We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well run Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“well run Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Riu Hotel Bella Playa
6 night stay
feb 2013 (Winter break)
Room 5 (Floor -1)
After a smooth Faultless 1hr50m British Airways flight From a Snowy Gatwick we arrived at Malaga Spain.
We picked up our pre paid Hire car (small 1.2 Fiat panda £43)which we booked through Economy Car Hire.com, I must stress pre pay your add on insurance First before you leave the UK(it cost me £12.00 for 6 days or it will sting you up to £70 on site).then off to the Hotel.

On arrival we were met with a Smiling attentive receptionist who whilst booking us in served us with two chilled glasses of Cava,(Spanish bubbly),A Very welcomed start.(well done)
We made our way to room 5 it was on floor -1 which at first was disconcerting thinking we were in the basement ,well were wrong the room was spacious with a large balcony next to the sun terrace with large patio doors, the room is equipped with TV (CRT) with only ITV+1 on it (im on holiday not here to watch TV so its ok),the room has a bath/shower with water pressure that pins you to the floor,toilet and bidet (good for cleaning you feet!),black out curtains which are great for the afternoon siesta,NO clock or alarm so bring your own,ceiling fan which is a bit noisy ,large wardrobe and bed side lights.but overall comfortable clean.NO kettle!

We were on an all inclusive basis so our first stop was the restaurant for lunch.(Now as a chef for 35 years this section will be detailed) Lunch comprised of two Fresh soups,fresh breads,at least 6 different main courses including Fish,chicken,pork,and beef (Note;If you are Muslim ….you will starve!no halal meat and lots of pork and all cooked on the same griddle so you had it!) all main courses are cooked by one of the many quality chefs ,we even had rabbit one night which was great,there is a chilled salad bar of fresh crudities and composite salads,cold meat cuts including salami,cheese,and hams about ten dressings,ample fresh fruits and desserts including ice cream with its own heated scoop bath,but If you are exploring the area you can request a packed lunch which consists of 3 pieces of fruit and a 500ml water NO CARB's.(i little disappointing if you have children as it is not balanced)
The hygiene is excellent and the temperature of the food and plates were as they should be, overall the food is excellent and plentiful,If I was to squeeze a criticism on the food it would be that some local food like seafood,dried ham,would not go a miss but its not for everyones taste (actually on Valantines day prawns and serano ham was on the menu but that may have been because of the day).Dinner and Breakfast were equally of high standard,....”great bacon”
Drinks,in the bar were good and plentiful,not branded but still good,free pour spirits and local chilled spanish beer,with a cocktail menu which is very good with some old favourites.
Drinks in the restaurant re all on tap,Red ,White,Rose wine,beer and a range of post mix “Coca Cola” brands,Tea(inc.herb infusions) coffee.

Entertainment,I must confess we were not enticed to the entertainment as it was aimed at the Dutch German clients but to be honest we explored during the day so we were too knackered to go to it.so don't read in to this much.

Overview;The RIU Bella Playa Is a Quality Hotel with extremely professional staff,a well managed clean and safe base to explore the Costa del sol,as a person that has been in the Hotel industry for over 35 years it comes highly recommended but go all inclusive just for the ease of it.
(Note to the Head Chef....Respectfully “sort your packed lunch out its the only let down”)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gazza1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    514
    250
    56
    35
See reviews for
344
657
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a last minute 7 day break before Christmas.
I found everything to my satisfaction.
The staff were friendly and efficient.
The service was excellent at all times.
Large rooms which were spotless.
The hotel has two accommodation blocks. If you do not like heights then make sure you get a low floor room.
Entertainment was great.
Retaurant was well run and provided excellent food.
There is a pool bar and a reception bar. In winter the pool bar is not open. However, there are soft drinks machines located at the poolside together with tea and coffe making facilities.There also beer fonts at the poolside.
The hotel has a nice poolside area with plenty of sun beds, tables ands chairs. there is also an indoor heated pool and spa.
The location is on the promenade with good access to shops etc.
Local bus is free and the railway staion is about 15 minutes away. A cheap and very efficent way of getting out and about. 1.90 euros per journey.
My partner and I enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked to return for her birthday in April. This time staying 9 nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oscarMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a 4 week stayat the Belplaya and from the moment we arrived at reception it became a 5 star service.The welcome was great and quick,the bedroom was large,clean and kept very clean throughout how stay.The dining room was smart and clean and the food selection,quality and presentation was 1st class with all the staff working very hard.The bar service again was 1st class and quality of drinks very good along with the entertainment and annimation staff but the entertainment lounge was not big enough to accomodate all visitors.The pool area,gym,indoor pool and general areas of the hotel were always very clean.The management always on hand ensuring your stay was acceptable along with all the staff need to be congratulated on there welcoming smiles and quality of service they all gave.I was also made welcome at the Belplaya Bowls Club so this is a hotel we will be returning too.

Room Tip: side sea view room high floor sunny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grahamhill1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for a week at this hotel first week in February 2013. Good points are plentiful- here's a summary-
Very close to the airport but little or no aircraft noise.
Good choice of food and drink and meal times are generous-breakfast 8:00 until 10:30, lunch 13:00 until 15:00 and dinner two sittings 18:00 or 19:45 (your choice).
Friendly staff at both bar and reception.
Tea,coffee,beer and soft drinks available self-service as well as at the bar.
Close to the beach with newspaper shop,pharmacist and mini-supermarket across the road.
Nice rooms with decent balcony sunny all day ( we stayed in room 512 but all in that block are just as good.)
ITV,BBC1 and Channel 4 on the room TV if you want it.
Quiet in the rooms at night-people respect the requirement to be quiet after 11pm.
Very international clientele-lots of French,Dutch and German guests.
Bad points-
It's a bit far to walk to the centre of Torremolinos if you are not used to walking long distances.
Allow at least an hour to get to the main street and twenty minutes to the train station.Saying all that, it's a very pleasant walk along the seaside promenade so we enjoyed it greatly-especially stopping en route for coffee and brandy at one of several chiringuitos.
Overall- we liked the place a lot and would use the hotel again. In fact we may go back this November with friends.Lots of people we met had been more than once to this hotel which speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Main hotel block rooms are very sunny. If you don't like high rooms don't go higher than 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bancroftd1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently returned from the Riu BelPlaya this was our second time at this hotel , I will say at this time of the year most guests are of the older generation which suited us fine. The food was 1st class and a very good choice, the rooms were spotless and all staff fromt the Chamber maid to the directors always spoke and had a smile for you.Joshua who organised most of the entertainment and works very hard from his keep fit classes first thing in the morning to late at night to keep people entertained .Will certainly return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Its worth the extra to book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle-upon tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from the Hotel riu belplaya a week ago (3rd feb)after having a lovely week"s holiday there,this was the 3rd time we have stayed in a riu Hotel which were excellent, so we were hoping to get the same quality we have come to know from riu hotels and i can say we were not disappointed,the hotel is very clean in all the public areas,the bedrooms are decorated nicely and are also immacutely clean,we were on the 6th floor and our maid who was called Pepa Quintado was lovely,she was happy,well mannered and her customer services skills as well as her cleaning were first rate,the food in the hotel was very good and we liked the idea on an evening whilst having you meal of getting your drinks yourself from the drinks taps around the restuarant,as for other staff restuarant staff very pleasant as were bar staff some more than others i might add,reception staff were a mixture of helpful but unpleasant,the two who served me on two occasions were carmel and oliver who were both very pleasant,but hey you can"t win em all can you,all in all a fab hotel glorious weather which made a lovely break and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: we were in room 607 which had a sea view and got the sun in the afternoon it also looked towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtraveller078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

From check-in to checking out faultless. Staff could not do enough for you. Spotlessly clean, food very good with plenty of choice. Pool looked good but too cold to try. Located on the edge of town right by the beach, very flat for walking and ten mins to train station. Even the evening entertainment was good, well suited to the clientelle. If you need a break after xmas I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, management should be very proud of the excellent staff. Already looking forward to returning next january.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LiverpoolLou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#21 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puente Real
Hotel Puente Real
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Property: Hotel Riu Belplaya
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing