We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Altrincham England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value all inclusive”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Not a good start when we arrived when booking in. To be fair booking in time was 3.00pm and we arrived with our Thomson crew about 12.00. Most peoples rooms were ready but we were asked to come back in an hour. So we had a couple of gin and tonics and went back an hour later. Again the room wasn't ready and asked to return in another hour. It was a little inconvenient but went for lunch before returning. Hooray our room was now ready so we got there and was greeted with an overwhelming stench of tobacco smoke. My wife has asthma but even if she didn't we shouldn't be expected to find this acceptable. So another trip to reception to explain but to no avail; there were no other rooms available. They said that they would "sort out" the smell. It was blatantly obvious that they were going to do nothing so my wife went to the manager to complain. He was a very pleasant man and within minutes got us a new room which actually smelt of fresh air much to the annoyance of the reception staff!
So we settled in and got on with our holiday. All the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful and were very hardworking generally.
The hotel and the rooms were kept very clean although we did both succumb at different times to a 24 hour tummy bug that we had read about on previous reviews.
The food was pretty standard all inclusive fare but perhaps a bit samey and uninspiring. We never starved at any point in the holiday but got a bit fed up of the same offerings by the end.
The entertainment left a little to be desired for us although most people seemed to quite enjoy it. My wife and I are in our 50s whereas the vast majority were 70+ and the entertainment was obviously targeting their end of the spectrum. It did seem like an elderly rest home a lot of the time but we made the most of it.
Torremolinos is a nice resort and we would not hesitate coming back to the area but definitely not to this hotel which is right on the outskirts of the resort about two miles along the promenade from the centre. Public transport is good and reasonably cheap but we liked to walk to most places in the generally pleasant winter sunshine; the climate here for January is lovely.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1957_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    1,450
    665
    213
    136
See reviews for
1,147
1,683
79
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 night break at the Costa Lago, We had asked for a high floor but on our arrival we were given a ground floor room, we were asked to stay in that room for the night and it would be sorted the next morning, The young lady at the reception
'Alicia' was excellent and had us in a higher floor room in 20 mins, I would like to say she is the most professional receptionist I have met at a resort style hotel, Thank you .
This set the standard for the rest of the stay and we were not disappointed, all of the staff we encountered were excellent as was the food and the hotel in general, we would certainly book again, Thanks again for a great week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Costa Lago from 22/11/13 to 1/12/13. We like Riu hotels and had chosen this hotel because of this and it's location.
On arrival at the hotel our room wasn't ready but the receptionist was lovely and said we could go and get breakfast whilst we were waiting. There were lots of products on offer and enough for all tastes.
Our room was ready when we had eaten and although it was a little dated, it was very clean . The bed was very hard and took a few days to adjust the bedding enough to make it comfortable.
The location of the hotel is great, not in the thick of things but very easy to get there if you want to.
Reception, house keeping and restaurant staff were very nice and went out of thee way to make the holiday wonderful. In contrast the bar staff were mostly very rude, you were made to feel an inconvenience if you asked for water and a nuisance if you wanted a soft drink, half the time they just ignored you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathyt1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Costa Lago with no complaints.
The hotel was well run, extremely clean and the food excellent quality. Our room (particularly the bathroom) was a little dated, but spotlessly clean. The entertainment reviews were negative, and it was a bit hit and miss, but this was expected. We stayed next door at the Riu Belplayer the same time last year, and we found it to be easily on par. Would definately return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquelineM566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our 5th visit to this hotel as close to Malaga where my son lives. Staff are brilliant nothing to much trouble. The rooms are comfortable, large enough not to feel on top of each other. I think a tea tray in the room would make all the difference for when you wake up before breakfast. The food is good always something to tempt you and served hot, no complaints.

This hotel is perfect for travelling along the coast as the train station is only up the road and tickets obtained at the station are cheap and the trains run every 20minites and on time.

We are returning in March for our 6th visit so that says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room as this gets the sun most of the day. It may be a little more money but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 27jools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

we arrived late on mon 27th and was given keys to room and was allocated 1st sitting at dinner which we had missed due to late arrival, however they did provide us with a late salad supper. We unpacked and went to see the entertainment in salon bar and there was no room to stand or sit, we were packed near drinks dispensers watching a juggler do his act which was ok. we then had the supper (only us in restaurant, felt uneasy and quite odd). at end of night we went on balcony only to see a couple of porters wheeling a dead body to the morg at hospital at rear, not a good start to birthday break!!
The next day it all went downhill, we arrived for dinner at 6.00 to be told that we had booked late sitting at 7.15!! after telling head waiter we was allocated early sitting he basically called us liars and reluctantly put us at back of restaurant as no table was allocated for us. after that we went to bar and waited 2 hours for what can only be described as dire entertainment by the only member of entertainment staff in hotel joined by his two mates from other hotels. they put on an embarrassingly awful sketch show geared towards elderly germans which were main clientel. they never once acknowledged us or said hello and blanked us when we tried to be friendly. not the hotels fault the guests are as they are this time of year though to be fair.
the subsequent meals were all substandard for a four star riu consisting of salads and fish soup with rabbit dishes and chicken and pork all geared towards german tastes with cold meats and desserts like jelly and ice cream with other cakes. the breakfast was bedlam with elderly guests jostling for position at the orange dispenser!!! with fried eggs and german sausages it was not good. the only redeaming feature was the drinks were easy to refill yourself at the dispensers dotted around hotel. I am being picky but for a four star hotel in the riu chain it was bad. we were not given any option to keep room on for late check out after being told night before we could for 30 euros but they said it was full but we could have a room to shower and change in as we were on a later flight home, just come to reception when ready to get key. we waited around in foyer till about 4.00 and went to reception to be told no rooms are available to shower and to use indoor pool toilets!! I went to see manager as I was annoyed to have to let my fiancé down again by poor staff and service, he said no problem I will get you a room that was to be given to a late arrival and get it recleaned, I didn't think that you should need to find the main hotel manager to be given a normal level of customer service.
to finish, avoid this hotel if under 60 and English as you will be in a minority and nothing open in area near hotel. go to riu nautilus and pay for drinks in nearby bars as much better if staying in torremolinos in jan or feb.

Room Tip: choose a sea view pool view as we didn't and was facing the hospital at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Went last january , and just been again (17th - 24th jan) and its still living up to the good standards , very friendly staff ( not often found in spain) very clean the housekeeping team work tirelessly to keep everything spotless good food , ive mentioned other things like location before a way out of town but near to train station , and a bus stop outside into town €1.22 . We are also going back 13th - 23rd may this year , so must be good we dont normally go to same place twice in same year , we have met many people who go back every year , some of them for 4 weeks at a time so i rest my case , very good value for money and all inclusive as well , dont hesitate just BOOK IT !!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lazzymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,631 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,034 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing