We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Enniskillen, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Recently spent a week all inclusive at this hotel. The staff are so friendly especially David & Juan in the restaurant, they really went out of their way to help. The room was large, clean, beds made every day, clean towels everyday, bed linen also changed. Air conditioning and fan in room.
Food was plentiful and of a great variety. Every where was spotlessly clean. My only gripe is they allow people to put towels on sun beds even though they have notices clearly stating its not allowed. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the bus or train if going into other towns, much cheaper than taxis who drive as break neck spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    1,476
    683
    216
    137
See reviews for
1,178
1,736
80
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently went for a weeks holiday at the Riu Belplaya on an all-inclusive package. I absolutely cannot find a fault with this hotel. We went with another couple with two young babies and the staff could not o enough to accommodate us. The rooms were spacious and clean with a sea view and air conditioning - the only downside was the very out of date and weak hair dryers. The food was outstanding - as much as you like and with so many options available for every meal, no one could go hungry! I recommend the Andalucian restaurant (also included in the all- inclusive package) which is full of fresh seafood and salads. The location was excellent as it is across the road from the beach with a wide range of bars and restaurants. All the bars we visited in the evening were very reasonably priced with a bottle of corona being €3.50 and cocktails around €5-6 each.

I will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone and I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miramar243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well just returned once again from the Bel Player, things have changed and not for the good, yes staff as friendly as always, spotlessly clean Hotel, but the food and the drinks have gone down hill, plenty of food in main restaurant but very poor quality, on our main Saturday night all there was to offer was burgers and they had been cut in half, Spanish type sausage diced and fried on the themed counter they had Turkey slices needles to say the queues for it was right round the restaurant it took about 15 minuets or more to get served and then you got just one small slice, most of the time the help yourself drink machines stayed empty for some hours, the wine tap outside the reception area has now been removed, and the wine in the main restaurant was very watered down, the pool bar food was very, very basic this year just no solid food at all, but if you like salad you will be over whelmed with it, I had a long conversation with the Manager who I have got to know well, and he said his hands are tied and that he has to do what head office tell him to do, for those of you that have not been before you most probably think it is fine but for a regular to the Riu Bel Player and as a group it is not, sadly we will not be returning there have been many changes, this year I could go on longer but I think you get the idea

Room Tip: send an email, they will help if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed over new year and thought it was stunning...especially the food..which we both loved..the variety and quality and setup was fine..it was our first experiance of Spain and all inclusive...loved it..anyway in the bigger picture of things...this is a good Hotel..with great food....lol..weve just returned from a so called four star hotel in Malta...all inclusive..and my god.that was terrible in comparison..I wish i was at the Costa Lago.and shoud of returned....it was looking back very very good..anyway i suppose there is better out there....but there is lots lots worse..if you book the lago and enjoy food-cocktails..etc you wont really go wrong at all in my opinion... ;-) enjoy... oh yeah..the rooms were ok..bars..etc..didnt go in the pool..

Room Tip: away from the lower levels near the bar ares
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spent 9 nights in this Hotel and agree with most of the reviews, however I must comment on the staff - they were excellent!
We requested a high floor with sea view and got exactly that, the view was amazing.
We had friends joining us for the last 3 days of our holiday and they were celebrating their 1st wedding anniversary. We requested that they be close to us - the girl on reception advised that they were in another building, but she would see what she could do. Low and behold, they got a room on the same floor as us and just a few doors down. Also, on their first evening, the Matre'D pointed us to a table which was set with candles etc and a bottle of champagne arrived at the table too. Very impressed!!
The food was very good and varied, no need to get bored at all.
Air conditioning was poor and as the weather was extremely hot, we tended to spend very little time in the room.
I do agree with the comments on the smoking areas - outdoors there is very little space allocated to non smokers, however, I was amazed at how many people did smoke!
Overall, I think this is a very good Hotel and would not hesitate to return for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MMWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked 2 rooms for my family and requested next door to each other but they were 5 rooms apart - bit disappointed but excepted it as I did not want to move half way through holiday. Nice staff, restaurant areas well managed, no queueing for soft drinks/ lager or wine. Hairdryer in bathroom very weak. Sunbeds around the pool were always taken, I even looked out at 7:30 one morning and still the towels were there....There are lots of beds stacked up so you will still get a bed on the grass around 11am as we did after breakfast. If you want to watch the kids you had to walk up to the pool area. The pool was chaos with bodies everywhere - you could not swim more that 2 - 3 strokes without having to move out of the way of someone. Its not relaxing and we had to go to the beach just to get away from the crowded pool. Its a little out of the way for shops so a 20 min walk is needed to get to the beginning of the shopping area. Overall it was a nice hotel but I would have given 5 stars if the pool was bigger and it was near to the shops and bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I’m convinced that this is the absolutely best hotel for couples and families if you are planning a relaxing stay in Torremolinos and you want great food, service and location. We were extremely happy with our stay and will definitely visit again!

Our family of five have just returned after spending nine nights at this fantastic hotel. We ranged in age from 9-59, and we had booked two side sea view rooms. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice young receptionist, who spoke very good English (in all, communicating in English is no problem whatsoever at this hotel). She took good care of us and took the time to answer our questions in a friendly way, making us feel welcome. We got two rooms, which were next to each other – great! And the view was fantastic! Spend a little extra to get the side sea view room – it is worth it.

The rooms were of standard, good quality, but the cleanliness was not standard; it was excellent. Everything was very clean, even the veranda was cleaned daily. By the way, this was true for the whole hotel. Not once during our stay did I encounter unclean toilets or similar, and it is obvious that this hotel takes hygiene seriously.

We were on an All Inclusive board, and at this hotel that really meant all inclusive. As I understood it there was no fine print, and not once during our stay did I need to pay for anything extra. Everything was included! There was a 20 Euro deposit for the room safe, but this was returned in full when I returned the key at the end of our stay. By the way; All Inclusive is a term that can have many different meanings – from Some Inclusive, but of poor quality, to Everything Inclusive, and of good quality. This hotel is definitely of the latter category, and time and again we were astounded at both the sheer quantity and variety of food available, and of the quality. I would not have expected more at a major five star hotel! The food was so fresh, and the presentation so delicious looking that we definitely ate more than we should have! Much of the food was prepared right in front of us at the buffet, so the hot food was FRESH. To us, the hygiene also looked very good, and we did not once think that we would not risk eating something. We tried it all, from the seafood to fresh salads to ice cubes and ice cream, and not once did we have an upset stomach. Thumbs up for the hygiene! We also tried the specialty Andalucían restaurant buffet, and it is highly recommended. The atmosphere is more relaxed; it is not as hectic as the regular buffet. The regular is more child-friendly, though, but maybe you can arrange for an adult-only evening if you are traveling with children? Breakfast was also excellent, very varied selection of everything, and the scrambled eggs were made of real eggs! Right in front of us! I jokingly say that you can tell the quality of a hotel by the quality of the scrambled eggs; in this case it is certainly true. The eggs were as excellent as the rest of the stay.

As you can probably tell, we really enjoyed our stay at the Riu Belplaya. Both the location, food and rooms were very good. What really sets this hotel apart, though, is the service. I have never gotten better service anywhere! From the very service minded and friendly people at the reception, the head waiter who took really great care of us and has a great memory, to the staff everywhere who always had a smile for us, were attentive and gave great service in all things – no concern was too great or too small, and every little thing was handled quickly and professionally. The friendliness didn’t seem awkward or strained – every member of staff seemed to really want what’s best for us, and to us it seemed like the staff really enjoys working at the Riu Belplaya! To top it all off, the assistant hotel manager, Diogo, took a very active role in the daily running of the hotel; he seemingly was everywhere at once, took the time to talk to the guests, and time and again made sure we were satisfied with our stay. He really went above and beyond what one could expect, and I’ve never experienced anything like it!

On the last night of our stay I told him that we had never before been this happy with a stay at any hotel, ever – and it is true. Riu Belplaya – we’ll be back! We have already started planning our next visit!

Room Tip: The sea view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoverOfDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,734 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#25 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,058 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing