We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A delight in the sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Fresco

Cafe Fresco
Ranked #8 of 19 Dessert in Torremolinos
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A new Mediterranean experience has arrived in La Carihuela, Cafe Fresco has an open kitchen for all to see the sandwich creations we have on offer made on 'real' freshly baked bread! We have an extensive array of specialty coffees, iced coffees & slushes, ice cream sundaes, salads, oven-baked jacket potatoes, and the Crepes Suzettes are a memory in the making! The terraces have beautiful views over Playa de la Carihuela, and all our menu is available for takeaway to the beach.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A delight in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Was pulled in by coffee n baileys at 1.80 Euro, front the start you get a biscuit too which is always a nice touch. We heard people talk about the food, so decided to try some the following day. And wow its all fresh, reasonable, great service, the couple run it, take time to talk to you, it was also popular with the locals which is always a great sign.

So, next time you are passing pop in for a snack, a drink, you will be made to feel welcome.

Next time I visit the costa del sol, I will definitely be returning here. Thank you Tracey and Stefan.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedders39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    17
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Yes this is a cafe, however, a very good cafe although we were only in Torremolinos for 3 days we found it there on our second day and returned on our third day. The measures of the drinks are very, very, good. Stephan and Tracey have only been there since January of this year. The food is excellent, very nicely presented making it simply the best, all the same the food and drinks are very reasonably priced. They found out we were there for my wife`s birthday which was the day before we went there, they then surprised us with a special drink each presented on a plate just like that. We will certainly go there on our next visit to Torremolinos good luck and Merry Christmas to you both we wish you all the best for the future. It`s a cafe, however, an excellent cafe with very good food and drinks the Sangria is ecellent. We visited 30 Nov & 1 Dec 2012

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RicRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have visited Cafe Fresco on many occasions. The place is very spacious and clean. You can sit outside and look over to the sea. Stephan and Tracey who own the cafe are always welcoming and keen to help. The menu is varied including daily specials. The sandwiches are excellent and great value for money. There is a great choice of different types of bread and a good selection of cakes. Excellent choice of wines to accompany your lunch! Welll worth a visit!! 10 out of 10!! A cafe from home in the sun!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds U.K.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for Snacks, Sandwiches and Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stephan and Tracey do that little bit extra that really matters.
Whether a serviette under the tea pot, carrier bag for your sandwiches for the airport or beach or a blanket on a cold day, these two put the needs of the customer first.
Open daily 8am to 6pm.
I am promised the wonderful cakes are calorie free, but dont care.
All the food is excellent, reasonably priced and presented by people who obviously love what they do.
Certainly worth a visit if in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best we have eaten in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

as a family we have been to this area quite a few times and came across Cafe Fresco at the start of our weeks stay , was reassuring to see it quite busy as a lot of places were dead on the front! anyway we were not disappointed, the food was great, it was made and presented to a very high standard, Cappucinno"s were really good and the Sangria is the best I've tasted! we actually returned to eat and drink here 6 times, trying different things from the menu and we were not disappointed with anything we tried ,the chimichurri (spelling!) chicken was our favourite and the one I would recommend ! nothing negative to say, place was spotless, Stephan and Tracey very welcoming which was a breath of fresh air compared to some of the cafe hosts we have experienced in the area over recent years and after a bit of gentle persuasion/banter Stephan even gave us his recipe for the Sangria.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fresco also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Cafe Fresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing