We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“riu belplaya” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“riu belplaya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

we were at the belplaya for a one week stay and overall we were very pleased with the property we were given room 135 witch was massive and the housekeeping staff did a wondefull job keeping it clean.. the food was a very high standard and was always well stocked and presented to a first class standard the staff were very attentive
The lounge bar did get very overcrowded at night so we used bars outside of the complex, the self service pumps are a good idea saves queues at the bar ... bar staff were all friendly and polite .
The pool area never got overcrowded always plenty of sunbeds although people reserved with towels (and removed by the lifeguards the majority of the people that did this were germans who were not impressed by finding thier towels removed :) .
The location of the hotel is great 2 mins to the beach and nice local bars oppersite i can recomend the german paddy and bar one .... taxi rank is located directly oppersite the complex if you wish to go into benlalmadena or
one bit of advice the anderlucian night is a must you have to pre book one night in advance the food id outstanding, king prawns,salmon, steak,fish,kebabs, salads spanish stews, seafood rice... and traditional spanish desserts . chocolate truffels are to die for .
overall a good stay i would stay here again ,good vfm

Room Tip: ask for a pool view to get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A9NDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    1,380
    617
    183
    122
See reviews for
1,062
1,562
78
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went to this hotel in June 2013. It was amazing! Had a fantastic time. the food was brilliant couldnt have asked for anymore. The staff were all very helpful when i was looking for directions to the Aqua park and cable cars. The night entertainment wasnt so good but we done plenty during the day and by 10pm we were shattered lol. The rooms were cleaned daily and had no faults at all :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

just returned from a week at the riu belplaya hotel in spain. I was looking forward to the break especially after reading all the reviews. However i was disappointed with the attitude and complete rudeness of the other holiday guests. Us english seemed the only people that had any manners at all. I was proud to be british.... Also be aware that the all inclusive finishes when you give your keys back to reception. We had to checkout at 12 noon but wern't actually being picked up to go to the airport until 1am the next morning. We were told that we would have to make other arrangements to eat and drink for the rest of the day. We were offered to pay for food and drink and the use of a room to freshen up in. The holiday had already cost enough money so we were reluctant to give anymore and ended up staying up in the town for the rest of the day which was not the plan for our last day. It was only by luck we had some spending money left which we had saved for presents for the family which we then had to spend on food and drink. Also you are allocated a table for your entire stay for your evening meal that is until someone they like better comes along and wants your table then you are made to move. Unfortunatly this whole episode has put me off of going to spain again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Recently spent a week all inclusive at this hotel. The staff are so friendly especially David & Juan in the restaurant, they really went out of their way to help. The room was large, clean, beds made every day, clean towels everyday, bed linen also changed. Air conditioning and fan in room.
Food was plentiful and of a great variety. Every where was spotlessly clean. My only gripe is they allow people to put towels on sun beds even though they have notices clearly stating its not allowed. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the bus or train if going into other towns, much cheaper than taxis who drive as break neck spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently went for a weeks holiday at the Riu Belplaya on an all-inclusive package. I absolutely cannot find a fault with this hotel. We went with another couple with two young babies and the staff could not o enough to accommodate us. The rooms were spacious and clean with a sea view and air conditioning - the only downside was the very out of date and weak hair dryers. The food was outstanding - as much as you like and with so many options available for every meal, no one could go hungry! I recommend the Andalucian restaurant (also included in the all- inclusive package) which is full of fresh seafood and salads. The location was excellent as it is across the road from the beach with a wide range of bars and restaurants. All the bars we visited in the evening were very reasonably priced with a bottle of corona being €3.50 and cocktails around €5-6 each.

I will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone and I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miramar243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well just returned once again from the Bel Player, things have changed and not for the good, yes staff as friendly as always, spotlessly clean Hotel, but the food and the drinks have gone down hill, plenty of food in main restaurant but very poor quality, on our main Saturday night all there was to offer was burgers and they had been cut in half, Spanish type sausage diced and fried on the themed counter they had Turkey slices needles to say the queues for it was right round the restaurant it took about 15 minuets or more to get served and then you got just one small slice, most of the time the help yourself drink machines stayed empty for some hours, the wine tap outside the reception area has now been removed, and the wine in the main restaurant was very watered down, the pool bar food was very, very basic this year just no solid food at all, but if you like salad you will be over whelmed with it, I had a long conversation with the Manager who I have got to know well, and he said his hands are tied and that he has to do what head office tell him to do, for those of you that have not been before you most probably think it is fine but for a regular to the Riu Bel Player and as a group it is not, sadly we will not be returning there have been many changes, this year I could go on longer but I think you get the idea

Room Tip: send an email, they will help if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed over new year and thought it was stunning...especially the food..which we both loved..the variety and quality and setup was fine..it was our first experiance of Spain and all inclusive...loved it..anyway in the bigger picture of things...this is a good Hotel..with great food....lol..weve just returned from a so called four star hotel in Malta...all inclusive..and my god.that was terrible in comparison..I wish i was at the Costa Lago.and shoud of returned....it was looking back very very good..anyway i suppose there is better out there....but there is lots lots worse..if you book the lago and enjoy food-cocktails..etc you wont really go wrong at all in my opinion... ;-) enjoy... oh yeah..the rooms were ok..bars..etc..didnt go in the pool..

Room Tip: away from the lower levels near the bar ares
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#22 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing