don't live in your room (at least i don't). Sitting area was spacious, clean and very quiet, there was also internet access which only worked in the lobby, but surely an all inclusive holiday is to get away and forget about the world stay off facebook and all the gossipp and just enjoy the time you have together as a family/couple (by the way we stayed from september 3rd to september 8th). The pool area was adequate, every sun longer was used every day but we never had trouble getting one, we were at the pool getting our lounger by 9 most days. You have paid for this holiday so get up that bit earlier to avoid dissapointment and sleep when your sunbathing or just make more of your day (i've never understood 'lie in's' on holiday). Anyway back to the pool area,there was always ice cream avaliable at the pool bar, but the snacks seemed to be no existant some days. there were some things in a little fridge like pain au chocolat but some times the snacks were burgers or hotdogs (would of been nice to see a bit more of that) and the people at the pool bar could at least smile (That goes for some of the staff in the dining area) they didnt seem very happy, dont get me wrong they got what you asked but it would of been nice to have got on with them as well as we did with Sandra and Raul. These are the entertainment staff and can i just take a moment to say how nice and friendly they were and how they both spoke ENGLISH. We took part in a lot the activities such as bowls, darts, table tennis, water polo, bowling (plastic pins were painful to watch on a windy day with 10 5 year olds!!) the pool is a minimum of 1.5 metres by the way. Every night bar mondays as it is the entertaiments day off there was an activitie every hour from 12 till 6 with a lunch break for them and every night there was something like Bingo, Trivia quiz, reptile show, bird show and flamenco and all the main shows are outsiders who come in so they make the effort to pay so its not some secound hand show. We never got on with 2 people so well the entertainment double team really were so so nice and they loved us taking part too. They even thought my girlfriends name was wendy instead of gwen so we were nicknamed 'Peter and Gwendy' i hope ive given you a clearer picture of this hotel as it really is perfect. For the £690.00 with flights and a transfer (which i did not need as the airport is 10 minutes from los alamos which is where the hotel is situated and its only 2 or 3 euros and its a 3 minute walk from the train you can see the train from the back of the hotel) that we paid you honestly could not go wrong. Thanks for a great holiday Royal Costa and also i would like to mention Antonio from the main desk who helped with everything from advice on wether to walk places or taxi, where to get money off coupons for aqualand and so on. The hotel was very close to the train station and airport and you heard planes taking off from the pool area ( every 25 minutes but it lasted secounds WE NEVER HEARD ANYTHING FROM INSIDE THE HOTEL). I Hope the reviews go up from here on out because this place really was great it was also a 15 minute walk from the beach! If you read this far thank you ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to our friends at TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything has been to your liking. As you commet we offer an excellent value for money. The satisfaction of our customers motivates us to keep improving. As animation, our entertainment team offers activities for all nationalities. We appreciate your comments about our buffet, as you say, our kitchen staff prepares a varied menu. We wish to see you soon and we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

upon arrival late at night to the hotel that we had a confirmed reservation for for Oct 29, 2012, we found the hotel closed for the season...we did not receive for notification that they were closed, only upon arriving by taxi and then having to find another hotel late at night. the hotel we ended up at said that this hotel always closes at this time of year.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank happynites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear customer,

We deeply regret the inconvenience. We invite you to contact the agency or reservation center with which hired his journey. We close sales on our website from October 22. We apologize for the misunderstanding and we assure you that we were not informed about that.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

went here for 6 days with my husband on an all inclusive visit we had been here 4 years ago when it was half board, first of all can i say the food was a total let down if anything the salad tasted good as for the rest? on arrival i was dissapointed to find my room requests after sending 3 emails and had positive feed back, were ignored we ended up taking a room overlooking mountains but near road i had a better room 4 years ago! the staff were okay but the girl on the bar with the black curly hair had an attitude problem was really bad. any way changes all around and anyone going here unless your spanish forget about it or you will regret it

Room Tip: you wont get one its just the luck of the draw they dont pay attention to requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dad186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Royal Costa to spend a few days off. Sorry for the inconvenience. We try to respond to the request of our customers if our availability allows. On this occasion it was not possible. We appreciate your feedback. We will take note of your suggestions for transmission to the appropriate departments. We look forward to see you soon at our facilities.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel is not actually in Torremolinas - in wee place called 'Los Almos'.
Never an all inclusive hotel, more like full board with drinks. Certainly don't cater for children, no ice cream, ice lollies or anything for children. Breakfast was very basic and not very appetising at times. No snacks, if you didn't like breakfast you had to wait until 1 pm until dining hall opened.
Crisps, nuts and olives were served at the bar about 5 pm, sometimes there was pizza (disgusting) and stale turned up sandwiches! Lunch and dinner were fine, we always found something to eat. However, they don't put a lot of food out at the one time so sometimes you had to wait as they had run out of food.
Entertain was very poor and you couldn't get near for a lot of rude old folk who thought they had a right to stand in front of the kids!
Most of the staff were very nice in the restaurant and in the bar. You could go up as many times and get as many drinks as you liked. Bar closed at 11 pm, however we sometimes just got another few rounds in and they never complained or refused us. After the bar closed we often walked round the corner to a little friendly bar to watch football, have a beer and/or lovely fresh pizza.
A few times we got train in to Torremolinas at night and had drinks and coffees there, just because the entertainment at hotel was rubbish. HAd to keep kids amused (and some adults). Again, different kinds of nightlife to suit all. We did a couple of clubs and really enjoyed them. 24 hour square was very quiet at this time of year.
Beach is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and it is lovely. We paid 3.50 for a sun lounger and they were soooooo comfortable.

Also train station backs on to the hotel and we used it to go into Torremolinas. Again, it was very cheap, 1.65 euros and only two stops away. Most times we just walked back as it was a straight road. Train also two or three stops to Malaga Airport so don't waste money on transport, it is only two mins away from hotel.
Pool area was disgusting, don't think it is cleaned very often. However, rooms and inside hotel were spotless.
Free use of WIFI, however signal not very good.
Weather was great for this time of year. Would go back to Torremolinas but just wouldn't use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Susan,

Firstly we appreciate your comments about our hotel. On the location of our Hotel we have to tell you that if you are in the municipality of Torremolinos, "Los Alamos" is a neighborhood and 2 train stops have Torremolinos center and just meters from the beach. Our dining room opens at 1:00 and we have clients of various nationalities. As for our All Inclusive offer a wide range of hot and cold snacks. We look forward to see you soon with us at Hotel Royal Costa.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#52 of 71 in Torremolinos
729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#36 of 71 in Torremolinos
443 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: $52 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing