We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Devon, England
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A nice hotel !”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas period although went home before New Year so missed the celebrations.

The hotel is much nicer inside than it looks on photographs. The reception area is large and welcoming and the room we stayed in (115) was large. The only disappointment with the room was the size of the bathroom ! Compared to the bedroom is was tiny !! We did find it hard to get the right temperature in the shower - one minute boiling hot and then freezing cold. Other than that the room was fine! Bed comfortable - extra blankets in wardrobe and pillows on request. Plenty of storage and quite a large fridge compared to some hotels. Shame there was no kettle but we knew this and took our own so that was fine.

The hotel, grounds and everywhere are kept very clean. It was all lovely. It was great to have the drink stations so you could help yourself to tea, coffee, juices, water, lager. It was such a shame that the drinks station by the pool was not is use as we found it a pain carrying hot cups of coffee down two sets of stairs ! Presumably this station was closed as the hotel was not full (?)

The entertainment was ok - the entertainment chap worked very hard. Shame it didnt start until very late - 9.30 pm I think or it could have been later? Not enough seats in the entertainment lounge but you could sit in the main reception area which was still pleasant. Again a drinks station in the entertainment room where you could also help yourself to wine which saved you waiting at the bar.

The food was good - plenty of choices. Our only dislike was having to choose to eat at either 6 pm or 8 pm. We found 6 pm too early and 8 pm too late. The Gala Christmas Dinner was very nice.

It is for this reason alone we would probably not return to the hotel.

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even down to the maids.

The hotel seems to cater slightly more for the Dutch and German in our opinion and on the last couple of days before our return home, there was probably a 85/15 split (English being 15%).

You could purchase wifi at a pretty reasonable rate but beware you can only use it in the reception area. If you want to make a personal call using Skype for example this would be very difficult.

Overall, as long as you dont mind what time you eat on the evening, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    1,494
    687
    216
    138
See reviews for
1,223
1,752
81
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The bel playa caters for a lot of older people but the atmosphere was great food excellent and my wife,daughter and I had a lovely 5 days. Unfortunately a lot of attractions were closed but we did go to Gibraltar which was as cold as England and again cable car was closed but tour by van was excellent and Paul was a great guide.
Reception staff at the bel playa were lovely as we're the others

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

as mentioned previous, a nice hotel is being refurbished at the moment but no disruption to your holiday, after experiensing the area i think the hotel is in a perfect positon just up from the beach, and you could walk for hours along the beach front, was a lovely walk up past the " boat " and surprisingly not expensive in the gift shops etc, maybe because of the time of year, we were in room 234, just out of the lift on the 1st floor so near to reception etc, the room had a lounge area with tv, bedroom with 2 single beds pushed together , would have prefered a double/king. the bathroom had hairdryer, bidet, shower it was a little dated but i think the rooms are being refurbished, our room was in the shade all day but that was fine we were near to the main parts of the hotel so cant have it all,,,, reception was smart , the staff were very nice always willing to help, the bar is ont the same floor BUT no loo!!!! you have to take the lift or walk down the stairs to use the loo,s,,,, there is a fab little sun terrece and boy its a proper sun trap,the weather was lovely all week about 20/23 and sunny, the restarant was a good experience, clean lovely food, breakfast and lunch you find your own table ( a hint,breakfast grab a coffee pot on the left as you go in far nicer than the machine stuff ) dinner you are given a table number and a sitting, we had 8pm sitting which we thought was a good idea as you know exactlly wat table you got every night. wine/beer are on tap as are soft drinks, the deserts are to die for,,,,now the but bit,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, my hubby is diabetic and one evening he needed a drink and a snack,,,,,,BUT was told nothing after midnight,,,,, it would be a good idea if ther was a drinks vending machine at least available, so take a drink with you to your room at night the hotel is not 24hrs,,, there is no food after 9pm, or drinks after midnight hopefully the hotel can sort some kind of comprimise out as all other all inc hotels i have used at least have a drinks vending machine and late night soup. but even so a good hotel and would use it again.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the lifts the corridors a very long otherwise,, 234 shaded balcony but near am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fuzzydog61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just back from a week at this Hotel; Can only say how wonderful it was the staff are 1st class;. Food excellent and the rooms spotless . they could not do enough for you. four of us went and we were all more than happy with our stay;we will be going back again .

Room Tip: stayed in rooms 101 and 102 on the 1st floor loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edwina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got the train from Malaga aiport to La Colina (the nearest station to the Hotel approx 7-8 minutes walk) We had no problems and found the Hotel straight away.

We were greeted by friendly reception staff and was given a welcome glass of cava.

Our room was spacious, fairly basis but very clean.

The food was good, as with a lot of buffet style dining, you end up having a mix of random items on your plate that don't really go together. Nevertheless, all the food we tried was of a good quality.

There was one bar (the same room were evening entertainment was held) I disagree with the other reviews about the spirits being watered down. There was options of spirits, cocktails, cava, soft drinks, hot beverages and one lager (Cruzcampo)

We ventured out most days and missed a few meals, despite being all inclusive (isn't that what holidays are about?!)

Torremolinos is a fair trek (walking) but one stop on the train from La Colina Station

Benalmedina is a few hour walk down the coast, around 3-4 stops on the train.

There is a bus stop over the Road from the Hotel although we didn't use it. Taxis (outside Malaga) are not metered and best avoided unless you want to be fleeced.

The German Paddy bar across the Road from the Hotel is definitely worth a visit. We found the staff and customers very friendly. The bar has entertainment on some evenings.

Great Irish bar in Torremolinos called Baileys run by Gerry. Such a friendly and welcoming chap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pixiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week from 30th December. From check in to check out the service wsa fantastic. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of Cava, we were allocated a room on fourth floor looking over the swimming pool and the balcony had sun all day so was very pleasant to sit and relax. The room was very spacious with seperate living room area and very clean, maid service was great towels and beds changed every other day. We had a fantastic New year's eve, the food was wonderful and drink was flowing very good party atmosphere and all the staff were very friendly. All the food through out our holiday was wonderful plenty of choice. Will definetley return to this hotel, Keep up the good work at Luca Cost Lago and hope to see you all again in december.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony that gets the sun if going during winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

fabulous hotel the staff were 100% the new year gala dinner and the whole evening was fantastic

The entertainment was poor exept when the four tops appeared

we got fed up of pork chops pork joint and pieces of pork, , bacon at breakfast could have been presented better

Room Tip: 2nd floor great if lifts dont work it is still easy to get to 1st floor but be very careful the hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,836 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing