We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Belplaya hotel from 27 April - 04 May 2013. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard everyday. The food was good with a wide choice and always fresh and plentyful even when a large number of diners were present. The staff were friendly and helpful, always ensuring that everything was ok. The hotel from our prespective is best suited for elderley people/couples and families as it was quiet. If you are a young couple or group wanting nightlife and entertainments then we would say this hotel is not suited for you. We were after a hassle free, quiet relaxing break and that is just what we got.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the sea view as its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SarahChris8069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    1,379
    617
    183
    122
See reviews for
1,063
1,558
78
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have just spent a week here, 21st - 28th April, wish we were still there.
Hotel good, staff good, food good, rooms good and entertainment good. No complaints what so ever and will recommend it to everyone. Added to this the weather was really nice, the bus into the centre stops just outside the hotel, the taxi rank is over the road and the train is about 15 minutes stroll away. This all added up to an excellent short break and I am certain we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed with a friend for a week a Riu from 15th -21st April. I went all inclusive. In summary a very well presented and organised hotel, a solid 4 stars for Riu

Positives
-Good Selection of foods and flexible times
-Good Facilities, Swimming pool, Gym
-Well Trained staff, Hotel Manager, chap with a mustache was excellent, so was the assistant manager
-Clean rooms
-Plenty of Sun beds
-Good entertainment in evenings
- Good entertainment during the day. They have a guy dedicated and he goes round getting folks involved in various activities
-Unlimited Drinks day and evenings! - Excellent Bar near swimming pool serving wide selection of drinks alcoholic and non
-(note the bar in the evenings can get very busy)

Negatives - (quite minor in the grand scheme)
-Wifi restricted to use only in downstairs lounge
-No kettle in bedroom
- Outdated system of Safe/security - You have to ask reception for a key to access the safe and put a deposit of 20 Euro which is refundable at the end.
- A slight criticism of the rooms, the walls are paper thin and prone to noise if you have noisy neighbours
- I would have expected a Sauna for a 4 star


Special notes
- This hotel is suited to retired holiday seekers. This is not a hotel for young people, sadly.
- The room with a sea view must be ordered - we ordered thinking it was a standard sea view room but wasnt
- The hotel is close to airport. There are shuttles to the hotel but we only found out later on whhich are in the region of 2-3 Euro. taxi to hotel is 18 Euro
- They do trips to various sight seeing places - We missed the Marbella trip so we went by ourselves for the day - its very cheap. The bus to Marbella from Torremolinos Bus station is 4.50 Euro, it takes 1 hour. about 40km. A must is also Puerto Benus - Marbella with the Yacht Marina its 7km away but in Marbella

Good luck and im sure you'll enjoy your stay at Riu

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greg r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year when it was under different ownership so were a bit tentative as to how it would be under the Riu brand. We needn't have worried. Although many of the faces have changed the service is still the same and the food still as wonderful. We like going to hotels just off peak time so it's not too crowded and this time of year was perfect. Sunbeds anytime of day available. rooms spotless as usual, cleanliness throughout the whole hotel
Great hotel for a peaceful little break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank liverpoolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have recently returned from this hotel in Torremolinos. I found the staff all very pleasant and helpful, especially the reception desk staff. . We were given a ground floor room, overlooking the car park, which I was not happy with, but on asking at the desk for a different room we were given a third floor room overlooking the pool, without any fuss.. The room was excellent, with a separate sitting area, and was kept spotlessly clean by a very happy cleaning staff. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it and lots of choices. My only criticism would be the lay out of the dining room caused a lot of walking about, and criss-crossing with plates of food etc.
and it took a few days to find where everything was. This was not a great problem but could have been made easier I think. The entertainment wasn't wonderful, but was good on some evenings, and was probably more suited to the older generation. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would go back again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise room 153 unless wanting a ground floor room overlooking the car park, but 303...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

just back from 14 days all inc from 12-16 April 2013-arrived there on 2 sticks and at low ebb-this hotel provided perfect relaxation for us two 70 and 67 year olds-we have stayed in some of the worlds best hotels- Mandarin in Hong Kong and Shangri-La in Bangkock-we spent 14 days in this hote-l Riu Belplaya - relaxing and eating very well in this best value for holiday ever- First Choice ought to be very proud to have found such a hotel at a really competitive price-this hotel has excellent management with special praise going to the very young assistant manager-working with 1 hand in a sling because of a damaged arm-he is an obvious hgh flyer in the hotel services industry-my brother in law and his wife -by coincidence-were in the much larger Sol Principe Hotel-their 2nd stay there but will switch to this hotel next year because of what they experienced in one evening of dining with us in the Belplaya.
We both could have stayed for a 3rd all inclusive week which speaks to the excellence of their dining room- this hotel put me back on my feet and kicked off my recovery - which has continued since I returned home;since we started holidaying in 1972 we always had a rule-Never Go Back to the same place-we both would break that Rule if First Choice and the Belplaya repeat the deal

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have no "views"-we never spent time in them so it didnt matter to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esgair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one week in April with my boyfriend and our son, who is 8 months old. We wanted to stay at a hotel, which could make the first vacation with our son as easy as possible, so we wouldn't have to think about anything else than relaxing. The hotel met all our expectations (except that the kids' pool wasn't heated). The all-inclusive gave all of us a great breakfast, lunch and dinner plus beverages all day. We had a nice quiet room and could go to bed early with our son - we never heard a sound from the bar which was open in the evening. The location was great for us as well. We could park our rented car right outside for free and walk to the beach and midtown. Btw trips to butterfly park, Mijas town, Malaga town, bio park in Fuengirola and Fuengirola town can be recommended for families - all only short drives away! The only thing about the hotel that didn't meet our expectations for at hotel in 2013 was that the internet wasn't free and it only works in the reception area. Instead we bought a prepaid sim card with data from Vodaphone. However, the best thing at the hotel was the fact that the staff was the friendliest we ever met at any hotel we ever stayed in all over the world! They were all smiles :-)

Room Tip: Families with children should ask for a room far away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LNM_Cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#22 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puente Real
Hotel Puente Real
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing