We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

i booked up a week by myself with thomson's in july 2014 . upon arriving discovered that a single room came without a balcony , so decided to try my luck back at reception ..i asked how much it was to upgrade my room so i could have a balcony, was initially told 10 euros per night , but after a brief discussion behind reception they said i could have one for no extra cost .
this room came with a partial sea view, with all the amenities one would expect. so was a good start .
the food was pretty reasonable , breakfast(8-10.30) the usual english / continental fare which i think would cater for all tastes. lunch(13-15) consisted of a buffet selection of salads , cold fish , cheese , pizza slices , burgers , and differing other hot options (breaded pork , chicken pieces, paella etc).there are 2 dinner sittings starting at 7.15 and 8.45 , which gentlemen must wear trousers (a bit warm if like me you are on the early run, but i understand the reasons for it ), again pretty decent food and i believe a genuine attempt is being made to offer plenty of variety day to day. to be honest as nice as it was i rarely had anything with real "wow factor" , but i was also able to make up a decent meal every night , so no complaints . a second smaller option is available in the evening when to pool bar converts to a restaurant . this can be booked the preceding day in the main dining area , and although still a buffet is certainly worth a couple of visits as provides a much more relaxed atmosphere .
the gardens and pool(not huge but just about big enough) area are well maintained ; indeed to whole hotel both outside and in is spotlessly clean , very impressive .
i cannot really comment on the indoor main hotel bar and the entertainment available as i popped out most evenings , although it did seem a bit holiday camp looking at what was on .
the drinks available i found to be of good quality , the white , rose and red wines are i think are the equal of the house wines in the local bars , the beer and brandy were also fine ; certainly no evidence of "watering down" which i have heard can occassionally happen in other all inclusive resorts.
location wise the hotel is right opposite the beach , with a reasonable selection of bars, reasonably priced restaurants, a few tourist "tat" shops , also a chemist selling shampoos , soap etc , so no need to load up on liquids. the main resort centre is about a 20 minute walk away , there is a bus service (1.50 eur) that runs about every 20mins just outside the hotel (plenty of taxis available about 5/6.00 euro apparently). only a 10 minute transfer from malaga airport(although you are not affected by aircraft noise)
the hotel has 3 computers for guests which cost 1 euro for 12 mins , 2 euro for 1/2 hour , you can also pay for wi fi which is available in reception (a bit cheaper than the computer i cannot exactly remember)
two things stand out , the cleanliness of the hotel , and the excellence of the staff . food was reasonable ,drinks were good , you could do a lot worse

Room Tip: ask ! you dont ask you dont get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank dsanders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    1,379
    617
    183
    122
See reviews for
1,063
1,558
78
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

have been here 4 times, no children. lovely pool although people have a habit of putting towels on chairs for hours before they use then .if I saw chairs not used in 2 hours I just took towels off and used them. Beach beautiful and fabulous comfortable loungers and cheap. rooms good but it depends how up market you need to be so make sure you ask for what you want. food plentiful and lots of choice. staff very very helpful and obliging and we found the entertainment very very good, last year it was diabolical so they seem to have sorted it out and what a differents

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanmelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I travelled to Riu Costa Lago with 2 friends for a weeks break in the first week of July. The hotel is a 15/20 minute coach journey from the airport and less than a 5 minute walk down the road to the beach. On arrival, the reception staff laid on champagne and gave us all the information we needed for our room, safe, pool towels and dining times. You have to choose a time for dinner - either 6.30 or 8.30, but this can be changed if you're going out for the day or on a trip (they'll even give you a lunch box of fruit and water, which you can top up with food from the breakfast buffet). I would recommend taking the 6.30 sitting, as the lounge bar gets really crowded of an evening and it'll give you the opportunity to get a seat.
The rooms are dated, but they're perfectly clean and have plenty of storage. We were towards the front of the hotel, facing the road. I personally preferred this as we could see the sea and didn't have the noise of the pool/lounge bar of an evening. We did notice some rooms around the pool were on the ground floor facing the pool - they didn't have any privacy and I wouldn't have been happy in one of them!
The food was lovely, very varied with plenty of vegetables, salads and meats on offer. In the evening there's a cooking station where there's always some form of carvery meat, and fish is served every day. You can also get your bread and butter, chips, burgers, pasta etc. Breakfast offers a variety of eggs, bacon, sausage - all the usual favourites, as well as cereals, croissants and yoghurts.
The pool is smaller than expected, but I found we were able to get a few sunbeds up until about 10am. If there are a lot of you then I'd get down there early, as people do come down at 7 to put their towels on a bed and then go off to breakfast, returning at 10. The pool bar is behind the pool, with self-service wine, beer and soft drinks. The bar is staffed if you prefer spirits. This closes in the evening, with the lounge bar acting as its replacement. The only problem I found with this is that if you don't want to be around the pool you still have to go past it to get a drink from the pool bar in the day. Personally, I feel the hotel and guests would benefit from the lounge bar being open in the day, too, even if only for the self service machines. There's a lovely terrace by the lounge bar where you can sit if you can't get a sunbed!
Our group travelled during the World Cup, and so evenings were accompanied by a projection screen on the terrace showing the live matches. This refers back to my point about preferring a road-facing room as the guests become quite loud and of course the kids do scream a lot. The entertainment inside the bar was pretty standard of hotel-run entertainment. There were some Spanish dance acts, a kids' disco and entertainer, and a strange man playing the keyboard. Again, if you'd prefer to sit outside of an evening then go for the early dinner sitting and get yourself a table and chairs.
Outside of the hotel is a bus stop which can take you into Torremolinos centre, or up the road you'll find the train station which is best for trips to Benalmadena and Fuengiorola. That being said, Torremolinos is about a 30 minute walk form the hotel. Turn left out of the hotel, down the road to the beach, then turn right and just walk along the sands until you see the sign for the town centre. It's really not that far and there are lots of little shops to stop at on the way. Speaking of the beach, the sunbeds and parasols are chargeable - around 4 euros per day. We just bought those wicker mats for 2 euros and laid on them! Closer to home you'll find a small supermarket, lots of kiosks offering icecreams, crisps and drinks, the usual souvenier shops and a few bars and restaurants - lots of which are on the sandy beach with inspired barbecues made out of little boats (again left out of the hotel then right when you reach the beach).
Overall this is a nice hotel in a very good location where you can get the best everything - relaxation, shopping and bars. The staff are fantastic, they really aim to please and if you have any problems they're great at sorting it out. As an example, we needed an extra chair for the balcony. We asked in the morning, by the time we got back to our room to change for dinner the staff had put an extra chair on the balcony for us - as well as a towel-elephant :)

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a high floor room to avoid the ground floor. If you like the noise, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kayla_face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited the Costa Del Sol many times over or a 15 year period, normally staying in a villa or with family, but as this visit was without the children we chose the Rui Luga Costa Lago(three Rui's in about three miles on the front) all inclusive tariff (great value).
Flight from Gatwick only 2 1/2 hours, from landing to hotel (arrive 10pm) 70 minutes drink of arrival in reception, give keys to room (68 ground floor right side looking on to the pool area).

Room very comfortable two large twin beds pushed together, fridge, shower in bath ,hairdry, shower gel etc A/C fully controllable, TV 15 channels (2 English speaking), balcony table and chairs, plenty of storage, (no tea or coffee facility) safety box (10 euros returnable )
As we arrived late they laid on a evening meal of cold meats and fruits.

The main bar stays open until midday from 6pm (busy times always three members on duty, if you could not wait self service unit just outside near patio area wine, soft drinks, beer and hot drinks)
Evening entertainment to be honest was not for us, juggler, magician, organist etc, they did show all the world cup matches.We know the area well and went out fro a stroll most evenings along the front door (500 yards from front door) and turn right, pass many small bars and restaurants open late into the small hours
The pool bar open from 10ish until 6pm again self service unit next to the bar. (ask for free nuts and olives. There are a few cocktails on offer and slush puppy drink for children.
Food we had no issues there was always some different to eat at lunch (1.30 to 3 or evenings two sittings 6.30pm or 8.15pm you are give a set table for evening meals ).Roast beef, chicken, fish, pork, fruit, ice cream, pasta, chips, cold meats, salads, sauces and deserts. (self service drink station in restaurant).
Breakfast 7.30 to 10, and a Continental breakfast available near the upstairs patio area.
Hint coffee in the jugs is strong mix it with hot milk 1/2 and 1/2 and its ok.
Pool area did get full on most days (hotel was full by rooms but not by beds) and yes there were people out at 6.30am putting towels on sun beds and not appearing to 10am.
On the beach Pepe was the cheapest for loungers and parasol 6 euros total


Must do ,day out to Gibraltar on the express coach (you get 5 hours in Gib) trip to Rhonda, Market days Tuesdays and Thursdays, San Miguel street.
There are two bus stops out the hotel, taxi rank 200 yards and La Corina train station 10 min walk (going to Malaga or Fungerola max 2 euros )


Overall no issues in recommending this hotel or the brand RUI (third stay in one) .

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool end are the quieter in the evening. End corridoor rooms quiet as well now one com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maldivesfirsttimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Glass of bubbly on arrival , staff very polite & helpful - food was good plenty of choice , Brian the entertainment organiser was brilliant - never seen a man work so hard , self service bar was a bonus - never had to wait to be served , pool was smaller than it looks in picture but was good enough , table allocated for evening tea so no looking around , says men must wear long trousers for evening meal but they do allow smart cut offs , evening entertainment (brian again) was ok & quite funny at times , all in all I would visit again - very enjoyable

Room Tip: twin rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 200LOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels we've stayed in, glass of champagne on arrival friendly reception staff who were very helpful over the week. The room spotlessly clean with air con and spacious, beds very comfy. The restaurant had plenty off choices with a different choice of main meal every night the hotel has a lot of different nationalities and caters for all so u can try something different if u wish. Again restaurant staff very friendly and always had time and friendly banter with the children. The pool is big enough with plenty of sun beds to go round. Day and evening entertainment was fantastic the entertainers worked there socks off to keep it all going and there professionalism shined throw . The hotel situated in a good spot with bus stop right outside the hotel to go into torremolinos.
Overall had a great holiday could not find fault with this hotel what impressed me most was that every member of staff was friendly and acknowledged us every time we passed them would defernatley go back to this hotel thanks for a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night AI at this hotel - firstly the hotel is adequate and we were allocated a change of room on the 1st day due to a water leak in the room which we weren't too worried about but we were offered a larger room with a double balcony so no hesitation there - problem dealt with quickly and efficiently

Plenty of food choice however the tables are very close and restricts the conversation somewhat but we don't sit for hours over meals so not a problem

Big issue for us was the Wi Fi or lack of it - would have thought this was a gimme in any 4 star hotel but not so - lobby only and charged for it

Pool small for size of hotel and was very crowded - and as usual kids ruled the pool/dining areas/and the evenings - as always - I read a few reviews before booking and was under the impression there were not many kids there - obviously this has changed and there are lots of them

Good beach location and short transfer -supermarket next door and a few bars within easy walking distance

Overall the hotel is pleasant enough and staff very friendly - service is good and good standards of cleanliness - not sure we would go back - pool too busy, as always towels on beds at first light
but for a short break it was pleasant enough

Room Tip: High rooms are better - upgrade and get a partial sea view and larger balcony Lifts in second hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Suem1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puente Real
Hotel Puente Real
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing