We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great holiday but slight improvements needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor Co Down N Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great holiday but slight improvements needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are a couple in our early 40s and we spent a fabulous week here at the beginning of June. We were by far amongst the youngest in this hotel but that actually was great. There was no loud music at the pool, no screaming children and hotel room and corridor was quiet. Exactly what we wanted. A break away from it all.

We flew into Malaga airport and easily made our own way to the hotel on the train. Get off at la colina station and its a 20 minute walk downhill. It cost €1.90 and we had printed off google maps to show us our walk.

On arrival at the hotel we were early for check in so room wasnt ready, but we were given a cold drink and allowed to start using all inclusive facilities. Room was ready at about 1pm and we were really pleased to be upgraded to a sea view room, when we had booked and paid for a standard room. Really disappointing no free wifi! Surely in this day and age all hotels should now have free wifi in all rooms and areas.

Our room was spacious and quiet but this is where I think improvements could be made. The air con was really poor, the hair dryer was useless (reception will lend you another), the towels are really thin and quite rough, the toiletries are not good and the decor badly needs updated and modernised. My biggest bugbear was the shower - it changed temperature of its own accord and it had a curtain which ended up sticking to you. Horrible!!! Please get glass shower doors in your upgrade. However the room was clean, towels changed daily, sheets changed once in the week and had British channels on tv.

We loved the area and walked loads. Turn left and walk for 20 minutes to Los Alamos, turn right and walk for 30 minutes to la carihuela. You can also walk into the main town of Torremolinos quite easily but it is uphill from the seafront. I believe there is a lift if needed. We took the train to Malaga for an evening and also to Plaza Major a big shopping centre nearby. The hotel arranged for us to go on a bus trip to Gibraltar for a day. It's worth it to see Gibraltar but the bus journey is long as it picks up from so many other hotels.

The staff at the hotel were really great and so helpful. We loved the food and the drinks especially the mojitos! You could get bottles of water to drink and bowls of nuts or olives at the bar. Pool towels were provided and you could change these at reception. It was easy to get sunbed even if you didn't go to the pool until late morning or afternoon. I used the spa and had a pedicure for €32 which I thought was dear. The entertainment wasn't really up to that much, but we always went in at about 9.30pm and easily found a seat. You may have to share a table. There was music and dancing and it was fun to watch some people on the dance floor.

All in all it was a great stay and I would recommend..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniferham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    1,380
    617
    183
    122
See reviews for
1,062
1,562
78
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in June. I was a little bit wary as all inclusive hotels can be a little rough around the edges. However, we found the Belplaya to be a lovely hotel.The staff were helpful and friendly and upon arrival at reception we were presented with a champagne glass of orange juice, a nice touch. My friend also was upgraded for free from a single to a double room so he could be next to us.
The hotel itself was clean and spacious. Loved the beer and wine taps dotted around the hotel. Plenty of ceverza was drunk! There is a pretty pool bar where a barman will make you cocktails and G&Ts etc. The buffet restaurant was slightly disappointing, not for lack of choice, but the quality wasn't amazing. But, to be honest, this didn't bother us as we were too busy having fun!
It's a 30 second walk to the beach, parking was free. All in all, a brilliant mini break was had and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowcat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went back after visiting last year, and it still proves to be a decent hotel, friendly staff, very clean, and excellent location near beach, however as a vegetarian I was disappointed with the offerings compared to last year, when they made the effort to provide options at lunch and dinner, this time it was dinner only, and the offerings were basic and poor , one night the main meal was " selection of mixed vegetables" say no more.
Also the entertainment was almost non existent, and in the evening there really isn't much reason to stay in the hotel.
Having said all of that, it still provides good value, and is an OK place to spend a week, been in worse places !

Room Tip: Make sure you get either partial or full sea view, otherwise you'll be a the back overlooking no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from the Riu Belplaya after a weeks holiday we were two couples in rooms 428 and 429. We went with sister and brother-in -law, who have never been abroad before, we are frequent travellers. We have stayed in Riu hotels before in the Caribbean, but never in Europe. We were not disappointed, we had a friendly greeting from reception staff when we arrived, which continued all through our stay. Any information required about the resort and hotel was easily obtained from them when the rep was not around, to be fair she was always there at the times she stated. Although we are all able bodied, we were amazed at how well they cater for disabled people and young families. Rooms were spotless as was everywhere else in and around the hotel, maid cleaned the rooms everyday. We had two excellent rooms with lovely pool and sea views being on the fifth floor which was the top floor in one of the blocks very quiet. The food was plentiful and a varied choice we did not get bored or find it difficult to find a different choice each meal time.The waiters and waitresses were brilliant we were given a table number which was allocated to us throughout our stay but only for evening meals we also recommend that the men take long trousers as they do not like men wearing shorts at evening meals, any other time is ok.We only had a weeks stay but wish we could have gone for two. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: top floor with a sea view worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crackerhereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just had a lovely family holiday at this location and there are positives and negatives.
We had friendly welcome with a drink on arrival and had a great room over looking the pool and the room was very clean and accommodated us well for the time we were there. (7days)
Pool area was very clean, however...no balls allowed no inflatables. This was frustrating for our 11 year old son and 4 year old. It didn't stop them enjoying the pool though. When it came to the afternoon game of water sports, my eldest wasn't allowed to participate? Why stop a child from joining in when he can swim and desperate to play. Eventually they did put a game on for the children but this was at the end of our stay. Kids club???? Urm no there was nothing,kids club room, just no activities. But again just because they didn't do any activities it didn't spoil anything. Food was great plenty of choice for everyone, and staff friendly.
Evening entertainment....hmmmm like everyone else's comments it was poor. However we met some lovely people whilst on holiday and our evenings with them were great. Last act of the week was a drag act, and this was the best of the entertainment. And even then they mimed to the music but it did make us chuckle. None of the negatives I mention ruin the holiday it was a fantastic holiday it just allows us to make certain choices for the next holiday of what we want. We had a relaxing holiday in the sun in a clean friendly environment, and the kids were happy to make friends and play in the pool which made for happy parents. Oh and to top it off we found the best Indian/Nepalese restaurant in Town note not because of the food we just needed our fix of curry!
We left the best day to the last by taking the boys to Aqualand!! It was a great day out and we managed to get 16 euros of when we were given a leaflet at the airport.
Would we go back yes I think we would, but please RIU take note of all the comments regarding your childrens clubs and your entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doyleys7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Belaplaya we had a brilliant time the room was perfect and so was the food and drink we thought the entertainment staff did a really good job there are only three of them. The only down side is that some parents should have more control over there children. We will return the staff were all very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just home from a weeks stay in this lovely hotel. The weather was sunny. The room we had looked out onto the pool and had lots of cupboard and drawer space for the 3 of us. All the staff have a smile and a hello for everyone. Nothing is too much bother. There was always a wide selection of food at all meal times and all lovely. We took the earlier dinner sitting and it is great to know you don't have to look for a table.There were plenty of sunbeds but if you wanted a sun umbrella you would need to go and put your towel out early. The umbrellas sit in a hole in the ground so you need to move the sunbeds to them. The hotel has a strict no inflatables policy. The bar is lovely but as others have said the entertainment in ok and the nearest toilet is downstairs. Overall we had a great holiday and would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonya233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing