We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Many mixed reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Many mixed reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A very warm welcome on arrival, and first impressions a very clean and well organised hotel. Before we travelled we had read the reviews on trip adviser and we were a little a little apprehensive as many of them were poor. The room we were given was on the fifth floor with lovely sea view, the room was large and very clean, nice to have a fridge in room too. Many people had slated the air conditioning, during our stay in October we found it to be adequate, but in the height of summer it would struggle.
We found the restaurant to be very good a wide variety of food every day and something for everyone, I would say it was the best all inclusive food we have had in Spain. The location of the hotel is very good not actually in torremolinos, but just on the edge of it, it is a fifteen minute walk to the local train station in La Collina this train runs every 20 mins and stops at every stop from Malaga to fuengirola you can travel any where for €1:70 very clean and efficient rail travel and always bang on time.
A good day out is the cable cars in Benelmadena, a five minute walk from rail station, the cars take up the mountain for a fantastic view, there is a restaurant at the top and a falconry display included in the price. there is a market in fuengirola on Tuesday's
We really enjoyed our stay at the Riu Belplaya staff were friendly and helpful and this area the costa del sol has lots to do for everyone . We would defiatelly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul163Lowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    1,379
    617
    183
    122
See reviews for
1,063
1,558
78
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

First impressions were very favourable. We were greeted with a glass of orange after walking through a pleasant and picturesque entrance. The receptionist was probably the nicest and most helpful person I have ever met in all my trips to Spain. After that the rooms were a bit of a let down as they were clean and functioning but in need of updating. At least the safe was free. Just a 20€ refundable deposit. My safe did not lock but the handyman was there in 2mins to fix it . And the maid practically beat me to the door when I requested an extra pillow. The meals were lovely. Plenty of choice and really we'll cooked. We were given a choice of sittings and a table allocated for the duration of our stay. All the staff no matter where they served were excellent and so pleasant - unusual for Spain these days. The daytime entertainment was the usual for an a/I hotel but at least they weren't pushy about you joining in . The evening entertainment was also just about acceptable but most of the time we sat outside the pool bar an made our own entertainment. Although because of the number of Germans in the hotel we got a few disproving looks when we got noisy. The Dutch were much more tolerant and smiled with us. The pool and area was excellent. Plenty of room to sunbathe or swim. The one slight irritation was a covered in area leading to the pool which seemed exclusive to the smokers and it was like walking through a smoke tunnel at times.All in it was a fantastic holiday and we would definitely go back to this hotel. Even though it was a little way out of town . Just an extended stroll really.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Returned to this hotel from 2nd to 8th October 2013.
Stayed on all inc basis and was again more than happy with our break. This hotel is friendly, clean and great value.Staff are professional and extremely helpful.
Rooms with sitting area are quite spacious and charged the same. Perfect if you have a child.
Food,drinks and snacks abundant with great choice and variety, the entertainment is average but okay for this time of the season but can't comment for peak times obviously.
The situation is perfect if you like to be close but not in the midst of Torremolinos, bus stops outside hotel and La Colina train station is a short walk away for trips to Malaga or any stops/resorts towards Fuengirola and travel is so much cheaper than the UK
.There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and the beach is 3- 5 mins walk at most. The front is beautiful and the beach clean and safe for all.
Weather was beautiful and will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: Room balconies on the left side get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmaazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2weeks in september with my wife and had a wonderful time.we arrived at 11am and our room was ready we was given a room on the second floor with a pool view the room had everything we needed the furniture was a bit dated but it was cleaned to a good standard.
The food at this is very good with some of the food cooked in front of you the food was always hot which made a change from luke warm food we have had at other hotels we have stayed in.
The pool is a bit on the small side but there was plenty of sunbeds even if you went out in the morning .
The evening entertainment is not too bad the bits we saw but we sat on the outside most nights as we found it a bit warm inside our entertainment was talking to other people which we meet some lovely people and made the evening go so quick all in all we had a great time at this hotel and would like to thank all the fab staff at this hotel as they are a credit to the hotel and made our stay enjoyable.
The only downside is the location as there is not much going on outside at night and we like to wonder but this is not the hotels fault and we would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunthrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived and were pleasantly met by friendly hotel staff. I must admit the staff at this hotel were helpful, polite and accomodating. Our room was well equiped and throughly cleaned each day and here is my main complaint in our room... "the air conditioning", this was terrible and produced a waft of cool air making no difference to the heat in the room. We found sleeping at night unbearable. I even had cold showers during the night to cool down. We found spending time in the room awful even with the patio doors open there was no escaping from the heat of the day,Therefore we felt drained and tired over our stay.No part of the hotel was properly air conditioned .The pool was so crowded and the usual lack of sunbeds. By 2.00pm the pool water took on a murky look and ball games prevailed with several people being hit in the face including myself ( the lifeguard did nothing to stop this). Food was varied and most of it freshly prepared at cooking stations. In the evening there was not a seat to be found so we headed into town. The train station is within easy walk and we went out for several days, there is a brilliant market in Benalmedena plus the cable car is worth a trip.We would not go to that hotel again due to the air/con problems and too many people for the facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GraceJSH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

In general the Riu costa lago is a very good hotel, very tidy rooms first class comfortable beds and air conditioned rooms with excellent en-suite facilities.
However the only thing that stopped me from giving it 5 stars was the so called entertainment.
This was on the whole very poor apart from one night when there was an excellent Magician, wholey unacceptable for a hotel of this standard given the locasion is some what out of the town centre.
The only other thing I would say is some rooms are a long way from the bar/restaurant area, not a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

just returned from the Riu costa lago, although the hotel was quite nice it was a bit disappointing. It wasn't the usual RIU standard, you had two bar areas one at the pool and one in the hotel. The one in the hotel didn't open until 6.30pm which was fine but outside that bar was a terrace that only had drinks available 10-11am and 4 -5pm (non alcoholic I might add) in other RIU's there was always a terrace and a pool bar that was open all the time with snacks all day. The snacks were only available between the times above. The hotel was a bit out of the way although a bus stop was outside and train station about 10 min walk. Not much entertainment, only one animation person, not the best RIU. I also found the beds very hard and air con wasn't up to much.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are quieter we were in 393 which is away from the terrace if you want an early n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#22 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puente Real
Hotel Puente Real
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing