We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Torremollinos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel is set on the seafront in Playamar, Torremollinos. Standard of food was excellent throughout my weeks stay. Room was a twin on 8th floor with side seaview. Rooms are comfortable with UK channels now included on TV's in each room. Local bars and restaurants are close by if you fancy a change from the all inclusive offered at the hotel and an abundance of reasonable restaurants are available along the sea front. Train service nearby runs to each of resorts on Costa Del Sol at reasonable prices and local bus service also available near hotel. Nice sea front with palms breaking the areas of sand.

You can also arrange to visit Gibralter where you can happily spend those English pounds you have . This appears to give better value than the euro does. Well worth a visit and steeped in British history.

Room Tip: High rooms provide good seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LesandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,313 - 2,319 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a weeks good holiday in a good class hotel, rooms a very good standard and a good size worth paying a little extra for sea view.The food is of good standard and all the staff from start to finish are hard working and very helpful.Yes some say hotel is a little tired but unless your a hotel inspector why would you notice, I was there on holiday and not to pick fault with every little thing.So if you want a relaxing break in a decent hotel in a good location please go and enjoy.We will not hesitate to return

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gordonNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

had a great time here close to beach and bars all staff very helpful met nice people including Riola and Ann food very nice I would go for second sitting its quitter than the first hope to go again soon .

Room Tip: rooms 120 to 140 a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hi Guys
My wife and I had a week at the RIU Casta Lago on the 14th of April 13.
We found the hotel to be very clean,rooms nice but abit basic,but with lots of hanging space for clothes his & hers wardrodes.(oh hairdryer in bathroom girls)
No kettle or fridge in the rooms which is abit of a let down we think and the air condition dosen't get turned on till the summer,we found that out cos it was hitting 28c so we asked at the reception but were told its only switch on in high season.
Our bath could do with replacing,but only in for quick shower so no great worry,oh towel have to be put on bathroonm floor if you what them replaced.
Great bar & restaurant staff & indeed all the staff were very friendly.
The restaurant does two sitting for dinner 6.30 & 8.30 you are allocated a table when you first go in & then thats your table for length of your stay(only dinner) Breakfast & lunch you can sit anywhere.Trousers for dinner gents!
The restaurant is very tidy & clean,great food lots of choice we both put on weight hmmmm.
nice house wine & soft drinks & larger you help yourself too.

The pools looked abit small was okay for early season but might be abit manic in high season,same with sun loungers might be a problem when the place is full.
Anyway we don't hang around the pool all day ,off to the beach (rough sand)nice flat walk just down the road from hotel,great for people who find it hard at walking.

You'll find the front very flat nice walk along to old town & marina get a drink & watch the yacht's see how the rich pass there time,some really big yacht's.
Lots of bars & restaurants I found a small Irish bar for footy we never tried any restaurants always full from food at hotel.

One small problem was half way into our week the hotel let in a very large group of men on abit of a stag thing,they were very noisey drank by pool all day & night with very bad language.
People did complain about them,but were told the staff would not approach them because they were always drunk!!.I will be contacting RIU
Would we go back to this hotel YES but early or late season,not sure about high season.
We meat some very nice people mostly French,but had a good laugh trying to understand each other.
Entertainment was okay nothing great apart from one black lady singer,with nice voice.Oh they did bingo & quiz's the very young looking girl who comp'ere & ran the sports worked very hard & was very good at her job.
Yes overall we enjoyed our stay at this RIU hotel.
Many thanks the GEORDIES

Room Tip: Ask for inside/pool room Enjoy the walk long the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stevoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights here, 24th - 29th April 2013.
Our first impressions of the hotel were good. The staff on reception were very friendly but not so efficient as they made mistakes with our booking. The room was clean but very tired looking. The food was average compared to other hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for ten days in March/ April. Very good experience, staff wonderful, food very good, drinks & service very good, rooms slightly dated bur very clean. Only downside is bar not big enough and toilets too far away from communal areas.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing room to get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FIONA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Belplaya hotel from 27 April - 04 May 2013. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard everyday. The food was good with a wide choice and always fresh and plentyful even when a large number of diners were present. The staff were friendly and helpful, always ensuring that everything was ok. The hotel from our prespective is best suited for elderley people/couples and families as it was quiet. If you are a young couple or group wanting nightlife and entertainments then we would say this hotel is not suited for you. We were after a hassle free, quiet relaxing break and that is just what we got.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the sea view as its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SarahChris8069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#28 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $142 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing